We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The simple pleasures of life...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Winter Clove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winter Clove Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen County, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The simple pleasures of life...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

This is my first time at the Winter Clove Inn. Our experience has been highly satisfactory . Our suite-type rooms comfortably accomodated 4 people- one for my husband & I and another room for the two kids, which gave us the essential comfort and privacy--how wonderful!!! The rooms have Victorian decor, very quaint, clean (unlike what other reviewers have said), and surprisingly peaceful & quiet at both the dining areas and hallways (unlike what some reviewers have said!). The bathrooms may not have been 4 star quality, lacking in amenities such as hooks for hanging clothes and more toiletries, but both bathrooms have no plumbing issues. The service is quite adequate between the innkeeper, other assistants, and wait staff. While the food is not necessarily gourmet quality (and I've had better food from inns of the same price range), the menu choices, quality of food, preparation are very good. WCI took me back to the simple pleasures of summer - nature where your kids can have fun looking for frogs, swimming at the crystal clear waterfalls, a huge porch w/Adirondack chairs and lots of tables where you can veg. IF you're looking for a relaxing, non-frenetic, accessible, innocent, summer FUN, this inn is for you. It offers indoor & outdoor pool, tennis, playground, volleyball.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    48
    11
    13
    15
See reviews for
107
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cortlandt Manor NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

I have been vacationing with my family at Winter Clove from 1972 to the present and there has always been something that draws back to this country Inn. From when I was a kid when i thought that the place was the greatest with an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, right up until now where I have my own family a father of two girls. it is great I recommend it anytime of year! My sister met her husband at Winter Clove and a good friend of mine met his wife. I would recommend this place to anyone who would like to have an old fashion American vacation. We have been coming up to the Clove for the first week in August and we have been meeting the same families for 27 years. The families have become not only friends but a part of the family. The owners are great, they always make us feel at home, It is not that expensive, the food is good family style meals, the porch is one of the amazing parts or the experience. We can play music, sit around talk or just relax. the grounds around Winter Clove are amazing and picturesque! As many things change in your life it nice to know there are places like Winter Clove that stand the test of time. I know the place has been around for 150 years I wish it can stay around for another 150 years. A real hidden Gem!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulguglichjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

the most perfect family vacation for everyone. we went as parents, children and grand-
parents. outstanding location in the catskill mountains. great meals. pleanty of activities.
well managed with a terrific staff.
visit web site. www.winterclove.com

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveleral1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

Great place for any age. Large porch perfect for evening gatherings.Staff very accomindating.Excellent hiking trails. Indoor and outdoor pools and a real swimming hole. Great time was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIZinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

I spent a three day weekend here with my wife and a group of associates 5-15 to 5-17-09. Nature is beauitful up here and peacefully quiet. We explored the area, trails and even had a bon fire. The owners are very pleasant poeple exept the the young girl by the bowling area whom was a snob. Bar tender was great and made a nice atmosphere. Nice gift shop near the bar. I bought natural maple syrup and other stuff. The food was very nice with great choices! My last day there was the best with that BBQ, Delicious!
The lights went out for three or so hours one of the nights. We had flashlights in every room and the emergency lihgts went on as well. This hotel has nice rooms with antique furniture, nice hot water showers and no TVs in the rooms so that you get that quality rest your body needs . They have a swimming pool indoors as well as outdoors but I never used them. Great lobby and waiting area was divided into three areas with a piano for those who know how to play. I wish to return here with my family someday.
I took plenty pictures of the events and place. I wish to thank everybody there for a great job! and Thank Vito and all my friends whom accompanied him for the great event that he made possible! J and M

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drummerboyNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

In February 2009 my family and I spent a long weekend at the Winter Clove Inn . During our stay, we had some less-than-ideal experiences (mostly related to poor service and cleanliness issues). Following our stay, I posted a rather negative review of our experience on this website. While everything mentioned in my review was accurate, I have since decided it was also unfair.

While we did encounter some problems during our stay, we never once brought them to the attention of the inn's management. So we never actually gave them the opportunity to rectify the issues. I now believe that the owners of the Winter Clove would have done all that was within their power to make us happy to have chosen the Winter Clove for our vacation.

Much of this realization came to me in the weeks following our stay and was a direct result of my writing the review. It turns out, the Winter Clove is not owned by some faceless corporation but by the Whitcomb family who cares so much about their guests' satisfaction that they actually read these reviews. I know this, because soon after my posting, we received a call from the owner Lenore. She had not only read the review but spent time figuring out who wrote it and then obtained my contact information. She called us because an unpleasant stay at her inn was something she took very personally.

Lenore spoke to my wife on two occasions and went over every point in my review. She was very concerned but not defensive and she did not make excuses. She truly seemed committed to make sure others did not experience the things we did and she was also genuinely interested in making things right for us.

Throughout my life I have had experiences with products or services where they failed to meet my expectations, but I can honestly say that no one at any company has ever taken such a personal interest in my satisfaction as Lenore Whitcomb has. In turn, I now know why so many people are passionate about vacationing at the Winter Clove. Yes, the setting, activities and more are great, but the commitment of the owners to their guest is a rare and wonderful thing.

The Winter Clove offers a lot, but it may not be perfect. However any imperfection is not from lack of commitment by the owners to their guests. In turn, I have pledged to Lenore that my family will return to give the inn a second chance. I have also promised her that should I experience any issue while there, I will let her know immediately. Based upon my recent experiences, I think it would be rectified to my satisfaction

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tomtraveler1Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

I have been to the Winter Clove Inn about 6 or 7 times. I love the area, the trails are beautiful, plenty to do with children, bowling is fun, a good value with all the meals included (don't expect gourmet but it's always been fine for my family). It is definitely lacking in cleanliness and needs some renovations in bathrooms and some of the furniture needs to be replaced. Over all, we almost always have a good time and I will continue to return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingwkids1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
14.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
5.5 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
12.3 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
0.9 mi away
Riedlbauer's Resort
Riedlbauer's Resort
#3 of 4 in Round Top
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Clove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Clove Inn

Property: Winter Clove Inn
Address: Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-0067
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on over 300 pristine acres and nestled at the base of North Mountain Winter Clove Inn is an all inclusive family resort offering three delicious meals served daily, indoor/outdoor heated pools, bar/lounge area, bowling alley, 9-hole golf course, miles of hiking trails, waterfalls, fitness center, tennis, basketball, volleyball, and much more. YOU'LL LOVE IT HERE!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Winter Clove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Clove Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing