We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Nights at Sampson”
Review of Sampson State Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Romulus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sampson State Park
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent 6 nights here from July 29-Aug 3. The park itself is beautiful with sweeping views of Seneca Lake. We stayed in Loop 5 which was the closest to the water. We had some trouble backing our 5th wheel in because of low hanging branches. But the park personnel were very helpful about removing some branches to help us. Recommend you book site 222 if you actually want a view of the water. There's a gap in the trees at this site that lets you see the lake and sunset. At our site (234) you just had to walk down a small hill to be lakeside. Very scenic, and pretty private. I swam every morning, and felt like I had the lake to myself. Sampson is a good jumping off point to tour the wineries, Watkins Glen, etc. But make sure you have all your supplies - the convenience store in the park is a joke and there are no stores close by.
There's also a marina in the park - but no facilities such as kayak or jetski rental - a little disappointing.
Overall I would recommend this campground

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
6  Thank TnBound01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Sampson State Park is a great place to camp. The park offers electricity on alot of sites and water is readily available. They have paved roads/trails for biking and the lake for a swim. They also have playgrounds for the children and a small store for some convenience items. This park is within a short drive to Watkins Glen, which is an absolutely beautiful park to hike. You do not have to pay to visit Watkin's Glen if you display your camping pass.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank balaczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We recently visited this park while visiting a winery that was in the nearby area. It was a pleasant surprise. It is a NYS state park and they charge a $7 daily fee. (On the plus side; you can visit any other NYS park in the same day and get in free) First of all they have a museum which turned out to be very interesting...it was a tribute to honor the vets of vietnam/korean and the world wars. The first thing you notice is two life size planes outside the museum. Once you enter you are taken through a series of buildings with various exhibits including a military jail. They ask for a donation; otherwise, there is no charge to enter. THis is handicapped accesible and all flat as far as the surface. Once your done there; head outside to one of the many hiking paths. Some go right near the lake and you can catch glimpses of the lake at different points during your hike and even take a rest on benches that are provided along the way. There is a small marina there where you can head down and get a good view of the lake as well as the boats docked there. We seen people biking, hiking, and rollerskating on the various trails. The one we took was a flat trail so I cant comment on the difficulty or terrain of the other trails in the park. We did not get to see the campground as our hike turned out to be rather long. Its definitely family friendly, couples friendly, or solo will not be any problem. I did not see any food for sale...but there might be somewhere in the park. YOu could push a stroller or even a wheelchair for that matter on the trail that we took near the lake....Great place and worth the visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank geminigirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I picked this campground because my friends prefer "car camping" (they want bathrooms and showers) and we wanted to kayak. The campground is on Seneca Lake, closer to the northern end. We could have launched the kayaks at the campground but it looked a bit choppy so we brought them to the canal instead - this campground location was close enough to the northern end that the drive was not too far.
The campground itself has 5 loops plus cabins and a big open field with few trees. There were mostly RVs there but definitely some tents as well. The bathroom/shower facility is in the center of each loop and there are fountains with spigots also scattered in the loop. There is a picnic table, a fire ring and an electrical outlet at each site. This was definitely not roughing it!! The sites were mostly a pretty good size and out of the 5 loops and all those sites, I think only 4 have a view of the lake unless you decide to take one of the big open sites in the field (where most sites have little or no shade and no electricity - I didn't care about no electricity when camping but shade is needed!!). There is also a concession store that sells the typical camp needs (ice, firewood, marshmallows) but they also have a snack bar. There is a playground, they rent bicycles, the beach was nice. Overall I definitely say this is a nice place. Expensive for a campsite ($21/night) but that was because of the electricity. I did not give it 5 stars because I would have liked a little more privacy between sites (trees or something - there was nothing separating sites within the loops, except for the RVs!) but it was definitely clean and well cared for and the staff were also very nice.

Room Tip: The premier camp sites (4 of them) that had the partial lake view were also more expensive - not sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WineLover0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Good spacious treed sites for any size RV. Nice trails down to the lakeside beach area. Good playgrounds for those with children

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Josselin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rikimiki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sampson State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampson State Park

Address: 6096 State Route 96a, Romulus, NY 14541-9730
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Romulus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Romulus
Number of rooms: 309

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing