We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Everything is better in Rosendale"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1850 House Inn & Tavern
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosendale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“"Everything is better in Rosendale"”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We escaped Hurricane Sandy and ran away to Rosendale for the weekend. After doing a vast search on tripadvisor, we decided upon 1850s house. Immediately impressed by the glowing reviews and backed by the candid photos, it seemed like a no brainer.

We checked in and immediately loved the place! It had the old world charm you look for in a B&B yet modern renovations in rooms and more importantly bathrooms gave it a clean and comfortable feel. When we were not walking around town, we were parked at the bar enjoying some cocktails with Joe and Mike and Kristen.

Overall, great time and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkcitytraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
98
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

From the moment we checked in, we could tell this place was wonderful! The 1850 House takes the word "hospitality" to a whole new level. We were there for our one year anniversary and Mike and Amy and the entire staff made us feel special.

The entire Inn was super clean and their attention to detail can be noticed throughout. The homemade breakfasts were delicious with several areas to eat and either enjoy a view of the town or of the river. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate were available anytime. My husband enjoyed the flat screen TV in our room that turned towards the bed and the comfy bath robes provided were a really nice touch. The artwork of the old photos of Rosendale seen throughout the hotel is a really great decorating idea and added to the "historic" feel of the building.

We enjoyed reading in the lounge area and Mike (the manager) made me a delicious hot apple cider w/ buttered rum to sip by the fire on a rainy day - it was perfect! Another lovely surprise was when we came back from dinner the night of our anniversary and there was a bottle of bubbly on ice w/ two glasses waiting in our room with a note from the staff wishing us a Happy Anniversary!

We would highly recommend the 1850 House and Tavern for a great getaway experience! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyO902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
It was a pleasure! Happy Anniversary again and we look forward to celebrating future milestones with you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

From check in to check out the staff was attentive and always seemed to have our interests, comfort and relaxing fun in mind. The Tavern in the Inn is warm and inviting where the owners Mike and Kristen often hold court in the evening before wandering off to one of several excellent eateries in town (suggest the Red Brick Tavern if you are a first timer to the area like us). We have stayed in a number of inns and B&Bs and many are overly appointed or somewhat formal. The 1850 Inn/Tavern is so comfortable made so by the staff and the ambiance. We had a great time, met some locals in the Tavern over a beer and glass of wine, and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdsepic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind thoughts! We loved having you here as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were all up in Rosendale for a wedding on September 22 and were so lucky to have stayed at the i850 House Inn. The whole inn was booked with wedding guests. We all agreed that it would be hard to find a nicer inn than this one anywhere. The hospitality is superior, starting with a warm welcome and attention to detail. Nothing was too much trouble. Great bar ambiance with bartender Joe (with an upscale "Cheers on the Hudson" vibe), lovely large lounge with gas fireplace, charming rooms. Super breakfast with special egg dishes, wonderful homemade pastries and bread, fruit compote. Everything here is top of the line, from the staff to the lounges o the rooms. And the gracious owner Michael clearly want his guests to enjoy being in his lovely inn. Rooms are well-appointed, bright and cheerful, many overlooking the river. Comfortable beds. Modern bathroom with bathrobes provided. There are a number of large old photos of the inn and the area here and there, which add immeasurably to the experience. If you are going to be in the area and are looking for a lovely place to stay, this, in my view, is the top choice. If you are looking for a weekend escape destination, this would be excellent. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtis333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed it and the wonderful wedding weekend! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We wanted to go up to Mohonk Mountain for the weekend and experience New Paltz for a nice getaway from the city. The other B&B's in the area were already booked so one of them recommended the 1850 House Inn. It was SO NICE- totally renovated, had a nice big room to sit, relax, and have coffee in any time, a fully stocked bar that always had people in it with beers on tap and a nice breakfast both mornings. The rooms were clean, modern, had an ipod dock/clock, and a really nice clean bathroom. The location was great. 5 minute drive right down the road to New Paltz and about a 10-15 minute drive to Mohonk Preserve. Definitely would recommend this to anyone who wants to get away and relax for a few nights! Plus the owners were super friendly!

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on the website! All are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYGirl721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We're so glad you found us as well! We look forward to another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend in July and the only thing nicer than the 1850 house was the staff. Everyone was courteous and friendly and really went the extra mile. The rooms were beautifully appointed and comfortable with every modern amenity you could ask for. I will definitely be returning. BTW, the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind thoughts! We love our guests and of course, we love breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a lovely time during our stay here. This quaint and quiet hotel has been lovingly restored by the owners to capture a historic feel with touches of Americana throughout. The first floor, which is occupied by a cosy tavern/bar, large common areas and a breakfast nook with sunny morning views of the river, provides guests with ample space to lounge and dine before starting the day. The rooms are updated, clean and comfortable, and the bathrooms have been outfitted in subway tile and hex tile in keeping with the overall feel of the hotel. Michael, Kristen and Amy were wonderful hosts, offering tips on seeing the area, paying special attention to our kids' breakfast needs, and taking the time to show us photographs of the area and how the town has changed over the years (each room features photographic posters from the last hundred years and showcases street scenes, architectural landmarks or local attractions). A great place whether you are stopping for the night or staying for a while. Located a short 10 minute drive from New Paltz, the 1850 House offers a quiet stay in a unique property away from the bustle of the university. Our 8 year old enjoyed it so much he decided to write a review too (below).

Kids' review:

I loved my 6 night stay at the 1850 House. Our hosts, Michael, Kristen and Amy, were very friendly like when they made a special breakfast for us every morning and when Amy made us a nice cake dessert as a surprise. The pancakes and waffles we had for breakfast were scrumptious. The hosts made it feel like I was staying in my own house. There were lots of big photographs of the area from the past. The room was very comfortable and spacious with lots of comfortable chairs and a comfy bed. I loved the cool refreshing drinks of water that were waiting for me when I got there. Also, the television was pointing down at the bed so I could watch TV when trying to get to sleep at the same time!

When it was time to leave I complained forever and I hope I can go back soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChippyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosendale
9.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
13.9 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
10.1 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1850 House Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1850 House Inn & Tavern

Property: 1850 House Inn & Tavern
Address: 435 Main Street, PO Box 33, Rosendale, NY 12472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Rosendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1850 House Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated historic hotel on the Rondout. The property features 11 guest rooms, a waterfront deck that serves fresh homemade food, many gluten free options are available daily. Our tavern boasts craft beers and signature cocktails. Cocktail favorites include house made red and white sangria with fresh fruit, thai chili margaritas and a garden mojito whose mint is picked on the property. We are located in Rosendale, N.Y. a town where you can park your car and walk to shops, dining, coffee, entertainment swimming and hiking. Check our promotions pages for our recent accommodations specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Expedia so you can book your 1850 House Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing