We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Round Top B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2009

My husband and I were visiting New York city for my birthday, I suggested to drive upstate to a nice B&B to take a break from the city and we did. The GeorgeEllen is a wonderful, beautiful, peaceful place to stay. Ellen was so sweet, kind and accommodating. Since there was no one else staying the night we stayed, Ellen & her husband let us choose which room we wanted to stay in. We had lunch in a German cafe in the town, which had fabulous desserts and we wanted to stay in for dinner so we went to the grocery store and picked up some microwavable lasagna and just planned on heating it up and eating out of the container and just relax. Instead of just using a microwave, Ellen put it in the oven and served it to us on a tray with plates and silverware along with some cookies she made right before she left for the evening. Soo incredibly sweet. Breakfast was awesome too. Besides the great hospitality and food, the atmosphere was amazing. The view from our balcony was beautiful, it's my desktop background now =). Go the the GeorgeEllen!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLissV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2009

We were going away for a special 50th birthday celebration. Instead of the normal party, we wanted a quiet, romantic place to unwind away from the kids and hustle and bustle. To say we found it, is an understatement. The GeorgeEllen B & B is the perfect mountaintop escape. The establishment is a year old. George built this first class retreat with his own hands and did not cut any corners. It's fantastic in every way. We stayed in the 2nd floor Skyview room which had an incredible mountain view. The room was large, comfortable and featured a four post king size bed. There was a beautiful gas fireplace recessed in the wall, a flat screen TV... and that view. The bathroom was very large with a two person Jacuzzi.
Ellen treated us to a delicious breakfast in a dining room that featured the same incredible Mountain view.
Like many people, we like to start our day with a cup of coffee. Ellen prepared a tray with an amazing cup of coffee at 7:30 am per our request, along with some freshly made banana bread. Just another small detail that makes this bed & breakfast so special.
We would highly recommend this lovely escape.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We went up to the catskills to enjoy the fall foliage and were both pleasantly suprised and lucky to stumble upon the George Ellen. The room was immaculately clean and beautifully appointed. Ellen was both helpful and kind. She's also an amazing cook. Breakfast was delicious and honestly more than I expected. The views were spectacular and while the bed and breakfast is secluded, there was no shortage of great fall activities in the area. I would recommend The George Ellen to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rineje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

My friend and I had the fortunate luck to find the George Ellen Inn. I highly recommend booking a stay here. The room we stayed in was beautifully done... a fireplace, a jacuzzi bathtub, to add, made our stay even more relaxing....plus the breathtaking view. Our breakfast was presented in very classy style. The food was amazing. Ellen was a very friendly and helpful host. I hope to return back to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dakini8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Excellent secluded bed and breakfast in the Catskills. We stayed the "mountain" room, beautiful hardwood everywhere, huge modern bathroom, huge 4 post bed, and fantastic view. It's basically as good as it looks on the website. Ellen's hearty and delicious breakfasts were accentuated by her tasty home grown vegetables. The George Ellen is close enough to a couple of family resorts that finding food isn't a problem but far enough away that we didn't hear a single screaming kid.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okletsgo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We visited friends in Round Top, in the Catskills, and they suggested that we stay at George and Ellen's, and we're glad we did. The rooms are new, neat, and very clean. Breakfast was made to order and everything done so well. The view is awesome. We drove around a bit, did some walking, and had dinners out. There's several nice restaurants in the area. We played a little golf, the courses are small but nice. We hope to come back again in the fall.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mikimatsumot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
2.1 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
2.5 mi away
Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#1 of 4 in Round Top
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glen Falls House
Glen Falls House
#2 of 3 in Round Top
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riedlbauer's Resort
Riedlbauer's Resort
#3 of 4 in Round Top
27 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clark House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast

Address: Polly's Rock Road, PO Box 86, Round Top, NY 12473
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Round Top
Price Range: $193 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing