We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9 years and counting I love it”
Review of Winter Clove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Winter Clove Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“9 years and counting I love it”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Okay I'm gonna be honest they food not good. No it's not the 4 seasons. No there is no tv. Yes there are animals but guess what? I wouldn't have it any other way. Every year me and all my cousins go there at the end if July. It's the only hotel Ik of that u can run around with no shoes on. It's like my second home. I walk in and I just wanna say I'm home. Ik there is no tv but who cares? All day I'm ethier catching frogs, at the creek, in the pool, exploring with my cousins, or just chillen on the too floor. Note though bring ur own water and snacks. I count down the days till I'm back. Okay I'll admit the foods bad and it's old but I love it. I love that there are cats and dogs every where. I wanted to take little midnight home. A lot of people complain about the timed meals. That's a great thing. That way ur not all fight where to go to lunch, when to eat, etc. well I go with like 25 people sooo. Go to winter clove just don't talk my too floor if u go at July 2nd to last week. This place grows on u. Btw my cousins and I spend hours reading these laughing and if they read this they would laugh at me lol yeah so go here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonofyourbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We think you hit the nail on their head when it comes to the atmosphere and how it makes kids feel when they are here. And the parents love it because they know their children are happiest when they're catching frogs and fireflies, swimming, hiking, mountain biking, playing tennis, or just simply hanging with their friends, cousins and family members. We are happy to consider more kid-friendly food options on top of what we already offer. Thanks again!

-Lenore & Bud Whitcomb
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    50
    11
    13
    15
See reviews for
110
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I will start with the positives. The exterior and grounds of Winter Clove are beautiful.

Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the interior. The inn is totally run down. Our room (21) was so small it was utterly claustrophobic and everything just felt unclean. The linens were yellowed, the surfaces were dusty, the decorative pillows on the bed were stained, there were small marks and stains on everything - not good enough.

I can get with the notion of simplicity and rustic charm but it simply has to be CLEAN. When I discussed this with the lady at checkout, her response was simply - "well the linens are clean." OK. Thanks. I disagree.

Our bathroom door wouldn't shut. There was a gross brown stain on the bathroom floor created by some kind of dripping pipe and you literally cannot turn around without bumping into a wall because it's just so small.

Also, there are cats running around.

The people working there were just frankly uninterested in us. We got little to no guidance upon check in as to how the breakfast system works and in fact every time I approached reception I was just greeted with blank-faced looks like I was a stranger disturbing the peace.

Also, there is no access to any kind of amenities. I feel like an inn should offer day-long coffee and hot water in the lobby, or at least a chilled water source of some kind - nothing.

It's hard to write a review like this without seeming like some city diva whose expectations are way too high. Well, all I can say is a travel a lot, stay in every spectrum of accommodations and this is without a doubt one of the most underwhelming places I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Anything on the top floor is at least more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Red667Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for noticing Winter Clove Inn's exterior and grounds. For over 150 years, guests have enjoyed relaxing on the inn's large porch overlooking flowers on the expansive front lawn. Our Catskill Mountain hiking and mountain biking trails through the covered bridge and over the waterfalls and scenic terrain are considered a gem by our guests.

The rooms are carefully cleaned by our chambermaids and beds are made with fresh linens. Had you raised your concern about the linens or room size upon check-in on Friday, we would have been happy to re-make your room or provide a new room - immediately. No questions asked. We truly want our guests to be comfortable and very pleased with their stay, but our hands are tied if we learn about an issue after the fact.

Aunt Karen's homemade cookies and apple juice are served most days in the front foyer and replenished throughout the day. We served iced water pitchers to your group and other guests to enjoy on the veranda. However, since reading your review, we decided to begin offering self-serve fresh coffee in carafes and iced lemon-water as a complement to the homemade cookies in between mealtimes throughout the day.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We want everyone to know that when something of concern is brought to our attention, we go out of our way to make it right.

Sincerely,
Lenore & Bud Whitcomb, owners/innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Winter Clove is a perfect Catskills destination, especially for people with kids age 5-13. It has been family run for multiple generations. It is an "old school" Catskill resort and keep this in mind when setting your expectations. The buildings and facilities are, shall we say, well used. This is a bonus however when you have young children. They don't notice at all, play with and on everything, and there is no fear of breaking or abusing. My boys love the indoor pool in winter and outdoor pool in summer. Bowling alley and game room provide hours of fun. Don't expect the Four Seasons and you won't be disappointed. Many of the guests have been coming over mulitple generations as well and it has wonderful "join the party atmosphere".

p.s. if you're driving, you might want to bring your own pillows as the ones provided are ok at best.

Room Tip: Rooms near stairways can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

In a world driven by speed and efficiency, Winter Clove is an oasis where time slows down. The Inn has a rustic country atmosphere lovingly maintained by the Whitcomb Family for over a century. The hosts are warm and accommodating, and their staff always aims to please. Guests who truly appreciate Winter Clove do not expect the white glove treatment, but instead welcome the simple and natural harmony that thrives there. Being without a television, tolerating a squeaky door, and climbing a flight of stairs to one’s room – none of these things troubles the ideal Winter Clove guest.

The place is among the last of the great old Inns in the Catskill Mountains, and has endured because of its dedication to country simplicity that returning guests have grown to cherish. Additionally, Winter Clove has stayed true to the high premium it places upon family togetherness and outdoor activities. The Inn lies at the base of a mountain and its sprawling acreage offers hiking and biking trails, brooks, swimming holes, and waterfalls buried high up in the mountainside. Even though a family room television and complimentary WiFi are available, technology is easily forgotten for a few days and children are instead entertained by hayrides, bonfires, guided hikes, indoor/outdoor swimming, on-site bowling, shuffleboard, ping pong, and a weekly outdoor barbecue with live music in the summertime. The kitchen prepares three square meals a day and the staff is happy to pack you a bag lunch if one of your excursions will take you elsewhere for the day.

I first visited Winter Clove when I was 5 years old and some of my fondest childhood memories are there. If they’d have me, I’d gladly live with the Whitcombs at Winter Clove year round. You could visit every year for a lifetime and still not see the same things twice. I’ve been a returning guest for over 25 years and every time I discover something new.

-Andrew, Long Island NY

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Andrew,

You captured the essence of Winter Clove Inn so eloquently!!

Whether 25 years with us or first-timers - we work hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay, feel welcome and relaxed, eat well, and leave with a stay filled with memories to last until their next visit.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and for your friendship and patronage for 25 years. We feel blessed!

Lenore & Bud Whitcomb
innkeepers/owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had just returned from Winter Clove Inn. We've spent the weekend here for my husband's bday weekend. First of all, I must say, the hiking in the area is amazing.

The property itself...I don't even know where to begin.

We've checked in around 7pm or so and was told they were done serving dinner. Check- in lady went to the kitchen to check for us and they were able to serve us.

Dinner was served in the dinning room, it somewhat reminds me of a nursing home/senior center. Menu for the evening - lettuce salad ( horrible ), turkey with mash potatoes/stuffing..(disgusting) and I believe they have peach pie/ice cream that we didn't bother to try....

I know this is a B & B and I really should not have high expectation but the food was just awful.

The check in lady had instructed us to go behind the property and go up from the back door. When we entered the room, it felt like a sauna room with a very nasty smell. I immediately turned on the AC (they only have window units AC) to cool down the room. The room was covered in dirty looking rugs ( I should have taken some photos to post).

The room does not have TV, no safe, no fridge. It was 90 degrees and we can't even find a bottle of water anywhere.

We used our smartbox gift card for this reservation. We overpaid way way way too much for this.

I couldn't sleep all night and the room was fill with bugs everywhere.

The property is extremely run down with not well maintain. They serve breakfast from 8-9 and lunch from 6-7. I feel it's a bit ridiculous how they only have one time slot and forcing everyone to dine at that hour. The game room was only open briefly from 7:30-8:30ish???

Overall, this is a really not a comfortable stay at all. Even if I had paid their regular room rate, it is still way overprice. This thing does not worth over 100 a day. There are much better places around the area that you can choose from.

Oh and FYI..free wifi does not work!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank momo6192010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your compliment on our hiking trails. Our hiking trails guide nature lovers along the Winter Clove Creek to our covered bridge situated over cascading waterfalls.

The inn serves fresh home-cooked dinners nightly from 6-7PM. Our chef is happy to make meals for post- dinner arrivals when possible and was pleased to accommodate you. Our reservation staff has been reminded to discuss dinner options on arrival day in the chance that this was not addressed with you. Food is the most subjective area for our guests. On the same evening, we had several guests rave about their meal.

Upon reading your feedback on the room issues, we checked the room for bugs you describe and were not able to detect any. Our handmade braided rugs from Massachusetts are cleaned regularly. Our historic inn does not have central air so we installed window air conditioners in each room for guest comfort. The TV is located in the main parlor on the first floor, as is common for inns of this period.

We certainly wish you would have expressed your concerns with us during your stay as we would have quickly corrected your issues.

Thanks for staying at the Winter Clove Inn and for taking the time to write a review. We take guest feedback very seriously and strive to make our guests feel comfortable and pleased with their stay.

Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dowdfamily6
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I don't quite know where to start, except to say that Winter Clove really is a little piece of Heaven on Earth. If you are looking for a place to go with your family and literally step back in time this is it. It is not fancy or upscale, but that is what makes it so perfect. I have stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world including the Four Seasons in Maui and the Ritz Carleton in the Caymen Islands. They were great but very "superficial". This place stays with you and you can't wait to come back.... and you will.
The inn has been owned by the same family for over 200 years and I bet in may ways it hasn't changed. Rachel at the front desk will greet you with a smile and make you feel right at home. Lenore (the proprietor) will probably chat with you at some point to make sure you are enjoying your stay. The old fashioned rooms and furniture are charming and comfortable. The best thing about the inn is watching the kids just enjoy being outside and enjoying nature. The inn does have wifi but this place is really about getting away from all that and connecting to people in a more meaningful way. We come up twice a year. Once in December (they even give us a certificate to cut down our Christmas Tree down the road) and over Easter weekend. The same families come up at the same time each year and our girls (18,16,14,11) look forward to seeing thier friends again.
A must is taking a picture on the huge front porch. We have them starting 12 years ago and it so fun to look at those photos and see how much a part of our lives Winter Clove has been.
The food is good hearty home cooked food. 2 choices of entree for lunch and dinner and always something kid friendly for the kids if they want.
If you are still reading this go book your trip you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We love staying on the fourth floor where there is a common area with a TV. However, there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dowdfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I love this place. You are always greeted with a smile and a room in perferct conditon. I come here every year and it's always in great shape. I always go bowling at the bowling alley across the street. A con is that they don't have TV's in any room, but they will have one downstairs in the living room. THE BEST DINNER OF MY LIFE. Expect amazing quality from the food and beverages in the morning. Also a few video games in the bowling alley. They have WiFi. If u need to find a way to relax. Come here. Indoor pool is a tiny bit to much filled with chlorine, but in anyways it's an amazing hotel

Room Tip: Stay on top floor, theres alot of kids and you get a good view of scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flanbo42265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
2.0 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
5.5 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
502 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
0.9 mi away
Riedlbauer's Resort
Riedlbauer's Resort
#3 of 4 in Round Top
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Clove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Clove Inn

Property: Winter Clove Inn
Address: Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-0067
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on over 300 pristine acres and nestled at the base of North Mountain Winter Clove Inn is an all inclusive family resort offering three delicious meals served daily, indoor/outdoor heated pools, bar/lounge area, bowling alley, 9-hole golf course, miles of hiking trails, waterfalls, fitness center, tennis, basketball, volleyball, and much more. YOU'LL LOVE IT HERE!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Winter Clove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Clove Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing