We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than, "up to the mark".”
Review of Aurora

Aurora
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Purdy Ave. and Elm Pl.
Description: Located on Purchase Street in the quaint, seaside town of Rye, New York, Aurora ushers diners into an authentic Italian oasis, where the smell of wood-fired pizzas, rich, homemade pastas, and sumptuous entrees create a mouth-watering welcome. The restaurant’s bright, airy interior and soft color palette call to mind a Tuscan dawn, providing a soothing and sophisticated backdrop for an unforgettable meal.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“More than, "up to the mark".”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This was not our first visit.
My wife and I went on impulse after a busy day.
We were lucky in that there was a table free.
The staff are personable, knowledgable and polite. The food was to a very high standard and well presented. I would recommend the calamari particularly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OldSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    30
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was just passing through RYE and stumbled upon this place by mistake. On a street with multiple little shops and restaurants. Eduardo The maitre D was gracious and the decor was appealing. Felt underdressed in shorts. I had the Chicken Scapariello which was a good incarnation.
Licked the sauce off the plate. I will definitely be back when I have more time to try more dishes.

David The bartender was knowledgeable and friendly.

There was Linda McMahon at a table in the corner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dosbanderas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great place!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Love love love this place!! Great atmosphere! Great servers bus boys and bartenders! By far the best host, Eduardo, in any restaurant I've been too. Food is delicious and prices are reasonable. A must if your visiting Rye, NY.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissae906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Love It!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I come here every week - great food and service. The staff is so sweet and friendly. Food is delicious. I truly love the atmosphere here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rmw610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had another perfect meal at Aurora today. The Gorgonzola Pizza with figs was delicious, chopped salad was fresh and interesting, and the service was flawless. Wine selection is always good. Eduardo, the manager is a total professional, always making you feel welcome, while the waiters are attentive and friendly. Enjoyed the large, open windows (perfect for people-watching) on such a pretty day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora also viewed

Rye, Westchester County
 
Rye, Westchester County
Rye, Westchester County
 
Rye, Westchester County
Rye, Westchester County
 

Been to Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing