We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless wedding”
Review of Stone Tavern Farm

Stone Tavern Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roxbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Tavern Farm
Ranked #3 of 4 Roxbury B&B and Inns
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Flawless wedding”
Reviewed December 20, 2010

First of all, lemme say that our wedding was totally fun and doing it over an entire wknd was the best move ever. Stone Tavern Farm (STF) was awesome -- their whole family helps out. Their kids are great and very helpful -- John and Danielle's 10yr old son was shuttling people around in the golf cart and his daughters served barbecue and walked us up to the hilltop on horses. We couldn't be happier with the location we chose -- we made our decision based on having been to a friend's wedding there three years ago (which was STF's first big wedding.)

We had our wedding up on the hill behind the house. It was a bit of a walk up there, but totally worth it. We did not have a tent -- it would have spoiled the view. Our back-up plan in case of rain was to do the wedding in the pavilion/gazebo thingy.

We had about 130 guests.

We held the reception in the barn, it was amazing and John was soooo cool about arranging the hay bales in a cool and dramatic way.

We also had an excellent photographer that I would recommend -- in fact, she is now doing a colleague at work's wedding too. Her name is Diane...you can see some of the photos she took here:

http://www.hudsonriverphotographer.com/wordpress/?p=2146

She also includes and 'engagement' shoot so that you are totally comfortable with her.

I highly recommend going with Mary's Cookin' Again as your caterer -- the food was AMAZING. The thing to bear in mind with Mary though is that she doesn't want to do a lot of prep calls and meeting and written coordination. We were a little freaked out about how loosey goosey it was (no real contract...only $100 deposit!) But then it all came together and people are STILL talking about the food.

Her staff of waiters and servers and bartenders were excellent too.

We had John cook a barbecue and do bonfires and tiki torches the night before -- totally awesome. It was great and I recommend doing that too. He makes amazing pulled pork sandwiches.

Oh, and I recommend booking the whole Roxbury Hotel in advance and getting one of your bridal party or groomsmen to collect checks etc. We put the whole hotel on my credit card and then just collected form everybody. Believe it or not there was another big wedding in town that wknd....so glad we did that.

Much of our wedding party stayed on the farm. We rented out John's "chalet" for some of our more party-oriented friends and they hosted a kick-butt after-party there.

Our DJ was amazing too -- www.jtdproductions.com. He really had a great sense for how to get the mood flowing and they have this whole system where you can pick must-play and do-not-play songs in advance. No chicken dance!!! :-)

We rented port-o-lets and I think they were more like $400? We rented them from Sav-On.

John and family at the barn are so awesome, I can't say enough good things about them. They are organized, flexible and they have an incredible sense of integrity. I made an error reviewing the bill (hey, I was hung over!) and they immediately sent me a check with the difference. They are just so on the ball. They just kept on finding new ways to be helpful and delightful. You really get a sense that they love what they do. When we got back to our room there was a very sweet note and bottle of champagne with two glasses. Very classy!

My wife says that she wants to spend every anniversary now on the farm and that she feels like the STF family is our family. Cheesy, I know, but not unwarranted in the least!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ethanmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I held our wedding at STF in September, and we couldn't have been more pleased. John and Danielle are exceptional hosts, and everyone had a great time. The farm itself is beautiful and John and Danielle work hard to keep it looking perfectly idyllic with white picket fences, a charming stone farm house and horses grazing in the pastures. John cooked a barbecue for ninety of our guests Friday night, and everyone raved about the food. Our friends camped at the campsite and hung out by the fire all night. And the older folks were able to find more upscale accommodations in the many local bed and breakfasts. If you want a farm wedding that people will talk about for months, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvsc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlstadt, New Jersey, USA
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stone Tavern Farm is immaculate, and absolutely stunning!!! There is so much fun for children and adults, whether families or friends. Horseback riding and ATV rides are awesome! The lodging is comfortable, clean, well-kept and the owners are most gracious!!!! I highly recommend Stone Tavern Farm for a fun and peaceful time to remember!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We went up between Christmas and New Year and had rented the log cabin. Was a little worried as the photos looked great but usually photos look better than the real stuff, and we had convinced friends to join us.

When we arrived we were amazed to see that the cabin was exactly as shown on the website and what more it had the most stunning mountain view possible. It was so amazing and tranquil. Not a highway or railroad or any noise in miles away. Beautiful amazing clear views for miles right on the Watershed.

John and Danielle were amazing hosts. We added breakfast to the deal and John's breakfast was too die for. Real home style cooking with lots of fresh ingredients from the farm (eggs, sausage, bacon etc etc). John and Danielle were so attentive and made sure that there was not one thing missing that we could dream off. They were very careful and aware of our children's food allergies and made the stay perfect.

John and Danielle was also very mindful of our children having fun and brought sleds etc for them.

We loved the no nonsense down to earth relaxed atmosphere in the Watershed so much that we went and looked at houses but nothing compared to this place. And if we bought then wouldn't have John's fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkrejser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCKOZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

On Friday we had 80 people for a barbecue with fresh pulled pork from their pigs which was delicious as well as great salads and other delicious foods. It was pouring rain, but no one seemed to be bothered as the gazebo was covered and everyone had a great time. Saturday was a beautiful day and the ceremony site was prepared high up on a hilltop. John the owner drove people up to the site which took close to an hour as there were close to 130 people. The view from the hilltop was breathtaking, and my daughter arrived on horseback. After the ceremony the couple left by horseback and the cocktail hour began in the gazebo, followed by the reception in a tent. Mary"s catered the food and it was fabulous. They even cooked the trout my husband caught on the farm. It ended with a fireworks show put on by john the owner. Everyone said it was the most amazing wedding they have ever attended. We stayed at the Scudder hill B&B which was wonderful, the in laws rented johns new house down the road which was beautiful with spectacular views, and the grooms family stayed at the B&B at the farm.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCKOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viginia beach
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2009

this was our first experience at a bed and breakfast. it excited expectations. john and danielle were wonderful host. the breakfast was to die for. the children kept asking when we can return. we enjoyed the horseback riding. we even rented the atv which was so much fun. can't wait to return. we reccomend to everyone it was the best. we give it a 10.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dande80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va beach, va
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Our family just returned from a little peice of catskill heaven. We were greeted by "poppy" the goat. The kids just loved it. Farm animals everywhere. We stayed at the stone B&B. John and Danielle are great hosts. They made sure the children and parents were having a good time. The breakfast is awesome and very filling. We needed a nap after. The horse trail ride was one the best. The trails were deep in the woods. We went through streams and feilds. We saw lots of wildlife. Their family dog "Reyn" supervised the trail ride. The kids really enjoyed his company. We are definitely coming back next summer. The kids want to go to horse camp. Try it you will be happy.

  • Liked — horseback riding, located at dead end (total privacy)
  • Disliked — didn't stay long enough
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveltub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roxbury
9.1 mi away
The Colonial B&B At Stamford
8.8 mi away
Stamford Gables
Stamford Gables
#1 of 4 in Stamford
47 reviews
8.1 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
10.0 mi away
River Run Bed & Breakfast
River Run Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Tavern Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Tavern Farm

Property: Stone Tavern Farm
Address: 2080 Upper Meeker Hollow Rd, Roxbury, NY 12474-1116
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roxbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Tavern Farm will bring you back to simpler times. This 400 acre horse farm has a 200 year old stone house built as an Inn for travelers two centuries ago. We are a weekend destination wedding venue with no shutdown times or noise restrictions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Tavern Farm Hotel Roxbury
Stone Tavern Farm Roxbury, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing