We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New menu a disappointment”
Review of Churchills

Churchills
Reserve with OpenTable
Churchills is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lynbrook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New menu a disappointment”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We visit this restaurant frequently - every 2-3 weeks and last night we ran onto their new menu and new practices. The menu proces went up - a couple of dollars here and there. That's Ok, it's the way life is, but the restaurant also cut back on what they give you. Specifically, a salad no longer comes with the dinner specials (nor other full dinners). The menu indicates that a house salad is an additional $7.95 (this was free a couple of weeks ago!). The waitress, on the QT, after we looked flabbergasted, said that we could get a version of the house salad that didn't have bacon and was not on the menu, $4.95. We then queried as to whether we could have some bread. We were told that bread was now served only upon request. It is one thing to raise theprice, but it really seamed that they took too much away in additional to the raised price. If I am going to pay the new prices I am first going to explore what else is out there at that price point for a long time before I return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryC824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rockville centre NY
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Comfort food, pot roast, sauerbraten and a wide variety of specials. They also serve great hamburgers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food fair price”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Helpful staff and good food. Lunch specials are worth coming for best price in the area

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice place, greatb selection of spirits and beers but”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Food is OK... nothing special about it.

If you want fresh fish or food this is not the place, frozen food and bad service.

Very loud and hard to find parking.

I like to go during summer season because they have a nice patio where you can have some drinks.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcelonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food is Great, Service is Slow, Loud Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Food was great. Had their steak tidbits and really enjoyed it. Everyone else I dined with also enjoyed their food.

Their service was quite slow in delivering our food and drinks. I would say this is more a bar than a restaurant. The atmosphere is loud towards the evening times and happy hour.

I would recommend this place more for lunch rather than dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewt333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchills also viewed

Rockville Centre, Long Island
Rockville Centre, Long Island
 
Rockville Centre, Long Island
 

Been to Churchills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing