We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Everything”

Bigelow's New England Fried
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Douglaston, New York
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious Everything”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped by for lunch and everything was delicious. Even with all the frying, we had wonderful clams and fried fish. Great french fries. Will return to try the clam chowder and other things on the menu, Good job Bigelow's! Bad for your diet but good for your stomach!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noodlequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    54
    18
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fried clams to satisfy a New Englander”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was raised in Southern New England, not far from Ipswich, famous for the soft-shelled "steamer" or "belly" clams. Having tried this style of fried clams in many venues (I refuse to order the frozen variety or "clam strips"), Bigelows makes a pretty darned good fried clam, which is its signature item. There are many other fried (and non-fried) seafood items on the menu, but you want to come for the Ipswich fried clams (I also recommend the fried oysters). This is a super casual, counter service only restaurant where credit cards are not accepted (but there's an available ATM). This place is Zagat's rated and has been reviewed by the NY Times. It is an institution dating back to the 30's but has changed ownership several times. Notwithstanding, the dishes I am familiar with have not changed over the 25 years I have been eating here. If you've never had good New England fried clams, this is a place that will spoil you. If you are a fried clam lover, you probably already know about the legendary Bigelow's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HAD232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great leftover from long ago”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've lived in the area forever and passed by Bigelow's literally hundreds if not thousands of times. I always wanted to stop, but simply never did until today.

What a GREAT place leftover from the 1930's and not much has changed. Yes, there is only counter service and no credit cards, nothing fancy, but this is how it was when Bigelow's first opened in 1939 and this is what makes it a special kind of place.

I ordered the Manhattan Clam Chowder and I have to say it was one of the best I have ever had. I also had a shrimp sandwich which was done perfect. I miss ordered (my fault) and should have ordered it with a side of their homemade cole slaw. I was disappointed when I saw others with the cole slaw. Next time I'll order the cole slaw which should be real soon.

You can keep all of the fast food chain places, this is the place to go when in Rockville Centre New York ....... I cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gcloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“To Die For”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you are a FRIED clam lover like I am, theb this is the place for you.

It's really to die for. But beware this place has counter service only.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rainy day smile”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service on a rainy day. Everything fresh and made in front of you. Soup is unbelievable

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Msfong66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bigelow's New England Fried also viewed

Freeport, Long Island
Island Park, Long Island
 
Rockville Centre, Long Island
 

Been to Bigelow's New England Fried? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing