We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel and value for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ronkonkoma
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Solid hotel and value for the area”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Clean, large rooms, nice lobby, and dinner options in the parking lot of the hotel which is convenient. Only item...if you have verizon service, the service is VERY spotty in the lobby. Seems fine in the rooms. Otherwise, no issues to mention.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myexperiencematters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
To Myexperiencematt...,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a responce on TripAdvisor. Our goal is to make sure that everyone has a memorable stay and overall, it looks as though we had succeeded in making this happen for you. We look forward to having you back as our guest and if there is anything I can to assist you in booking your next stay, please call me at the property directly and I will assist you personally.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    91
    23
    7
    12
See reviews for
69
40
15
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night in August. At 9, we went to put our child to bed and found a half smoked joint and rolling papers in the bed. We called the front desk and they moved us to another room. It was a suite. It was late, and out child was confused and tired - so we moved. The front desk also offered us free breakfast at the Starbucks/takeout place in the lobby in the morning.

We did not call the police, but we did ask to speak to the manager in the morning. The asst manager wouldn't even apologize and they didn't take anything off our bill. We wrote to corporate Marriott and the referred us to the manager of this property. We wrote to the manager and he never responded. Luckily, corporate Marriott was following this too - and they forced him to respond to us. We just wanted a refund. We weren't looking for extra compensation...nothing. He said no because we ate the breakfast and moved to another room. That was our compensation. oh, and 5000 marriott points to stay quiet. He said because we moved to the larger room and ate the breakfast in the faux Starbucks - that was it.

I should have called the Suffolk county police at that point and had the hotel investigated because I bet this isn't a one time thing. It is disgusting that they didn't change the bed sheets and that we had to explain this to a young child.

I will NEVER stay in another Marriott or Courtyard. For $169 - Marriott should have just refunded the money. My child got a quick lesson and we stayed in a filthy hotel with staff that isn't doing their job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickymom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Pickymom66,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for expressing your concerns with us. We sincerely regret any inconveniences you experienced due to the cleanliness of the accommodations you were given. We do have an ongoing inspection process to continually re-energize and re-inspect our rooms for quality concerns. We apologize this had not been reflected in the room you received. We do feel that an upgrade to our largest suite, breakfast for 5 and 5000 Marriott Reward points were more value than the cost of the room itself. We hope that you will give us a chance in the future to show you what a wonderful property this is. If you do, please contact me personally to assist with the arrangements and I will make sure your stay becomes a special memory.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro

To All Reading this Review and responce. As a Hospitality Professional for over 20 years, I have worked in many properties from 3 star to 5 star. Our room attendants and supervisors work extrememly hard as did all the other housekeeping staff members I've worked with in the past. I did a search on TripAdvisor and there are over 100 pages of reviews from NY to California (Covering all Brands - Hilton, Hyatt, Sheraton, and several upscale Vegas Properties) of hotels that have found illegial substances in the rooms. It is hard not to want to judge a property harshly when something like this happens (especially when children are involved) but it did happen here and we accept the responsibility but be assured, we recieve hundreds of surveys a year and our Courtyard is in the top percent of all Courtyards for Overall Satisfaction. We acted and responded swiftly and we did it with a smile!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I do a lot of traveling for business, and I'm accustomed to pleasant, though impersonal service, whether at a chain hotel or a luxury resort for vacation. What really surprised me and stuck with me about my stay at the Courtyard in Ronkonkoma was I felt I was getting the service of a luxury resort at a chain hotel.

Every interaction I had with a staff member began and ended with them using my name, they always went over and above to ensure I had what I needed, including shuttle service to work in the morning and from and to transportation on arrival and departure. You can tell whoever is managing this property truly values a personal touch, and it shows.

My only complaint is one that is consistent throughout Courtyards, which is that their food offerings lack vegetarian options.

But this property is far and away the most welcoming of any chain hotel I have stayed at. Felt most welcomed and taken care of, can't say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneNerdyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
To OneNerdyTraveler,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to share this review with the staff. I will also present this to our Food and Beverage Manager so that we may be able to assist travelers with special dietary needs. If you are ever in the area again and needs assistance, please contact me at the hotel directly and I will personally assist. Again, we thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott in Ronkonkoma, NY.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent place to stay Great employees make you feel like home Starbuck's in lobby

Quick service for breakfast and dinner. 2 other restaurants within walking distance

The staff will assist with any problems that might occur Nice and clean Bus transportation to New York City available from the hotel

Room Tip: Great people that make you feel at home. Nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Richard B,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a wonderful review on TripAdvisor for the Courtyard by Marriott in Ronkonkoma, NY. We are glad your stay was relaxing as well as productive and our F&B selections met your needs. I see you also took advantage of the 7 Bus which is a feature that assists guests going into the City. Just another added benefit in addition to the Long Island Rail Road. We look forward to seeing you in the future and if there is anything I can do to assist with future stays, please call me at the hotel and I will assist you personally.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am a corporate traveller, and I stayed at this hotel for 13 nights. Brian one of the managers was extremely helpful and kind to me. There was a mix up with my registration and he went out of his way to fix things up and I had an absolutely lovely stay. Front desk folks as well as market / starbucks staff are very helpful and friendly. I will gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Catherine G,
Thank you so much for writing such a wonerful review on TripAdvisor. I was glad to assist in sorting out your reservtion. I hope that if you are ever traveling to this area again, you will call me directly and I will personally assist in helping with your reservations. I will be sure to share your review with the staff. For all reading this review, I just want to inform you we have suites available for long term stays and don't forget to check with our Sales Department about Corporate Rates for National or Local businesses. Thanks again Cathering G.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I usually don't stay in airport hotels but this one I enjoyed. First day I lost credit card and the staff recovered it and called me. I rented a car they picked me up from airport after i dropped it off. The restaurants in vicinity were 2 minute walk. I will definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear M A,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed yourself during your stay and that we were able to accomodate your needs. As you mentioned we have a shuttle to the Airport and Rental Car area as well as the Train Station. Just as a reminder, we operate the shuttle daily from 7am - 10:45pm so make sure to plan accordingly when booking your flight. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott in Ronkonkoma, NY. If you ever need assistance booking, please call me at the hotel directly.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard. The property is quiet and clean, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a Starbucks bistro in the lobby offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. The prices are a little high, but the breakfast we had was hot and fresh. There is a Red Lobster and Smokey Bones in the same parking lot for alternative dining. According to the computer map they have on the wall in the lobby, there didn’t seem to be much else for dining choices in the area. We used the hotel pool and hot tub. Both were very clean and just the right temperature. The hotel is located just off 495 which makes it convenient for travel, but it is quite far away from the wine trail and other tourist areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel02886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Travel02886,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Courtyard by Marriott in Ronkonkona, NY. It looks as though your overall stay was plesent. I hope that when you were looking for restaurants and wine tours, you had come to the front desk. We have a wonderful restaurant list with an assortment of food in the local area. We are also conviently located 5 blocks from the Long Island Rail Road and only 4 Miles to Long Island MacArthur Airport making this an easily accessible destination. Right now is a great time to visit as the holiday season is right aroung the corner. Local fruit stands, orchards and farms are ready with fresh baked goods, apple picking, fresh cider and pumpkin patches. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Brian J. Mauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronkonkoma
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
805 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Holtsville
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Islandia
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport

Property: Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport
Address: 5000 Express Dr S, Ronkonkoma, NY 11779-5551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Ronkonkoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ronkonkoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Long Island Hotel is centrally located between the Long Island Expressway and the MacArthur Airport, offering complimentary airport shuttle service, hotel-wide WiFi, and parking. Our hotel offers large rooms that feature a sleeper sofa, work space with writing desk, a mini fridge and microwave, and plush bedding as well as spacious suites with separate living and sleeping spaces, fully equipped kitchens, whirlpool tubs, and a dining area that is ideal for traveling families or groups. This MacArthur Airport hotel in Long Island offers modern conveniences such as a heated indoor pool, a 24-hour business center, onsite fitness studio, an onsite restaurant and bar, and over 6,000 sq. ft. of flexible event space to host business or social occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Long Island Macarthur Airport Hotel Ronkonkoma
Courtyard Hotel Ronkonkoma
Courtyard Ronkonkoma
Ronkonkoma Marriott
Ronkonkoma Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing