We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty little spot”

Knapp Vineyard Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Romulus
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nalcrest, Florida
Level Contributor
263 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“pretty little spot”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We did a little wine tasting in the finger lakes & had read the reviews of Knapp on TA.
So this is where we stopped for lunch. the wine is pretty good but the restaurant is the
reason for stopping here. The food is very good. Just love the vineyard & the cats.
We will stop here next time we're in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathryn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    26
    3
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I attended a 40th anniversary celebration party at Knapp Restaurant last Saturday and the food prepared by the restaurant's chef was exceptional - everything from oysters rockefeller and white truffle mac and cheese to duck arancini and coconut shrimp with pina colada dipping sauce was the best. The food was fresh, creative, delicious and presented beautifully. Kudos to chef John McNabb!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loretta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvenuti, General Manager at Knapp Vineyard Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We consider it a feather in Knapp's cap that you chose our vineyard restaurant, led by Chef John McNabb, as the place to celebrate your anniversary. Congratulations! We wish you both the very best and many more beautiful anniversaries to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Party”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We celebrated an anniversary at Knapp Vineyard Restaurant and Chef John McNabb knocked it out of the park! We were a well traveled group of 36 and from the comments and conversation, it was one of the best culinary experiences on the planet. Two guests ranked it better than their visit to Paul Bocuse's restaurant in Lyon, France another shared that the oysters Rockefeller could compete anywhere and come out the best. If you are serious about food this guy is a rock star. The shrimp with piña colada sauce, duck arancini and beef un-wellingtons, with open face puff pastry, blue cheese mouse and balsamic drizzle were flawlessly created and presented. Add a flaming bananas foster and you can sure wow a crowd. We have attended wine dinners at this venue and it is consistently outstanding. One of our favorite destinations and we cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you Chef John!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finglerlakes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finger lakes NY
Level Contributor
297 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Knapp's Tasting Dinners are worth the effort to get an invite”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Knapp's Vineyard Restaurant is an excellent venue: Good wine, good food, nice casual atmosphere overlooking Cayuga Lake. They serve a lunch and dinner menu most of the time they are open, all are good. I'll be discussing their monthly Tasting Dinners.

The restaurant will serve a special event meal once a month. Each dinner is composed to showcase both different cuisines and different wines. The affair is Menu & Price Fixed, and will last close to four hours. They all start with Knapp's 'champagne' (my friends in Burgundy will have to accept my lower case use of their OFFICIAL NAME) served in one of the tasting sheds.

The group adjourns to the restaurant (which is closed to the public for the evening) to start what is usually a four or five course delight. Each course is served with two wines selected for the course, a red and a white. While refills are offered, the wise diner knows to limit intake. This is not an evening for rookies!

Menus are composed with seasonal and local items in mind. Service is professional and attentive without being overpowering. If you go, you'll find that most tables are occupied by groups who make monthly visits.

I recommend this for people who can dedicate a weekend to good food, as you don't want to have to travel far once the dinner is concluded, near 11PM. Reservations are a MUST, likely you'll go onto a waiting list many months long.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chasinUpstateNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bravo”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Chef John is extraordinary. It's incredible how nice this restaurant is! Open for lunch and special events, the food really rocks. Chef John was trained in Paris and it really shows. The food is so delicious. It's also very affordable. Wine by the glass or the bottle is fairly priced -- you pay about what you'd pay at the winery next door which is nice. The ambiance is warm and friendly, dining inside or out is very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knapp Vineyard Restaurant also viewed

 
Ovid, Finger Lakes
Aurora, Finger Lakes
 
Aurora, Finger Lakes
Interlaken, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Knapp Vineyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing