We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

There are a lot of aging hotels and resorts in the Catskills. Crystal Brook is timeless and comfortable. An easy choice!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Have gone to Crystal Brook for many years for hunting season..........great food .....very reasonable rates ............can't do better anyplace else

Room Tip: all rooms are clean and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmich45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I found this resort online when searching for a place to stay near/in the Catskills. The German food and Brauhaus on site drew us in. These features exceeded our expectations. Family who owns and operates this site makes their guests feel welcome and comfortable. Location makes day trips north and south easy to take. Would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scoopy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Like going back in time...so many guests were German and knew how to dance. The Mountain Brahaus was authentic and charming. The food is good and the tennis courts are well taken care of, very impressed being your in the woods. Would've liked a heated or indoor pool but those are hard to find up in this area. The owner was so sweet and kind. We really felt at home and comfortable. The only minor let down was the BBQ the burgers were rare and the bratwurst and Hot dogs were not good. However the service was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JudyJetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Many of the other reviews are spot-on, with a few adjustments: There'e WiFi throughout the place, and we thought the rooms were well soundproofed. The German bierhall next door is like stepping back in time. Saturday night, the place was hopping with mostly older local folks, some in dirndles and lederhosen, dancing to the traditional music. The inn is homey, charming and friendly, nothing fancy. Would love to go back when the pool is open. There's another lusher resort up the road with a vintage bowling alley, some trails and what looks like a swimming hole that you can also check out. It seems a little pricey at first glance, and locks you into 3 meals (think hearty and basic, not gourmet), but it was well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bklyntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Found this place while researching another resort located nearby. Crystal Brook is billed as a German resort and if you look at the web site it appears that it is all German, all day, every day. The reason I note this is because my husband is German and as soon as I saw the web site I knew he would absolutely love a getaway involving meals like his mother and grandmother used to cook and German music at the Brauhaus. I spoke to the owner when making reservations and explained that this would be a surprise for my husband and that we were looking forward to the German atmosphere. The surprise was on us, though, because no German meals were served, and there was no German entertainment. When I asked our host about this she said that that only takes place during the summer months and since this was September the German food/entertainment is only provided on weekends. I don't know why this wasn't mentioned during our phone conversation, but had I known I would have made reservations for a weekend instead of mid-week. I was disappointed that my surprise didn't work out, but that being said, we did enjoy a relaxing getaway. The meals, though not German, were delicious and the food was plentiful. They even packed a lunch for us the day we went sight seeing. Three meals a day were included in the price, so it was a tremendous bargain. There was music and dancing at the Brauhaus, and we spent an enjoyable evening there. Everyone was lovely, and the room was immaculate...very rustic/dated, but perfectly fine for us. It's definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I was looking for a German restaurant online and found the Mountain Brauhaus....went and had a delicious saurbraten lunch...checked out the resort..and booked it that week.
The rooms are not luxurious but are absolutely spotless and adequate. The grounds are lovely and the pool and jacuzzi were very nice. The staff was very nice and helpful. Most of the people staying there at the time were in their mid 50s and were extremely friendly. We sat out and made many friends and talked for hours.
The food is as good as it gets. German style but would appeal to anyone. Good home cooked meals and good service. We can't wait to go back again..This will be one of our favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NyLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
1.9 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
5.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riedlbauer's Resort
Riedlbauer's Resort
#3 of 4 in Round Top
25 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus

Property: Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
Address: 430 Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-5025
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1960, The Crystal Brook Resort and Mountain Brauhaus has been a family-owned and operated resort. Remaining a favorite destination for generations of families and friends. The German-American cuisine is of the highest quality to satisfy the most discriminating palate. Come take in the beautiful scenic soundings on a relaxing family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Brook Mountain Brauhaus Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing