We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging
Nearby Hotels
Black Bear Lodge(Prattsville)
$119
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Cave Mountain Motel(Windham)(Great Value!)
$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlite Motel(Big Indian)(Great Value!)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages(Windham)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Allegria(Windham)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vienna(Windham)(Great Value!)
$125
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cold Spring Lodge(Big Indian)
$173
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveler rating
619
52
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
52
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitpublic loungecontinental breakfaststeam roomthemed roomshot tubspa passesthought of everythingcoconut cream pieowners and staffone of a kinddance floorcan't wait to go backmain officefred's lairunique placesmall town
Filter
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 679 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2008

This is the funkiest motel that you will ever find, with many themed rooms and plenty of outdoor areas for relaxing. The guys running this place make every guest feel special with fresh baked cookies and one of a kind "lemon water". Breakfast is excellent with scones, muffins & jams with tea and with coffee available throughout the day. (I thought the coffee available in the room was even better). The area is quiet and relaxing with several eateries around the corner. You can also venture out to other towns (between 15 and 30 minutes away) for more enticing eateries. Although it is an hour drive from the NY Thruway, it is worth the trip. There is plenty to do in the area such as antiquing and biking along the Catskill scenic trail (which begins one mile up the road).

Stayed: September 2008
2  Thank PhilGab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

After seeing all the rave reviews The Roxbury had received on TripAdvisor (our most trusted source for travel information) and with no particular place to go for our first anniversary we booked 3 nights in the Partridge Nest room. The owners and staff could not have been more accommodating and the rooms and property in general could not have been cleaner or more interesting. I have honestly never stayed in a cleaner place. The themed rooms are cool and unique -- all done with nice furnishings, very comfortable beds, one of a kind tile work, and cool lighting & plumbing fixtures (awesome bathroom sink & faucet!).

As if the place itself isn't reason enough to stay there, the owners and manager are eager to suggest things to do (including some things you would never know about otherwise), assist in making reservations, etc. And if it happens to rain or if you're looking to relax their spa is a steal at $20/person for unlimited use during your stay, DVDs can be borrowed to watch in your room, and you can get online with wifi.

We had high expectations going in based on the reviews we read on TripAdvisor and The Roxbury met and exceeded everything we hoped for on a relaxing anniversary trip. If you are travelling to the Catskills or think it just looks like a cool place to stay (as we did) then GO!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rob5r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

If I could get to the highest mountain in the Catskills, I would shout, "THE ROXBURY MOTEL IS THE ONE AND ONLY PLACE TO STAY IN THE CATSKILLS!". The reason for the shout is that I wouldn't want anyone to miss out on this great deal. They have early check-in (3 pm) and late check-out (11 am), which is really unheard of. The hosts are to die for - they will do anything for you and are always aiming to please. The rooms are immaculate and extremely creative. The amenities- inside and outside - between the tvs and dvd's in the room to the Shimmer Spa to the beautiful outdoor furnishings are lush. The breakfast is out of this world. The coffee cake is delicious, fresh fruit, coffee, oatmeal, nuts (and more) with trays to bring back to your room. A really nice place to stay. This is the first time I really felt like I got my money's worth. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank monroema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We loved, loved, loved this place! The Roxbury is neat, sparkling clean, colorful and tastefully decorated. They spared no expense to make this place unique, fun, cozy, and comfy. The glass firepit allowed us to have coffee outdoors even on a crisp and a bit chilly morning. Their continental breakfast was certainly not what you get many places and the coffee cakes and muffins were home baked quality.

The owners learned before our arrival that we were newlyweds and went out of their way (champagne in our room and again the next night at the Peekamoose) to make our stay memorable and fabulous. Greg, Joe and their staff are so friendly and truly go out of their way to be sure that you enjoy your stay.

Every day they offered recommendations of things to do and places to eat, and were willing to call ahead and make your reservations. We followed all of their ideas and every place we went we thoroughly enjoyed. And, the beds are sooooooooooo comfy that you didn't want to get up in the morning and couldn't wait to get back into them at night, and that wasn't because we were newlyweds!

We could go on and on...but go there and check it out for yourself...you will be glad that you did!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank D_N_W_Quincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing weekend to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. After reading the many great reviews, and checking out the website, we booked the Mod room at the Roxbury. We were not disappointed!

The guys at the Roxbury are amazingly accommodating. They set us up with dinner reservations at the peek-a-moose (highly recommend as well). The Peek-A-Moose knew it was our anniversary when we arrived and served us complimentary appetizers and dessert wine.

The room was super-cool, we were upset we couldn't peek in all the other rooms to check them out as well! The room itself was meticulously clean, as pictured on the website. Contrary to the other review, we both loved the mattress; so much so in fact, we intend on making arrangements to purchase one for ourselves through the Roxbury. The movie collection is great (over 400 choices), we borrowed some of the AFI classics.

Bottom Line: The town is scenic and relaxing. The hotel is well run, caring, and a steal for the money. Only 3 hours from the city, its a great getaway. We will definitely be back. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catmanjoe720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews