We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roxbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Roxbury B&B and Inns
Hewitt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean but.....”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My now husband and I stayed at the Inn for our wedding weekend last week. Although the room was very clean and roomy as was the bathroom nothing stood out here as "special". Our bed was not made and new towels were never given the morning after our first night stay which I found odd. Being we were staying there for our wedding night it would have been nice to at least return to our room with the bed made ....maybe a little personal touch to congratulate us. Breakfast was a cake and a bowl of hard boiled eggs (not on ice) and some cereal boxes. We had a lot of wedding guests who stayed at other Inns in the area who awoke to home made pancakes, eggs, etc. This was the pricier Inn in the area and I expected a little more for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ses8669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last February for our ski trip to belleyre mountain. Rae and Bruce were extremely great hosts who made us feel right at home. Upon entering our room we spotted a cute wicker basket that held a variety of pamphlets informing us of restaurants and activities around the area. The room was small and quaint, as well as the bathroom. The house is very old but they keep it very clean. After a long day of skiing our bed felt great. For breakfast there was a variety of store bought items along with some delicious breads that Bruce baked. I personally like having the choice of store bought items, especially if you like to pick healthy items. During the two days we were there both Bruce and Rae made it a point to get in touch with every guest they felt wanted to talk during breakfast. We needed some suggestions on dinner and they were very helpful.
We are already planning our second trip back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Scudder Hill House xmas eve and xmas day for a mini ski vacation. We picked the room with a wood burning fireplace. The owners provided us with a self burning type log for each night and we added more wood to the equation! Going to sleep while watching the flames flicker and feeling the warmth of a real fire was wonderful (but remember to get up and close the flew after the fire goes out or you will wake up shivering!) The corner room was quite large and clean with two exposures. The en-suite bathroom was small but nice. The bathtub/shower combo had water jets -- the hot tub was a relaxing and unexpected treat after a long day of skiing! Regarding skiing in the Catskills: While the mountains (the closest ones being Belleayre and Plattekill) are not large, they are charming and offer some decent bumps, steeps and tree skiing as well as easier slopes. Best of all it's just 2.5 to 3 hours from NYC. The breakfast was simple and always included good coffee, hard boiled eggs,hot/cold cereals and a home baked item. We ate out both nights at the Peekamoose and we are glad we did. All in all -- if you want to spend time in or near Roxbury, NY you cant go wrong with the Scudder Hill House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irvingisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Scudder Hill House B&B is a beautiful old house with lovely hosts. The room we stayed in was very clean with a bed fit for a king and queen. I really enjoyed the breakfast with hot muffins and quiet jazz music in the background. I would definatly come back to the Scudder Hill B&B...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed at Scudder Hill for a company trip. The website makes the inn look much fancier than it actually is. While the setting was quite pretty, the problem lays with the inn-keepers.

A very aggressive couple runs the place. I'd suggest figuring out room payment before checking in, otherwise it could be a huge headache.

Long story short, there are nicer, less expensive places to stay at in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We where in Roxbury for a friend's wedding. The house was very cute and clean. Our room, Kirkside Park, was nice and large with a kitchenette, which was great. The bedspread wasn't comfy or cozy feeling, but the sheets were decent. I believe all the rooms there have a private bath; our bathroom was small, but not uncomfortable. There was a fireplace, which was pretty, but too bad it was the summertime and had no use for it. A continental breakfast came with our stay and it was very good- muffins, rolls, fruit, boiled eggs and tea, coffee and instant oatmeal was available. You could sit in the common area to eat it or take it up to your room. I liked that there were no forced interactions, it was laid back and no one hovered over you. We came, we stayed and we chilled. Having free wifi was great too since phone service is quite lacking in that whole area (it is the mountains after all). We only saw Bruce around, who was helpful and Rae is very prompt in email responses. They do have chickens that roam around their property, so don't be surprised if you see them clucking about (they saw me coming out of the house and started charging over to me (birds freak me out! yikes!). Overall, a lovely place to stay in the Catskills.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenyc_native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Quaint house, room was nice, comfortable bed and nice smelling sheets, but breakfast was thoroughly mediocre. My expectations based on other B&Bs where we've stayed was for a home cooked breakfast, at least scrambled eggs or something hot in addition to toast or bagels. Instead, it was pretty much what you'd get at a Hampton Inn, store bought bagels, cold cereal, yogurt, and cold hard boiled eggs. Not terrible, but didn't really live up to the the "breakfast" portion of B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CirkusPnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roxbury
12.4 mi away
No photo provided
Stamford Gables
#1 of 4 in Stamford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
5.7 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Colonial B&B At Stamford
5.5 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.1 mi away
Margaretville Motel
Margaretville Motel
#2 of 2 in Margaretville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 24 County Highway 8, Scudder Hill Rd., Roxbury, NY 12474-1919
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roxbury
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Scudder Hill House is an historical farmhouse that sits on 5 acres of pine, fruit, and maple trees, just across the road from the serenity of Lake Wawaka. Located within a 6 mile radius of skiing, mountain biking, parks, and water recreation, you can enjoy the beauty of outdoors close to the comforts of home with a touch of old world charm. Decorated in antiques and rustic elegance, Scudder Hill House is comfortable, uncluttered, and simple. With windows that go from floor to ceiling, private baths in all quarters, quality beds, and large floor plans, our accommodations offer a spaciousness and comfort we feel is the best value for your money in this area. At Scudder Hill House, wake up to the smell of fresh coffee and start your day off with a hot breakfast and home made baked goods from muffins to coffee cakes all made from scratch by Bruce, served in the Breakfast Room. Here, our guests have 24-hour access to books, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, college-size fridge, and internet service. Then adventure out and take advantage of our nearby activities and attractions. From out front door, walk across the street and jog 3 to 4 miles, bicycle or kayak and canoe on Lake Wawaka. Our guests have confirmed that we have created a cozy, warm, and charming environment that feels like home. We hope you'll think so too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scudder Hill House Bed & Breakfast Roxbury, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing