We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation - reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Winter Clove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winter Clove Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Certificate of Excellence
NY
1 review
“Great family vacation - reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

This was our second visit, and we plan to make it an annual tradition. The Winter Clove Inn was exactly what we were looking for. It's close enough to Windham Mountain (25 min drive?), and the features and price are well worth the extra travel time to the slopes.

It has a nice size heated swimming pool. It operates a bowling alley and game room across the street. It has nightly activities for the family such as bonfire with marshmallows included. It has nice hiking trails all around the property that feature a large stream, mini water fall, covered bridge, etc. They offer snowshoes and cross country skis & boots for free. And they have several sleds for sledding. We did it all on this trip in addition to skiing at Windham. Our kids (age 5 and 9) loved it.

All meals are included and they'll pack a lunch if you're going to the slopes or elsewhere. We're not talking 5 star restaurant quality, but the food is wholesome and tasty.

The rooms are spacious (some more than others), showers have plenty of force and hot water, which is key after a day on the slopes. Rooms have no tv, which forces you out of your room and into the shared living room which has a tv, fireplace, piano. This is a good thing as it allows the kids to interact with other kids in the hotel instead of gluing themselves to the tv.

Highly recommended for families with small children who are just getting into skiing and want a fun family vacation.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BT_In_Oceanside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    48
    11
    13
    15
See reviews for
107
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

This is not a spot for the pretentious, self centered, or folks looking for the traditional morgue like silent vacation that fancy cookie cutter hotel chains specialize in. The Winter Clove Inn exudes fun activities, social interaction, and is an overly family friendly full of life place.

The food is hearty country Americana where seconds are OK, and they will bend backwards to accommodate, especially if you have small ones. Reviews (plural) criticizing meals originating from a country where they still eat horse meat needs to be carefully weighed! If you are looking for snails, frog legs, a ritzy quiet dining room, or the posh experience of being looked down on snootily by your waiter and/or Wine Stewart; do yourself and the other guests a favor, go elsewhere.

If you want an opulent room to spend the entire time in; ditto! The rooms may be a little dated but are rustic, cozy and very clean. This country inn is all about the country! There are no in-room TV's or telephones and thank goodness for that!!

I was actually upset because my Sprint/Nextel gets one or two signal bars as they lit up the nearby Hunter Ski Bowl area but managed to keep work at bay by still advising no cell service and keep it off. I highly advise doing same.

All of the kids meet up with other visiting kids, form friendships, and have the kind if fun all children do with all the associated noise, chatter at meals, and even the running around that kids do. With the fresh mountain air, at night, they drop like bags of ice!!

Those who are aggravated by the sounds of life; kids having fun, all ready have one foot in the grave and sadly forgot what being is a kid was all about. Again, look elsewhere and please re-evaluate life's priorities of what is really important in life; living it!
PS: Laughing adds 7 - 10 years to the average life expectancy; lighten up.

  • Liked — Service, hearty country meals, activities, environment, and the scenary only available upat this county inn.
  • Disliked — Let me think and get back to you...
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

When I was a child, back in the 60's, my family used to go to Winter Clove . I always looked forward to it. The place was always full, the Catskills were a hot vacation destination with the main roads full of family resorts.

The years have not been kind to the Catskills, with most of the resorts of my youth either abandoned, torn down, sold to religious groups, or turned into condominiums. Winter Clove, however continues to go strong, and upon revisiting it last weekend, I rediscovered all the things I loved about it in my youth.

The rooms are not modern, but they are nicely furnished, clean, and unique. No Super-8 rooms here. And there are no phones or televisions!! This is perhaps the best part!

The food is great. It's not gourmet fare, but every meal we had there was fantastic home cooking at it's best! My plate was clean at the end of every single meal! And no sooner do you finish eating than they are asking you if you'd like more! The desserts were home made, and delicious....especially the apple pie!

The facilities are first rate for a place that is over 150 years old. Both pools (indoor and outdoor) are in great shape. The tennis court is lighted in case you want to play at night. The golf course is certainly not PGA quality, and the greens are more like fairways, but it was fun! You can go up there hit the ball around and practice your game without anyone bothering you. Plus, the upper part of the course is a scene right out of the Sound of Music....really spectacular! Plus there are miles of hiking trails with brooks, waterfalls, and scenic overlooks that you'll never forget. They'll even pack a lunch for you if you're going for the day.

The bowling alley is a bit worn (and a bit tilted), but it's a fun way to spend some time at night. There's a nice gift shop with some interesting stuff, and it's not overpriced like other places I've been.

The grounds are meticulously maintained, and the owners are onsite all the time to make sure everything is just right.

Most childhood memories are not usually that accurate, and when you revisit places from your youth you are usually disappointed. Not so with Winter Clove. I was very pleasantly surprised that Winter Clove was every bit as good as I remember it as a child....maybe better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Older room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jekiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

My husband and I just returned from the Winter Clove Inn. We loved it. The location was beautiful, the Inn sits at the base of Round Top. He set out on a vigorous hike to enjoy the spectacular view, while I rocked on the huge porch and soaked up the old world Catskills ambiance. The owners, Lenore and Bud couldn't be any more accomodating. We went during the week, not too crowded. Our room was filled with antiques and our king size bed was very comfortable. Go and enjoy!!!
We'll be back!
Brian and Eileen

  • Liked — relaxing, porch
  • Disliked — the mess a family reunion left
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokeylbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

Stayed here for 4 days, would've stayed longer except plans changed and had to leave early. During memorial day weekend, there were a lot of loud children there that made meals somewhat disruptive, but otherwise was a great stay. The food was excellent, not sure why other people had problems with it. The hotel is very basic; there is no TV in the rooms, but is perfect for a vacation away from work and the hectic pace of modern life. Plenty to do in the area and on the premises.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

We were planning a family reunion for a quick
weekend and were thrilled to have found space
for all 23 of us. Spoke with Lenore in making the
original bookings and she could not have been more
friendly, helpful and accomodating. She made me feel
like she was a member of "our" family! The rooms were
delightful and without phones or TVs in each room it
gave us all time to finally be together in a perfectly
situated large living room, overlooking the mountains,
where we all felt like we were together at home. The
meals were great -- all three of them each day -- and
we truly had a wonderful time. The staff could not have been nicer and I have returned to work where many staff members asked if I could give them the number. It is so reasonably
priced, so pleasant, so much fun with hiking, indoor pool,
bowling and golf you really can't imagine a better place to
go whether for two or 22! Thanks again for making our weekend
such a great memory. Already hoping to do it again soon.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly0948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2007

we just returned from a 2 night stay at winter clove and for the most part had an enjoyable time. the rooms are fine-- simple but clean and comfortable, the pool was great fun for the kids, the retro bowling alley is a nice touch (except for the fact that they nickle and dime guests to use it-- 3 dollars a game p/p) and the property is quite scenic. BUT, i'd have to say that the biggest cons were the food and the awkward table service we received. i am not even sure if the inn has an actual kitchen in the back-- it seemed like the meals were all pre-made and are just nuked before being brought to the table (not kidding). and the server who handled our party repeatedly made strange and slightly rude remarks pretty much at every meal.

anyway, i don't think i will return to this property, mostly due to how bad the food was. it really did put a damper on our getaway and made us feel that the $500+ tab for our family of four was way too expensive for what we ended up getting.

(from brooklyn, ny)

  • Liked — pool, quiet setting, spaciousness.
  • Disliked — food and service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frombklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
14.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
5.5 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
12.3 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
0.9 mi away
Riedlbauer's Resort
Riedlbauer's Resort
#3 of 4 in Round Top
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Clove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Clove Inn

Property: Winter Clove Inn
Address: Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-0067
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on over 300 pristine acres and nestled at the base of North Mountain Winter Clove Inn is an all inclusive family resort offering three delicious meals served daily, indoor/outdoor heated pools, bar/lounge area, bowling alley, 9-hole golf course, miles of hiking trails, waterfalls, fitness center, tennis, basketball, volleyball, and much more. YOU'LL LOVE IT HERE!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Winter Clove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Clove Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing