We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time”

Plattekill Mountain
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Roxbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Winter, Spring, Summer and Fall ... there's something for everyone at Plattekill Mountain. Under 3 hours from NYC, Plattekill offers a unique experience a world away from the hustle and bustle. Family owned and operated, you'll find a charming, real-vibe, resort atmosphere surrounded by beautiful Catskill mountains. IN WINTER MONTHS, choose from 38 trails for skiing, snowboarding, and snowtubing activities. 3500' summit elevation and 1100' vertical, Plattekill stacks up. Offering a full array of lesson programs and trails for all abilities including 2-mile long beginner cruisers to steep continuous pitch double black diamonds. IN SUMMER/FALL MONTHS Plattekill offers a free concert music series (first Saturday of every month July thru October), plus mountain biking, chairlift rides, hiking, glamping and camping facilities. In addition, the mountain as become a very popular venue for private mountain rentals for mountaintop wedding ceremonies and receptions, corporate outings and private recreational events. The great outdoors, for all types of fun, awaits at Plattekill Mountain.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We visited this mountain on George Washington's Weekend. It was somewhat hard to find since it is so far off the beaten path. There could have been more signage to let us know we were still on the right path. Once there, it reminded me of ski areas I visited when I was a child - very quaint. There were truly no lines anywhere! The mountain offered only a few options to ski, but the trails were well groomed. Big drawback was the slippery entrance to the lodge on the mountain side. Also, the skiers congregated at the end of the slope and made it difficult to get on lift or get to the lodge. Needs to have a bigger area to meet up with other skiers at the bottom. It was a nice change of pace from Belleayre.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank creativetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming little ski resort!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

As a first time skier I was nervous to learn at a smaller resort since they aren't known to have too many beginner trails, but Plattekill was great! My boyfriend (an avid skier) and I went on a holiday weekend and the place was practically empty, which meant easy parking and no wait for rentals or the lift. Although there was really only one trail for me to practice on (the other green one trail was closed), I easily was able to hone my new skills and make a ton of runs since there were very few other people skiing and snowboarding.

I took a private lesson from Jeff, who was very friendly and greatly helped me improve my form (and confidence in my skiing abilities!).

The pricing was very affordable and the equipment was in great condition. I would definitely go back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Backyard Gem for Skiing”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Plattekill is a nice mountain to ski---off the beaten path in your "backyard". Easy to get to and not crowded at all. We have been there several times and never have to wait in lift lines. The terrain is great and lots of diversity. Staff are friendly and talkative. Great place for family skiing. And lunch upstairs in the bar area is delicious! Not too expensive to eat or to ski. My husband is a snowboarder and enjoys it as well. Highly recommend you check it out!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mokverek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Mad River of NYS”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Awesome place when the conditions are good. Totally caught in a time warp but that's one of it's main qualities. This is a skiers mountain and offers great expert terrain as well as something for everybody. I still visit occasionally but have backed off over recent years after the owner launched an attack on Belleayre Mountain. Never bite the hands that feed you!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NYSEski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tubing fun!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My partner skied and i went tubing--the tubing was really fun! It wasn't mobbed like at some ski resorts. The lodge was fun with a bar upstairs. Beautiful mountain...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KimberlyPhillyLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plattekill Mountain also viewed

Roxbury, Catskill Region
Roxbury, Catskill Region
 
Delhi, Catskill Region
 

Been to Plattekill Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing