We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent shuttle service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ronkonkoma
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent shuttle service”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

There is not much noteworthy about the hotel, the rooms are ok. But what worked really well is their shuttle service to the Islip airport and to the Ronkonkoma train station. It makes traveling into New York so much easier. Parking was also free. The front desk staff was nice, got me free cold breakfast after enrolling me in their Choice program. For a business traveler, I didn't really notice if anything else was wrong with the hotel amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    35
    47
    94
See reviews for
76
32
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here this weekend and the place was awful - damp moldy smell everywhere - the rooms were dark and smelled - our first room had a broken toilet - there was a pool that was empty and looked like a bad movie set - with people hanging out in the courtyard smoking pot!
Just awful - do not stay here
I tried to go to the website and hit the button "comment on a stay" and all it does is route you to a way to reserve another stay.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janiedelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ronkonkoma hotels

Duxbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I just came back from a 2 night stay at the Clarion and was horrified. This hotel is absolutely disgusting and when I went to the front desk to complain..... all the person could say is "I am so sorry we are shorthanded in the housekeeping department". No wonder this hotel has difficulty keeping staff. I will never stay at a Clarion again after this experience. The hotel was dark, musty, smelly, filthy, and noisy. The sheets were like sleeping on fine sandpaper, bathrooms had no ventilation, toilets did not flush properly. Ice maker did not work....My son had major problems with his asthma (allergic to dust mites and roaches).
I came home and literally left my suitcases outside.....shaking out my clothes before they went to our washroom. This was one of the worse hotels I have ever stayed at in my life! I would have rather camped outside.... The Clarion Hotel should be ashamed of themselves... Kara H

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baseballmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The room was horrible, not clean and the window was broke. Not somewhere I wanted to stay with our 2 children after a family party. We went down to complain and they wouldn't refund our money. We were better off staying with relatives cramped in one bedroom !! Will never stay there again, even though our family lives nearby!!! Don't waste your money!!! NEVER will stay there ever!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TessD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I am and Engineer and do work at independent test labs near MacArthur Airport. My employer had me staying at the Hilton during my first trip in March. I checked out one day and realized I had to stay a day longer. I could not get back in the Hilton. I looked around and called the Clarion and they said "come on over... when you are done .... we have over 200 rooms". I was working late and didn't get there til about ten that evening. It was too late to have dinner in the restaurant part so I joined the bar area. Mary Ann in there is so friendly and let me order anything on the menu right at the bar. She is the kind of employee who smiles and learns the names of the repeat customers. She makes you feel at home there and the food is really great for a Hotel! The bar is beautiful and clean with karioki on Tuesday evenings. I only eat at the bar now! It is obvious some people are there every week and share their lives with Mary Ann. I can hear her talking to a customer about their last trip to see their daughter ...... etc. When I told the lady at the counter Ashley, about coming over from the Hilton and really liking it at the Claarion, she gave me Choice Preferred status and is just a sweet heart of a young lady. After coming back the next trip, I met Bobbi Cute upstairs on the mezzanine...with drinks and vegetables and dip, chips and some nights a hot dish. Bobbi is a natural host and I keep telling her she is spoiling me by picking up after me. Bobbi knows the return customers by name and is part of the reason the Hotel is like a home away from Home. Bobbi will talk to everyone about their problems and family etc. It is a like a little family over there at the Clarion.

I told all three ladies why I ended up at the Clarion on my first trip. It is the warmth and sweetness of Ashley, Bobbi and Mary Anne that keeps me coming back! Prices are great and I feel like a "king" there. In the morning the continental breakfast is free .... and Bob serves you coffee in the restaurant with promptness as though you are paying handsomely for breakfast... he and Victoria greet you and make sure you are happy with the morning's first meal.

Some times something unfortunate happens in our lives and we find a better path.... I found it at the Clarion and now will only stay there when I have to do business in this area.

Room Tip: I like sleeping upstairs on the second floor but there is some weakness with the Wi Fi up there.. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very much overpriced for what you get. Other than a pretty lobby, this was more like a very basic motel with minimal amenities.

The corridor was noisy, and with the thin walls, the noise from the corridor reverberated through the room all night. Bathroom was tiny, pillows were rock-hard. The thin walls and the noise in corridor all night made it impossible to sleep. The day of our stay, they ran out of coffee for the room and had none at the front desk either - annoying.

On the positive side, room was clean, and hotel is close to airport and highway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentravelertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Thank you Victoria and Sandy for the great job of getting food/beverages for 5 baseball players and their parents in a short time period so they could get back to their next game. This was also done when the computers were down.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronkonkoma
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Islandia
5.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 3845 Veterans Memorial Hwy, Ronkonkoma, NY 11779-7643 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Ronkonkoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ronkonkoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Long Island-Islip Airport Hotel Ronkonkoma
Holiday Inn Ronkonkoma
Ronkonkoma Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing