We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolutely beautiful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roxbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Roxbury B&B and Inns
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An absolutely beautiful B&B”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I have stayed at a number of B&B's, but the Scudder Hill House is by far one of the best I have been to. Owners Bruce and Rae make you feel right at home from the moment you walk in, and I felt the experience continued through the whole stay. I stayed in the "Melissa Sweet" (that is not a typo) and it was extremely clean and very comfortable. It was the perfect location for my friends and I and was located very close to both Bellayre Ski Area for the day and a couple of local bars for the evening. I know I'll be staying here again in the spring when I go back to explore the Catskills!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Such a warm and inviting bed and breakfast location with quiet, comfortable, peaceful rooms and surroundings. Rae and Bruce are outstanding hosts. Truly a place not to miss.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moriches, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2010

My title says it all. The Brenners were excellent hosts. The room and attached private bathtoom was spacious and clean. Exactly what a family of four needed. Great for ski season and we'll be back for golf.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basskill3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I stayed at the Scudder Hill house and would give thie place an A+ rating. Rae and Bruce are wonderful hosts, the food is excellent, the beds are super comfortable, and the location is easy to find.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basskill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCKOZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We were looking for a place to unwind after a very hectic summer. Most B&B's in the catskills have no A/ C 's and we knew from our previous stay that the scudder hill house did. Just as before, the rooms were spotless, bright and comfotable. We enjoyed just hanging out on the deck in the beautiful yard.
The owners Rae and Bruce now have a website www.scudderhillhouse.com.
Unlike many other websites that we checked, thier rooms are as good if not better than they appear. Thier decriptions are accurate and thier prices are very reasonable. This place is a true gem! Can't wait to stay again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCKOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roxbury
12.4 mi away
No photo provided
Stamford Gables
#1 of 4 in Stamford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
5.7 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Colonial B&B At Stamford
5.5 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.1 mi away
Margaretville Motel
Margaretville Motel
#2 of 2 in Margaretville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 24 County Highway 8, Scudder Hill Rd., Roxbury, NY 12474-1919
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roxbury
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Scudder Hill House is an historical farmhouse that sits on 5 acres of pine, fruit, and maple trees, just across the road from the serenity of Lake Wawaka. Located within a 6 mile radius of skiing, mountain biking, parks, and water recreation, you can enjoy the beauty of outdoors close to the comforts of home with a touch of old world charm. Decorated in antiques and rustic elegance, Scudder Hill House is comfortable, uncluttered, and simple. With windows that go from floor to ceiling, private baths in all quarters, quality beds, and large floor plans, our accommodations offer a spaciousness and comfort we feel is the best value for your money in this area. At Scudder Hill House, wake up to the smell of fresh coffee and start your day off with a hot breakfast and home made baked goods from muffins to coffee cakes all made from scratch by Bruce, served in the Breakfast Room. Here, our guests have 24-hour access to books, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, college-size fridge, and internet service. Then adventure out and take advantage of our nearby activities and attractions. From out front door, walk across the street and jog 3 to 4 miles, bicycle or kayak and canoe on Lake Wawaka. Our guests have confirmed that we have created a cozy, warm, and charming environment that feels like home. We hope you'll think so too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast Roxbury, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing