We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Doral Arrowwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doral Arrowwood
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye Brook
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Doral Arrowwood for five nights for combining playing golf and visiting family.
We booked a premium king room. I think premium meant that we had a nice renewed bathroom. It has a large walk in shower. The room itself was kind of small. On one side of the bed you could barely walk and there was no space for a nightstand, so there was no light on this side of the bed.
The other night stand was crowded with the telephone, a huge radio and a lamp. We asked to put a lamp on the other side of the bed as well, they must have tried, cause when we returned to our room some furniture had been moved but nothing had changed. My husband moved a floor lamp next to his side and we had to lead the wire behind the bed to plug it in. Not a big deal, I wonder why they didn't do so. Well, as I said, no big deal for us as well. The furniture looks worn out, could be replaced. On the second day our AC stopped working, so we needed this to be fixed. On the desk there was a lamp which had a plug that was broken, very dangerous for kids. It caused a blackout. So we again needed a technician to fix it.
Still I would go back to this hotel. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. We had booked the golf package, so the breakfast buffet was included. We liked the breakfast, they had a cooked on order station for eggs and omelettes. The stuff at the golf course was very friendly and knew our names on the second day. We got lunch vouchers for the golf restaurant or the pub. We only used them in the golf restaurant and liked the food there. We payed 100 $ for each of our sons playing on the weekend so we found our package rate to be favorable.
While we were playing a round of golf with our sons our daughters in law could use the onsite facilities and enjoyed themselves at the pool. After 4 days of playing golf it gets a little boring cause they only have 9 holes. It also can easily get crowded and there were players regularly squeezing in somewhere on the course.
The buildings are older, like some other reviewers wrote, it's like being back in the 80s but everything is clean and well kept up, the surrounding yards are nice, the service is good and the stuff is friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 826 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay! We enjoyed every moment. Beautiful views of picturesque Hudson Valley area. Loved the sport center and pool. Even had an amazing and relaxing massage. Everything convenient and easy to get to. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoralArrowwoodGM, General Manager at Doral Arrowwood, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear jessica D,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay Doral Arrowwood. We truly appreciate the opportunity to hear about the great experiences that our guests have at Doral Arrowwood. I hope to personally welcome you back to our property in the near future and wish you all the best in future travels!

Sincerely,
Steve Mabus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Drive about 15 minutes from the White Plains Metro North station, and you'll find yourself back in a time warp to the mid-1980s. The Doral Arrowwood is a perfectly preserved toy village where you can view Reagan-era corporate retreats, hairstyles and interior decorating in live action. The facility has been carefully maintained in its original state, complete with badly heated bedrooms, a golf-centric layout, and wall-to-wall polyester carpeting. Treat yourself with a trip back to a country club era before globalization, vegetarian-friendly options and contemporary design!

In all seriousness, the facility feels a bit tired, dated and in need of a face-lift. The front-line service is excellent - people are friendly and attentive - but the whole place seems to need stronger management attention and an investment program to give this place an edge again. My advice:
- invest in some strong design choices to upgrade the look and feel of public areas
- invest in more flexible HVAC controls (not everyone wants A/C or heat at the same time)
- upgrade the worn / dated gym equipment and keep gym open longer

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alphabetsoup2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Doral Arrowwood is a decent resort hotel. I can't comment on the ameneties as I was there for work. The pool looked nice, the golf course seemed well kept. The room was clean and fairly large. The bed was comfortable. The room style seemed a little dated, as did the hotel in general. The staff was nice. The buffet was great, although a little expensive in my opinion (I didn't have to pay for it).

As a place for a conference or meeting, it was fine. Nothing extra special, but certainly adaquate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My brother got married here and the entire thing was beautiful. The staff did a wonderful job with everything. The wedding was supposed to be outside, but it rained and they were able to move it inside without any problems, and it looked gorgeous. The food was wonderful and the breakfast buffet, cocktail hour, reception, and post wedding brunch. The rooms were great sized and very clean. We all had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jge324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great short vacation at a perfect hotel for our family. Pool was wonderful. Love how it has both indoor and outdoor pool area. Room was large and clean. Really nice buffet breakfast. We are already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located near SUNY Purchase College. It is reasonably priced for the area and offers many amenities. We always enjoy the food and atmosphere of the pub. The entire staff of this hotel treat each customer as a VIP. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye Brook
8.8 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
2.4 mi away
Hilton Westchester
Hilton Westchester
#1 of 2 in Rye Brook
686 reviews
2.4 mi away
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 7 in White Plains
592 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doral Arrowwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doral Arrowwood

Address: 975 Anderson Hill Rd, Rye Brook, NY 10573-5412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Rye Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye Brook
Price Range: $107 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doral Arrowwood 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doral Arrowwood is a 369 room hotel and resort located in Westchester County, NY. The property offers conference and banquet facilities, award-winning dining and a range of resort activities including golf and tennis and racquet sports. Indoor-outdoor pool and state-of-the-art sports center with spa services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Doral Arrowwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doral Arrowwood Hotel Rye Brook
Doral Arrowwood Rye Brook
Doral Arrowwood Westchester County, NY - Rye Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing