We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HGI locations seem to be the most similar of all brands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ronkonkoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

It seems that Hilton Garden Inns have the least variances of the major hotel brands (perhaps Hampton Inns is close, though they have been more varied as to room quality than HGI). I've been to a dozen or so, and they all seem about the same with the exception of (a) whether they have just the in-house restaurant that also serves breakfast off the lobby (most) or a connected restaurant as well (some, including two in my area that have sports bars) and (b) whether they have pools/spas (most do). Staff is usually (with one memorable exception, *not* here) quite good. Rooms are clean, with microwave and fridge, beds are comfy, wifi is solid, sundries are available. Breakfast is not free; a buffet is available, usually with omelettes and some other items from the grill, fruits and pastries.

This HGI was right in the brand norm -- unremarkable, very clean, professional staff. Unremarkable, but recommended. (P.S. Slight point off for an apparent new policy to have two grades of wifi speed, one free and one paid -- though oddly enough my Ipad is AT&T, which is HGI's carrier, and on my Ipad I seemed to get the full speed when I connected to the free version.)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deejub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 854 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent service. Great place to stay and relax. I had no problems. Everyone was very nice and helpful and went out of their way for us. I would stay at this hotel again. It is convient to the airport and other services is the area as well as other stores. This hotel is located near major highways that can you anywhere in cluding NYC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

First let me say that this hotel has a special place in our hearts. It was where we stayed when our daughter, who was being recruited by Dowling College for volleyball, was brought to campus for her official visit. Needless to stay, she felt Dowling was the place for her so in addition to that first stay, we have enjoyed this hotel over 14 times over the past 4 years, including this past weekend for graduation! The staff is awesome and always made us feel welcome. Tim in particular would go out of his way to "remember" us from our previous visit! The lobby area/restaurant is meticulously clean and the rooms are very quite and comfy. The bartenders are excellent and very friendly. There are other choices very nearby but we would not stay anywhere else. I can't say for certain if we will ever be back on Long Island but rest assured if we are, we will be staying at the Hilton Garden Islip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeymutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had read some negative comments before booking this hotel but we decided to anyway for a wedding we had on Long Island. Let me first say that those negative comments couldn't be anymore wrong! This place was very clean, workers were polite and helpful and overall this is one of our better stays at a hotel we never stayed at. I also have to add that while I am a little more easy going my wife is not, if it was not up to par she would have been very critical.

It was a great stay and we will be back when visting family,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBucks570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a friends wedding. Staff very friendly and accommodating and couldn't do enough for us. Rooms a good size and fine for our needs. Bar drinks good value but choice limited (if you come here to celebrate bring your own champagne) but otherwise a convenient and nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reallypickytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed for several weeks and I was comfortable. The room was nice and very clean! The mattress was an adjustable mattress for comfort. The breakfast was great and the breakfast wait staff was superb. The wait staff cared about your breakfast and that you were happy with it. Bottomless cup of coffee is always great!! Never had room service but its available.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advisingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

looked for a local hotel to celebrate our 24 anniversary, the Hilton was reasonably priced, excellent accomodations, highly trained and helpful staff, friendly courteous service and excellent in house bar/restaurant. This particular location has competitive pricing and is superior in all regards to its competition.Will definitely go there again, and highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a weekend away or rquiring accomodations near the airport

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronkonkoma
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
913 reviews
2 mi away
Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Islandia
2.8 mi away
Jake's 58 Hotel & Casino
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport

Address: 3485 Veterans Memorial Hwy, Ronkonkoma, NY 11779-7629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Ronkonkoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ronkonkoma
Price Range: $108 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Hilton Garden Inn Islip MacArthur Airport hotel is just half mile from MacArthur Airport and in the heart of the Ronkonkoma, Bohemia and Western Suffolk business districts of New York. Our Islip hotel offers a complimentary airport shuttle, state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor swimming pool, and 24-hour business center. Relax and unwind from the day's events in the Pavilion Lounge. The onsite Great American Grill(R) features cooked-to-order full American breakfast buffet daily and a relaxed dinner menu nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Islip Macarthur Airport Hotel Ronkonkoma
Ronkonkoma Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Ronkonkoma
Hilton Ronkonkoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing