We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Inn with character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winter Clove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winter Clove Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Certificate of Excellence
Palmyra, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Country Inn with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

My family has been going to winter clove every year for 4 generations. Every year we look forward to our yearly Winter Clove trip for many reasons: the scenic Catskill mountains, the rich history, and the wonderful memories we make every time we go. Winter clove house is comfy and inviting to people of all ages. The many hiking trails are awesome and we always take a trip down to Saugerties for antiquing since its only 20 minutes away. If youre looking for a warm, inviting place to bring your family Winter clove is the place for a low key, laid back vacation in the mountains.

Room Tip: bring snacks for in between meal times for the kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarbear7212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    48
    11
    13
    15
See reviews for
105
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I am a frequent business traveler and was surprised by my husband with a weekend at the Winter Clove Inn. My hotel standards are very high and I was truly happy with the accommodations. Being a B & B, the place has a very homey feel. Everything was very clean in my room and the customer service was exceptional. It is an old school Catskill Mountain kind of place that reminded me of the hotel from Dirty Dancing. If you are not someone who likes to be holed away in the mountains with little nearby, this is not for you. However, it is a nature lover and hiker's dream. Simple and relaxing. Hiking maps are available and up to date. Trails are lovely or challenging (depending on your desired level) and well marked and maintained. We also loved the Mountain Brauhaus down the street and had a blast on the SkyRider Zipline Tour at Hunter Mountain! Only negative is they do offer free wifi, but it is not necessarily available in all rooms. If you need to work during your stay, make sure you get internet in your room before you unpack! The family who owns the place does their best to make you feel at home. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for that mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Triplethreatnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We've been vacationing here since I was a child. Now my husband and I bring our children! We love Winter Clove for it's laid back, relaxed, friendly atmosphere. We enjoy the hiking trails - there are many walks that children can do and there are more difficult trails for the enthusiast! We can get away from it all. There are no tv's in the room but there is wifi! It's just a nice place to get away for a while!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenKCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

This was our first time at the inn and I was a little nervous because of some of the reviews. Stayed the first weekend of August, went with family, kids and adults. Our rooms were very clean, and looked similar in style to the rooms on the website. The food was not gourmet, but very good. Service was great, our waitress was very friendly. Outdoor pool area, playground, and tennis court are lovely. Indoor pool could use some TLC. It rained on Saturday afternoon and through the night, so the bonfire was cancelled. Spent the time in the bowling alley...had to teach the kids how to score on paper the old fashioned way! We went for a hike in the woods before the rain and found the waterfall and swimming hole...the kids loved swimming in it! Played board games with the family on the beautiful front porch both nights until 12am. It was a quiet, relaxing weekend with the family. Will definitely go back next summer.
Tips: If you're going with kids, bring plenty of snacks and drinks, the nearest conv. store is about 10 miles away.

Bring a laptop for the kids incase of rain, there is wi-fi in the house. Also we brought dvd's and a portable dvd player for our room at night. (no tv's in the rooms)

If you get hungry at night (my son didn't eat his dinner) or just want some entertainment, there's a german bar/rest down the block open to the public. Found out about it after we got back home, would have been nice to go especially since it was raining.

Take the kids to Puttin Plus in Saugerties. (exit 20 NYS thruway 1 mile up RT 32) They have the best go cart track we've ever been on. Also played mini golf and used the batting cages. The kids loved this place.

Room Tip: This is a 200 yr old house. If you can't walk up a few flights of stairs, ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4cips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We recently stayed at Winterclove and had a wonderful, much needed sress- free vacation.It's beautiful just pulling up to the front door, with the long porch, lined with the most comfortable rocking chairs and a carosel horse that the kids can sit on. We were greeted so warmly by Lenore at the front desk-she made everyone feel welcome, like family. The great room is so pretty, with wood floors,and warm carpets, with a large fireplace, piano, and plenty of places to sit and catch up with friends and relatives. Each bedroom is different, all with either antique or country furniture, with touches of home (and Grandma's home, too). A word of advice, if you have trouble with stairs, ask to be on a lower floor- the Inn is close to 200 years old, and does not have elevators.The mountains surrounding are breathtaking-there are many hiking trails besides streams, through the woods,rolling fields, or over a covered bridge. If you let your waiter or waitress know at breakfast, they'll pack you a good lunch for the trail. All the meals are included. I found the fresh air and walking made me work up an appetite, and the food is hearty and delicious.(I had an excellent tilapia in a light creamy sauce, with farm fresh vegetables, my husband had a tender pork roast that was the best he'd had in years). The smell of bacon cooking was my alarm clock-breakfast is delicious! The kids had fun in the pools. The outside pool was just redone, and was great. One day it rained, so the indoor pool is a lifesaver (some of the adults stayed on the porch playing board games-we haven't laughed so much in years) We never did get a chance to bowl, but the kids did.(there's a 6 lane bowling alley-just like when you were a kid) There's a nice tennis court, well maintained, and even a 9 hole golf course-all free. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant-they didn't even mind our bad jokes.All in all we had a wonderful time, just wish we could have stayed longer! We all can't wait to go back. Thanks winterclove!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have been holding our family reunions here since the 1980's and every member of our family has lot's of precious memories. The resort is a classic Catskills resort that is still operated by the same family since the 1800's. Every family activity you can think of here from 2 pools to hiking, golf, tennis, bowling, etc, etc. None of it costs extra. (except bowling) The meals are not gourmet but still very good and the service is efficient and the young servers helpful and bubbly. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Nothing fancy about Winter Clove, but it has the warmth and tradition that more pricier resorts lack. A slice of heaven.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My family has been going to Winter Clove since 1956 It is here that my brothers and I learned to fish and swim ..
dMy wife and I got married on the front lawn in May 2010. Ecverything was and\ry room for a still is, OUTSTANDING. I hope that the negartive respondents would go back and give it another try,The place keeps its old fashioned demeanor so that families will do things together. There is magic in the place...go and enjoy and experience som

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
5.5 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
12.3 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Clove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Clove Inn

Property: Winter Clove Inn
Address: Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-0067
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on over 300 pristine acres and nestled at the base of North Mountain Winter Clove Inn is an all inclusive family resort offering three delicious meals served daily, indoor/outdoor heated pools, bar/lounge area, bowling alley, 9-hole golf course, miles of hiking trails, waterfalls, fitness center, tennis, basketball, volleyball, and much more. YOU'LL LOVE IT HERE!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Winter Clove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Clove Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing