We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic unique, quirky and relaxing Catskills getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roxbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic unique, quirky and relaxing Catskills getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

Have been here twice with my wife. Once for our aniversary and once for a quick getaway. We have stayed in two rooms: the Shagadelic suite and room 4: a kitchenette. The hotel is very unique and each room has been lovingly decorated according to a particular theme. The Shagadelic is very roomy and has a full kitchenette. Room # 4 is slightly smaller. Both rooms have large flat screen TVs and a DVD player with a massive library of films to borrow. The breakfast is incredible. It's continental but they have all kinds of great organic goodies like scones, flax seed granola, cakes, a huge variety of individual jams, yogurts etc. Great selection of teas as well. We will be back regularly and each time I'll try a new room / suite. On our first visit we used the spa facility and had his and her massages. The spa, like the rest of the motel, is very stylishly decorated and cosy. Not much to do in the immediate area although I would recommend the Public Lounge and bar (2 minute walk) and the Peek a Moose restraunt (slightly further drive) You can ski nearby. The owners, a couple who we have met on both occasions, have cle arly put a lot of love and attention into this place and the experience is definitely in the detail and the little touches.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mactoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    49
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
118
345
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

The presentation of the whole motel is absolutely lovely – white with black trim and lime green doors. By night all the outside lights of the motel are emerald making it twinkle like an escapee from “Wicked”

Every single detail in our room was thought through and completely co-ordinated. Huge room with an epic bed, our theme was slightly different than its web picture but we were just as happy. All items from coffee mugs to shower curtains to the headboard featured large blue “daisies” all tied together beautifully with rippled modern blue surfaces to the bedside tables and side tables

Our original booking was for 3 nights. We were going to take advantage of a 3 for 2 offer on their website but when we came to complete the booking the site would recognise the offer. We ended up booking by phone whereby the discounted night was added in so all was well.

We ended up staying here for 4 nights to ski 3 local mountains. Having booked it via the internet you never quite know what you’re going to get....... At the Roxbury you’ll be utterly delighted.

The motel is in a small town with a small number of facilities in the town itself. They do, however, provide a long list of local restaurants and takeaways including sample menus, length of drive to the venue etc. The staff and the owners were all very friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble including reserving tables for you at your chosen venue.

A comprehensive cold buffet breakfast is part of your room rate. Tiny bit of feedback – breakfast is served in one room and you eat in another room .....it was a bit fiddly to get between the rooms (2 doors opening in opposite directions) with our hands full of plate and bowls. On morning 3 we discovered some trays to help this, in the room where the food wasn’t....

There is free wifi which works well in the breakfast room and less well in our room but they provide an ethernet cable as standard for just this issue

Room Tip: Peekamouse restaurant worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We needed a location partway between the Syracuse and NYC areas and The Roxbury met the criteria. Little did we know what a gem we had stumbled upon... This place is everything the website and reviews promise! Greg and the staff are friendly and fun. The rooms are fascinating (yes, a bit small, but who cares?) and the service is unparalleled, especially for the Catskills. The breakfast is DELISH - don't miss it! Alas, we never made it to the spa... we'll have to go back! We also loved that there are several perfect little spots to sit and enjoy the great outdoors and absorb the peace and quiet.

The only negative thing we have to say is that the pullout couch was pretty uncomfortable. It can't really be helped, and it was more important to us that we could all stay in 1 suite together. It would be fine for kids and the adult who slept on it in our group didn't mind too much but I was certainly glad I didn't have to!

Be sure to eat at the Peekamoose for dinner (you might need reservations and the Roxbury folks will help you with that) and East Branch for breakfast (or lunch). The peanut butter pie at Cassie's is TO DIE for. Did some shopping in Margaretville and Andes, both of which were perfect for a couple of hours diversion. If you're a reader, visit the Bibliobarn Too in Margaretville (or better yet, venture to the Hobart Book Village).

We're already dreaming of coming back next year (and that's a big compliment from the three hard-to-please travellers that we are...)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank authenticexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoxbury, Owner at The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Thank you so much for this amazing review! We must get you back for another girlfriend’s getaway so that you can experience the spas! Next time, let us talk to you about our room sizes. We have four different standard room types and six different types of suites and some are larger than others. Also, thanks for the note about the sofabed. We tried many of them and this was the closest to a real bed that we could find in a commercial model. They just don’t seem to make super-comfy sofabeds. This note, though, has prompted us to invest in some extra padding for the sofabed just in case a guest requires it. So thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

My partner and I enjoyed the breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains, the crisp clean air that harkens the coming of Spring. But there were times when the crisp air was also breathtaking. Seems someone downwind from the motel heats their home with wood. The gentle breeze that flows through the valley brings the strong stench of noxious fumes straight to the Roxbury. The staff goes out of their way to make the stay enjoyable, but we did not expect them to change the way wind blows or to tell a distant neighbor how to heat their home. The early morning pollution that kept us indoors was unfortunate.

Room Tip: stay inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hermesdionysos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoxbury, Owner at The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
I’m not quite sure how to respond to this review. I have never heard this comment before. The guest is correct, we cannot control which way the wind blows. What is so very unfortunate, however, is that there is almost not a day that goes by that a guest does not comment on how wonderful it is to be surrounded by such fresh air and how incredible the quality of the mountain air is. Yes, we have a few neighbors who use wood-burning fireplaces, but most days you do not smell them and when you do, most people enjoy the smell. I encourage the guest to contact us and let us know what date they were with us. Perhaps there was a day when something else was going on in the town? Campfires, maybe? Anyway, we hope the guest will return someday and give the air another chance. And thank you for the other kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

My boyfriend & I just returned from a weekend at The Roxbury & I can't say enough great things about our experience! We were interested in a relaxing weekend away from the city but didn't want to have to deal with flying or a long drive. The Roxbury was the perfect answer to that - about 3 hours away from Manhattan by car. The drive itself was peaceful (and sometimes slow) on back country roads through the mountains.

When we arrived at The Roxbury, we were greeted with a warm welcome by Leslie who gave us a quick orientation of the property and a few recommendations in the area as well. One of those was the Peekamoose Restaurant which, in our opinions, isn't to be missed if you're staying at The Roxbury. It is about 25 minutes from the hotel & literally in the middle of nowhere, to the point where you may be suspicious about the quality of the food. But once there, we were very impressed. The decor was rustic but modern, the service was very attentive & our dinners were very tasty. We also enjoyed lunch at Cassie's Cafe which was within walking distance of The Roxbury & had great sandwiches prepared on freshly baked bread, homemade soups, etc.

We stayed in the "Samantha's Dream" studio suite and loved it. The room is about average in size & we loved the hand-painted clouds on the walls & ceiling. It felt kitschy but not cheesy. In fact, we felt like everything in the room was very clean, modern & well-designed. We didn't have a chance to see any other rooms at the hotel as they were sold-out but we definitely plan to go back & check out the other themed suites.

During our time at The Roxbury, we visited The Shimmer Spa where we received a simaltaneous couples massage that was great. The spa facilities are divided between the two buildings that make up the propoerty. And while the spa itself was smaller than what I might be used to in the city, it felt just right for The Roxbury. Again - beautifully designed, zen-like relaxation area & tasty spa snacks too. We also took full advantage of the great breakfast spread each morning which included fresh fruit, scones, yogurt, crossaints as well as gourmet coffee, tea & hot cocoa. There are also a wide-array of movies & boardgames to borrow in the reception area which provided some surprisingly fun entertainment for us after a long day at Windham Mountain.

The Roxbury is essentially a motel ONLY in terms of layout, a boutique hotel in terms of design & a B&B in terms of the management style & friendliness. The owner Greg was present throughout our stay & went out of his way to greet guests & introduce himself. Between Greg & Leslie, we felt very well taken care of during our 2-night stay. This hotel is not in the middle of a thriving metropolis, so if you go there expecting to be surround by nightlife you may find yourself disappointed. But if you are looking for a fun, relaxing getaway in a pretty country setting - The Roxbury hits all the marks.

We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysonthego07030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

We're regular visitors to the Roxbury: Always a great stay: rooms are fun, the Roxbury team are the best hosts. It's relaxing, fun, cool and close to skiing or just enjoy spa and sauna. Rooms from small and cozy to big and roomy suites. No restaurant but coffee and snacks all day, light breakfast in the AM and the cutest restaurant next door and a couple more in walking distance. Outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

I've stayed at the Roxbury for 5 years running. First for a romantic and inexpensive fall getaway, and I liked it so much, I've been back for yearly snowboarding trips ever since. The rooms are always very cute, clean and comfortable -- I try to stay in a different one every time to keep it interesting. Their restaurant recommendations have always been spot on (we love the Peekamoose in Big Indian, and Sweet Sue's really does have the best pancakes ever), and they're quick to make reservations for us when necessary. On our last trip we had an unfortunate snowboarding injury, and Leslie in the office went out of her way to help us deal with the situation. We'll be back, assuming we're fully healed by next winter.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate5447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roxbury
17.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
15.6 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
12.5 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
13.1 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging

Property: The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging
Address: 2258 County Highway 41, Roxbury, NY 12474-1465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Roxbury, a supercool boutique hotel nestled amongst the picturesque Catskill Mountains. Whether you call it "cool design," "whimsical elegance," or, our favorite, "decadently over-the top," we're all about design and how it makes your feel. At The Roxbury, we want to make you smile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging Hotel Roxbury
The Hotel Roxbury
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing