We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted and more............”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1850 House Inn & Tavern
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosendale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our second "weekend" away and now we know where we will be returning again and again. You see we always say we are going to "come back" for another weekend but never do. This time we did go back for our second weekend and already booked our third. We have come to enjoy the location and atmosphere of the 1850 House. The owners and staff made each stay exceptional and comforting from the morning breakfast to the evening spirits and conversations. The room was beautiful and clean and inviting and quite peaceful. Something to look forward to again and again. Kudos!

Room Tip: So far both rooms we have stayed in have been the same; quite, clean and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

Thanks for leaving a review, Stacey. Always a pleasure having you here. Looking forward to seeing you again in July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 176 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly helpful owners, much preferable to staying in a chain. We visited several places of interest nearby, including Olana, Dia:Beacon, Storm King, Woodstock and Minnewaska State Park. We also did some cycling -- we headed over the ridge to 6A and the climb to Mohonk, and had 1600 vertical feet of ascent in the first eight miles. The roads are quiet and beautiful, as long as you stay off a couple of busy thoroughfares. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Thanks for highly recommending us in your review, Paul!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The foundation has been established, the time has arrived. The words are written, the ring is in hand. In your mind, you envision how it’s going to happen — moment by precious moment. Yet, the question lingers: Where to actually stay when you’re going to ask the person you love to spend the rest of your life with you? The 1850 House Inn & Tavern wasn’t simply “great” or “awesome” or any of those colorful descriptors — it was the “perfect” setting to begin the next chapter of our life journey.

Due to the time of year (i.e., the height of the foliage season in Ulster County), the question of “where” went unanswered for up to one week before the main event. With one room vacant (a suite, nonetheless!), Amy (innkeeper) and Mike (owner) were beyond accommodating, taking hospitality to the next level. Champagne, flowers, and, wouldn’t you know it — Mike chauffeured us up to the trestle that now serves as part of the Rail Trail for a gorgeous morning view over the Roundout before we set out on our big day. And attention all foodies — please take note: Breakfast was homemade, satisfying, and DELICIOUS!

And the inn itself? Full of that mid-1800s charm and character — the sense of antiquity and the historical element were well-preserved through the artifacts from the building’s history that adorned every room in the common area. Our suite was a charming and incredibly comfortable combination of old and new — if it was a bad-weather weekend, we would have been perfectly happy just hanging out in the room…and most likely downstairs in the beautifully preserved tavern (that had some great local craft beers on tap!). An after-hours drink with the owner and innkeeper made our stay all the more intimate and “homey”, which showed their interest in getting to know their guests on a more personal level.

Avid outdoors people that we are, this engagement could only happen at the location of our first hike (five years earlier) out on the Millbrook Range. So to make the day even more memorable, I purchased the “Picnic In The Park” package — Amy had a fully-loaded picnic backpack ready for me in the morning (which I surreptitiously hid in my car!) and we went on our merry way. After our assent to the top of the mountain, words were said and tears were shed. And when all was said and done, the perfect day became part of a priceless chapter in our life story.

Needless to say, the weekend could never have been what it was had it not been for the care, attention, and hospitality that Mike and Amy provided. Their personable, approachable warmth and kindness were felt, as was their willingness to support my efforts to “make it all happen”. In an ocean of mediocre B&Bs, our experience in Rosendale on that momentous weekend set a new precedent for us. Now that the 1850 House is part of our life story, we look forward to many more happy returns — not necessarily to repeat history, but to make new memories that write new chapters in our life book.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband, son and I had a few days away in the Hudson River Valley and spent two nights at The 1850 House. It was a lovely experience. The Hotel has been beautifully renovated with both flair and affection. Everywhere is clean, neat and tidy. The bathroom was well equipped and we had a refrigerator in our room which was very useful. The staff were all friendly, polite and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and well presented. The bar and lounge is warm and friendly and there are board games for anyone who's interested. If we're ever in the area again we would certainly stay at The 1850 House and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main street and traffic could be a little noisy at night. However, this in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great stay 0 nice people, AND we had big mis understanding, came back to htoel to find all our stuff packed up - they only had two nights and we thought three.....probably our fault but they handled it really well.....would reccommned this place in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: top floor seemed very quiet to us....liked the view to river too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bozo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We wanted to stay in a place with history and personality, in easy reach of Woodstock, Rhinebeck and New Paltz to enjoy both the Catskills and Shawangunk Mountains. Rosendale was just the town, and The 1850 House on Main Street was just the place. Beautifully tended and furnished, photos of the town's history dressing the walls, a cozy tavern where we met with staff and locals before and after strolling a few blocks of shops to pick among good restaurants. Spacious sitting room with period pieces, sun room overlooking the lawn down to the river, full and superb breakfast. Owner, innkeeper, bar maid and receiving host all friendly and helpful. Hiked the rail trail that goes through mountains, by lakes and over the river on a walking trestle. Hope to be back next year when owner Mike promised a big deck on the lawn by the river!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great and comfortable but if you're there on a Monday morning, you might op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Rosendale is a small township in the Catskills. 1850 is a restored hotel and tavern on Main Street. This 200 plus year old building has been tastefully redone with modern amenities. The bar is small, intimate, and can mix all your drinks. The wine selection is adequate with several selections from small boutique wineries. Two separate sitting areas off the bar allow for an intimate quiet place to admire the gardens outside. I did not take breakfast so I can't comment. If you need a place to stay, this is the spot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosendale
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
10 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
333 reviews
17 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
10.5 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1850 House Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1850 House Inn & Tavern

Address: 435 Main Street, PO Box 33, Rosendale, NY 12472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Rosendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosendale
Price Range: $215 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1850 House Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated historic hotel on the Rondout. The property features 11 guest rooms, a waterfront deck that serves fresh homemade food, many gluten free options are available daily. Our tavern boasts craft beers and signature cocktails. Cocktail favorites include house made red and white sangria with fresh fruit, thai chili margaritas and a garden mojito whose mint is picked on the property. We are located in Rosendale, N.Y. a town where you can park your car and walk to shops, dining, coffee, entertainment swimming and hiking. Check our promotions pages for our recent accommodations specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 1850 House Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing