We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Chagall Exhibition in the middle of a nice quiet park close to the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nassau County Museum of Art

Nassau County Museum of Art
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Roslyn
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Chagall Exhibition in the middle of a nice quiet park close to the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I would have never thought to find so many of Chagall works from different private collections in a tiny museum in Rosly, L.I. Some of the works I didn't even know about. Really a pleasure to see.
Also, a very nice park and one only wishes that they get enough money to finish the restoration of the Dewey house, which should be wonderful once done.
The Chagall collection is only there until November 2012.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Haaretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Intimacy of the Barnes Foundation In Merion, PA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is one of the best kept secrets on the Island. We have a membership which gives our entire family access to every exhibit. The Nassau County Museum of Art gets some really high quality pieces and the beautiful former Frick Estate, a 145-acre property in Roslyn Harbor estate, is a great venue in which to view it. The beautiful home with the priceless art hanging on the walls reminds me of the intimacy of the Barnes Foundation before it moved to Philidelphia.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 30Toni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The art museum offered a Chagall exhibit. The entire museum was devoted to chagall's works, his life, his history and his travels. The fee, $10 was very reasonable. The museum is in an old mansion and a tour of the mansion is offered, I came too late to take the tour. However, there was a video presentaion on Chagall and a very knowlegeable docent who led a tour thorught he exhibit. I went on a weekend and it was very crowded. After the exhibit, I spent time walking the grounds which were beutifully manicured and exhbited modern scuptured works.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arbie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Art in the Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Special showings of various artists and medias in the museum.
Great to visit in the spring and fall and do a walking tour of the sculptures in the gardens.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank janedalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small facility on exquisite grounds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The museum is located in an old LI Gold Coast Mansion which makes the facility and grounds absolutely gorgeous. The art that is exhibited is from local artisans for the most part and is generally not my cup of tea. As far I know there is no permanent exhibit, and the facility is often used by local residents for private functions so much of the grounds and such are off limits.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nassau County Museum of Art also viewed

 
Centerport, Long Island
Old Westbury, Long Island
 

Been to Nassau County Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing