We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quaint, Antiquated, Very Average and Slightly Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roslyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roslyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roslyn
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quaint, Antiquated, Very Average and Slightly Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had a room on the main level, which was great. The lobby is cute, old-fashioned, but the lobby loveseat needs the upholstery cleaned. The carpet in my room was a lighter color and inidcated it was in need of replacement, seemed worn. Liked the Keurig pot in the room, the TV was modern, but everything else was not modern. OK, if you know what to expect. Kind of remind me of staying at grandma's house with the older furnishings. The bathroom reminded me of a Marriott property with the tile floors, lighting and such. All it was missing was a decent (newer) showerhead. The breakfast was marginal- an assortment of pastries, melon salad, sausage/bacon and reconstituted "scrambled" eggs. Coffee was good, though. The area was very pretty and the hotel is ok for sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyYoung, General Manager at The Roslyn Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment and sharing your review about our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we are happy your overall experience was pleasant

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have taken note of the items you mentioned in your review and addressed each of them.

We will be updating our hotel in the spring and truly hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    61
    56
    28
    30
See reviews for
105
47
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My fiance and I had our engagement party here back in November 2012. Pam, Katie & especially Max did a great job with planning and coordinating our large event of about 160 people. We brought in our own caterer and the hotel even gave them a spot outside to grill on site! We honestly couldnt have asked for a better party!

My out of town family and i all spend the weekend here and the rooms were fine. Some of the areas are a bit dated but we have been to other hotels around here and its all the same. The service at the Roslyn Hotel was very good. I would have my family stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayside,newyork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I woul highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are quaint and the location is great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can walk to some great restaurants. Very pretty setting. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs.travelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were in New York City to attend at event in Flushing, Queens. This hotel had everything we needed. It was one of the cheapest hotels we found within 30 minutes of Flushing. It was small, which we prefer. The price included breakfast and parking. There was plentiful parking. The room and breakfast were average. We felt safe in the neighborhood. My favorite feature was the free massage chair in the lobby!

Only a couple of things kept me from rating the hotel higher. The room was a little dated. The staff was disinterested. We had a problem with our television, but they didn't offer to fix it or change our room. The breakfast was just ok. But if you need a reasonably priced hotel in this part of New York, I definitely recommend the Claremont.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyf_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury,ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a very beautiful hotel. It's a place where you are attended by its staff efficiently & politely unlike big chains. Enjoy your drink @ fire place area. I would recommend to all. It's got the old charm look. Complimentary full breakfast was pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roslyn
5.2 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa
Viana Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Westbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express ROSLYN - MANHASSET AREA
5.9 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
The Andrew Hotel
The Andrew Hotel
#2 of 2 in Great Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roslyn Hotel

Property: The Roslyn Hotel
Address: 1221 Old Northern Blvd, Roslyn, NY 11576-1623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Roslyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roslyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roslyn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Roslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing