We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly folks - clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Knight Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rock Stream
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly folks - clean and comfortable”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but a nice place to get rest from a full day of sightseeing waterfalls. They also have the inn at Hector Falls so we were given permission to view it from their property. Nice perk. Would stay there again. Both locations are family run and they are very friendly. Enjoyed talking with them.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
It was our pleasure having you as our guests!! Thank-You for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Golden Knight is exactly what it is advertised. Economical and clean. Family owned and everyone was very pleasant. If you are looking for luxury then keep looking . but if you are looking for a place central to all Seneca Lake wineries for a great price then the Golden Knight is just what you are looking for. No frills but close and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank-You so much for choosing our facility for your one night stay. I would like to clarify that each of our rooms include at least one very comfortable king size bed, a refrigerator, a microwave, a coffeemaker, coffee & condiments, an iron & board, hairdryer, cable TV with HBO/ Cinemax, wired hi-speed internet as well as WI-FI.Though, our sheets are 250 thread count, I know we are not a luxury hotel, I have never said we were. But, no frills?? I think we should qualify for at least one frill. Thanks for staying with us, we appreciate your business!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massillon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Smelled, looked and felt clean. Gorgeous view. Close to restaurants, marina & Gorge park. Within easy biking distance of lots of wineries. Great rates; got a 'last minute' deal for $81 per night. Nice owners. The toilet paper was super thin and showers were either scalding or freezing, but other than that, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank-you for commenting on our view!! It really is quite beautiful, especially in the morning when the mist is coming off the lake. We are glad you were able to take advantage of the last minute special from goldenknightinn.com. It is an economical way to stay and still have some cash left for wine, cheese etc. We had just changed toilet paper supplier and this product is a bit thinner than our previous brand. We have taken this comment into consideration. I do wish you had mentioned the trouble with the shower during your stay. It is very important to let us know when you experience a problem, so, we have an opportunity to rectify it. Thanks so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First, let me say that if you are looking for a fancy room or lots of on property amenities, this won't be a good choice for you. If you are looking for a place convenient to stay when visiting the more than 60 wineries around Seneca lake, that is spotlessly clean and owned by wonderful welcoming people, this will be great for you! The building itself is old, and the motel style design is dated, but impeccably maintained. We booked last minute through booking.com and got the most expensive room (Intimate jacuzzi suite) small, but fine for a couple of nights, and again, spotlessly clean. The location is perfect, and the owners are happy to direct you to local restaurants that are reasonably priced with good food. We had a great stay!

Room Tip: call to get the best room at the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnl716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The room you chose is our smallest room only 192 square feet. It is located around the corner of the building, is more private and even has it's own parking space. The spa tub has 6 jets and 12 aeration jets, which combined with the rain style shower head, lends itself to a relaxing experience. not found in many dated older motel styles. The flat screen digital TV with music channels is an amenity only offered in this room. No, we do not have a restaurant or a pool.Our main focus is on clean, comfortable rooms. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Motel is clean, convenient, and comfortable. The owners are just lovely, helpful, and really added to our stay. It's a short, straight drive out of downtown Watkins Glen. I see this as a great home base if you are taking advantage of things to do around the area. There is a winery next door and also a restaurant/bar called Decoy up the road and within walking distance if you want. The bed was very comfortable, and I found the shower fine, though my travel companion mentioned that she had a challenge with maintaining temperature (she showered after me). The only things I found somewhat annoying and I'm not sure totally within their control but rather part of many motels, the walls aren't very thick so you can hear neighbors talking etc., the rooms are non-smoking, so people sit outside their rooms and smoke and it does waft into your room if this is next door and especially if you have your window open, the room felt and smelled a bit musty. There is a/c but since the weather was a bit cool, we preferred natural air. We had king sized beds and they were very comfortable.

Anyway, I slept great both nights so can't complain and I would stay there again as an option.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen5181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
These guests came during wine festival weekend. They obviously were hoping to find accommodations closer to the event. As it was, they took my last room which was a large king suite with a pull-out twin. Lucky for them, a double king opened up and we were able to move them into that room with no extra charge. They were wanting transportation to the event and the shuttle was not showing in a timely fashion, so, I made a few phone calls and was able to secure a taxi for them, which showed up right on schedule.We were also able to point them in the direction of a few good restaurants that satisfied their individual tastes. As it was a special event weekend, there seemed to be more smokers in residence than what is the norm. The particular room they stayed in was just newly painted and re-plastered this spring, I can't help but think the smell was more fresh paint than must. The room does have a window that you can actually open, as well as a fan and a/c of course. We are just trying to do our best to accommodate all of our guests whether they would prefer to be here or somewhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millerstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having stayed there and seeing all the good reviews, I think that you should all understand that this is a family run motel, with a great reputation. The reviews that are noted as "bad", look closely at their complaints. They didn't call when they knew they would be late, they didn't make any arrangements for a late arrival, they just went to the wedding and figured, we will arrive when we want. Any other hotel or motel would have done the same thing. Even those that have 24 hour desk service. You're late, we're changing you. Deal with it guys. No one needs your attitude. Play by the rules or suffer the consequences.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nstultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank-You so much for the vote of confidence!! We really appreciate when our guests recognize the level of care and work we put into our business and understand that there are limits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This motel is the classic motel but is extremely comfy. The family that operates the motel are just sweethearts and you can tell have a lot of pride in their establishment. We had checked in a couple days before our wedding which was held at Glenora Winery up the road. We were greeted by the owners daughter and she was extremely nice and accommodating. Our room was very clean, and comfy. The bed was just like being home with a nice handmade quilt, giving the room a homey touch. The bathroom was spotless! Which is hard to come by in many overnight accommodations. The first night we got an outstanding night sleep and woke up to a wonderful view on Seneca Lake, just breathtaking! The second day we were called and told by my husband's father that as a gift he paid for our night at Glenora because he thought we were checking in on Thursday. Of course now we felt horrible. We wanted to stay at Glenora with our other guests but really didn't want to impose to ask for a credit for the night we would be checking out. The owner was extremely understanding and credited back our night right there on the spot! Honestly we did not even expect that they would have done that for us, and would not have blamed them at all! It was very nice that they understood and just shows you have friendly and people orientated the people from the Finger Lakes really are. Thank you so much to the owners at the Golden Knight Inn, you are very sweet and will be seeing us soon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodcook1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We really appreciate when guests take the time to notice the little things we do, to make their experience here a memorable one. The morning view of the lake is really quite beautiful and we are so glad you were able to enjoy it! Hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Stream
2.2 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
94 reviews
16.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
16.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,179 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#9 of 9 in Watkins Glen
24 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Knight Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Knight Inn and Suites

Property: Golden Knight Inn and Suites
Address: 4461 State Route 14, Rock Stream, NY 14878-9607
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rock Stream
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rock Stream
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Knight Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Seneca Lake Wine Trail, this Rock Stream hotel features Wi-Fi access and rooms equipped with a microwave,refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & board. Watkins Glen Village is 5 miles away.Cable TV with HBO movie channel and tea and coffee-making facilities are available in each traditionally decorated room at Golden Knight Inn and Suites. Select rooms feature a sofa bed or spa tub.Family suites are available that accomodate up to 6 people.Guests can enjoy the picnic area that has barbecue facilities. Glenora Wine Cellars is a 4-minute drive from Golden Knight Inn and Watkins Glen State Park is 9 miles away.Make your stay in the Finger Lakes a "Golden Knight Stay!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Knight Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Knight Hotel Rock Stream
Golden Knight Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing