We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't do better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sackets Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelight Guest House
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't do better!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wonderful guest home. Perfect location. Cordial hostess. Great room and view. Quiet. Comfortable bed. Windows that actually open! Fans. Luxurious bathroom. Immaculate. Great sleep. Can’t do better! We will definitely return when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
83
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Great advice from trip-advisor. Clean, comfortable, room with a view. Great night's sleep on very comfortable bed. Friendly, helpful proprietor. Delightful town- picturesque, relaxing. We had a great stay in part due to this lovely guest house. Perfect recommendation for breakfast - Tin Pan Galley in Sacket's Harbor. Don't miss it- breakfast / lunch / or dinner!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendersender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland Empire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed once again at the Candlelight Guest House in Sackets Harbor. The owners, Alice and Jerry have thought of every little thing that would make you feel at home. The suites are immaculate. They are nicely furnished including comfortable chairs, adequate lighting for reading and a generous variety of literature. The bath is furnished with plush cotton towels, a wide variety of toiletries and an excellent shower fixture. All rooms have coffee service and are served by a convenient hall frig. Alice and Jerry are the perfect hosts and could not be more accommodating. They really go the extra mile to suggest places you may wish to visit while in the area. If you catch them at the right time you might get to meet their sweet Mila dog and maybe even get to go for ice cream in their electric Mila mobile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC-BC-SKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I just returned from a visit to the delightful village of Sackets Harbor. If you have never been there, perhaps you should consider it. I think you will be pleasantlly surprised. While there I had the pleasure of staying at the Candleight Guest House, located just a few steps away from Lake Ontario. Alice was a gracious host and quite personable. She has provided an inviting atmosphere with a keen attention to detail. My room was exceptionally clean, while at the same time, warm and inviting from the bed linens, bath towels and various and sundry toiletries to the refrigerator in the hall available for your convenience. I loved having the coffee service in the room equipped with mugs and spoons. No plastic or styrofoam here. Alice and Jerry were very helpful iln suggesting places to visit as well as suggestions for having breakfast, lunch and or dinner. An extra treat is meeting a lovely dog named Milia. So if you are fond of quaint villages situate on lovely lakes and warm and inviting accomdations, then visit Sackets Harbor and the Candlelight Guest House. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently spent a July weekend getaway in Sackets Harbour and chose the Candlelight based on the positive reviews on trip Advisor. We were not disappointed at all. Alice was very warm and welcoming and explained the simple rules of the house. This is a Guest House and not a B&B. What you get is a very comfortable, clean and well appointed room with an ensuite bathroom complete with toiletries, clean towels and everything one needs for a comfortable stay. There is a refrigerator available for your use, and coffee in the room, and a little patio ideal for an end of evening glass of wine (glasses provided). Alice was helpful and charming as the host of this well located accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ButtonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our second visit to this charming and well situated guest house was once again a pleasure. The hosts, Alice and Jerry are welcoming and most accommodating. We also fell in love with Mila! Sackets Harbor is a lovely destination with very good dining options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susierunningshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for a one-night stay, and were supremely disappointed, to say the least. Travelers should be warned of the awful experience that we went through.

The first point of frustration was that for a bed and breakfast, this facility didn't have the most basic of amenities. On a Friday night, we tried to sit and relax with a bottle of wine. However, at 8:30 pm on a Friday night, we were locked out of the kitchen and living room, relegated to our bedroom. Moreover, despite being labeled as a Bed and Breakfast, do not expect breakfast in the morning. You should be content with the jar of mints and 4-cup coffee pot in your room.

But the lack of "bang for your buck" isn't the beginning of the issues. On the morning of our checkout, we were preparing for our day (i.e. showering, getting dressed, etc.) so we placed the "do not disturb" sign on the door and locked it. Despite that, while I was brushing my teeth and my girlfriend was getting out of the shower, the innkeeper took it upon herself to unlock the door and come walking in, sending us both diving for towels to cover ourselves up. I can't express how mortified and embarassed we both were. We immediately packed our things and left. We could not stand to be there anymore and will certainly not return again.

I have never taken the time to write an online review. But since we selected this facility based on the TripAdvisor reviews, we felt obliged to let others know of our experience so that they can hopefully avoid this same terrible experience. The purpose of a guest house is to feel like a home away from home and your facility provided nothing of the sort

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CuseGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlebb, Owner at Candlelight Guest House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
After 16 years of successfully operating this business, and 1000's of people have stayed here in those years, Mr. Cuse Guy and his girl friend created the most damage done to my property.
I believe the reason for the negative review is the fact that the reviewer was charged $45.00 for the damages. The damages were Red Wine spattered and dried on the walls, carpet, bed skirt, sheets, towels, clock and furniture in their room. He failed to mention that.
At 10:50 a.m. ( checked the time) I personally knocked on the door, 4 times at different intervals. no sound, no answer. 11:00 is check-out time.
and thank you for acknowledging that you were aware, that we are a Guest House.
Candlelight Guest House, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sackets Harbor
0.3 mi away
Ontario Place Hotel now Harbor House Inn
20.5 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
319 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
665 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Guest House

Property: Candlelight Guest House
Address: 501 W. Washington St., P.O. Box 92, Sackets Harbor, NY 13685
Location: United States > New York > Sackets Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sackets Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Candlelight Hotel Sackets Harbor
Candlelight Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing