We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Stayed here 4 nights while visiting relatives. The property was not built as a CIS so it lacks some of the design elements of their newer properties. The rooms are smaller as well as the bath rooms. The lobby is much smaller. That said, the property is well maintained and the size was not a critical issue. Their breakfast is very good - hot and cold items offer decent variety. Location is central/South near many smaller local businesses and a community collage and also close to RIT and U of R. Entire property is very clean. Towels getting a bit thin and the bottom sheets don't fit their new pillow tops. Walking distance to a few national chain restaurants [Fridays}
]Bottom line: It's a value property which delivers.
PS: there are two CIS on the South side - this one is closer to the city on route 15A; the other is a few miles further south on route 15 and is a newer property which was built as a CIS.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THEPOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 552 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed here, in Oct for 2 nights, while visiting relatives. It was convenient to every thing, well maintained, clean, good complimentary expanded breakfast, and roomy. Especially enjoyed the homemade cookies, in the lobby each day!! Staff was very nice and helpful, too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRehbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dlcl, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

Thank you so much for the compliments. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for your future reservation with us. Thank you once again for giving us your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

i checked in after a long day's drive and was greeted with a smile and a cookie at check-in. They offered a favorable discount for a AAA or government employee traveler. it was a better rate than i expected and a very pleasant surprise. i was in town for a concert at University of Rochester, which was only 2 miles from the hotel. The hotel sports an italian steakhouse and a TGIF around its parking lot.

The bed was very very comfortable and made the sparse lighting in the room hardly noticeable. i knew i was going to sleep well that night. The shower provides simply adequate pressure and the bathroom and wash area are in two separate places. not terrible. the wifi was spotty but eventually usable. These are minor annoyances and not deal breakers.

the breakfast the next morning was decent though it was crowded by the breakfast bar when everyone converged on the area at the same time. I could hear people in the hallway milling about in the middle of the night. but again, the bed was so comfortable that even that was manageable.

I only ever asked for extra towels and they were provided in an instant with a smile. All in all a very pleasurable experience and i would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horacenhilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Our family stayed at this hotel during our summer vacation. It is about 5 minutes away from the National Museum of Play and about 15 minutes away from Seabreeze Amusement Park.
The hotel was clean and the staff was accomodating. Their is a TGIF's located in the same parking lot which is convenient for a quick meal.
For the price, you probably won't find a better hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadapeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This is not the fanciest place we stayed at but it is clean and the beds are comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is a great benefit and the food was very good. They served eggs, sausage, cereal, yogurt, hash browns, bagels, make-your-own-waffles and several kinds of juices in addition to the traditional coffee and tea. Our bathroom door was sticking when we first arrived and when we told the front desk, they had a friendly maintenance man come up right away to fix it. The pool area was nice but nothing extra special. The lobby is very small but cozy and the dining area is very nice as well but not fancy. The check-in staff were helpful but not what you would call extra friendly...more just professional and serious. No complaints about this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The hotel was very clean and the service was A + ! The front desk were great helping us out with any directions or other questions we had! Pool and hot tub were a definite bonus. Close to shopping and the highway but far enough so you did not hear the traffic...The breakfast was great with many different options to choose from. I will absolutly be staying there again on my travels. I was on business for 2 weeks and felt right at home!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joetromb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed here the night prior to departing Rochester Airport. The price was great, and included breakfast, parking, and free shuttle to the airport (about 5 miles away).

Everything was fine, room was great, but two things left me unimpressed:
1. The front desk clerk at check-in was curt and not very welcoming. He needs lessons in customer service from staff at all the dozens of other Country Inns I've stayed at throughout the U.S. and Canada.
2. There is a dreadful smell permeating all the halls. A cross between high school locker room and grandma's attic. Had to hold my breath every time I had to get to and from my room.

Next time I'm flying out of Rochester I would spend more and stay at the Fairfield Inn right at the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheEasyGoingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
2.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
3.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area

Address: 797 E Henrietta Rd, Rochester, NY 14623-1405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rochester
#8 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $89 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Country Inn & Suites, Rochester Brighton, we try to make you feel right at home. From our country decor, to our great customer service, and more! We are conveniently located across from Monroe Community College and The Sports Centre at MCC. This property has 89 non-smoking rooms featuring a complimentary breakfast buffet. The hotel is situated within walking distance of several popular restaurants. TGI Fridays is right in our parking lot. If your goal is relaxation, there is an indoor swimming pool, w fitness center located on the grounds. If business is your game, we offer free high speed wireless internet. Guests will find their commute to Rochester International Airport quick and easy with the free shuttle service. Club Carlson Rewards earns 20 points per dollar spent on qualifying stays. Our client are sure to rack up major points to redeem for hotel stays, airfare, car rentals, merchandise, gift cards and more. Whether you are here on business or pleasure we have a lot of amenities to suit your needs, including a hot complimentary breakfast, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness center, free wired & wireless internet, refrigerators & microwaves in all rooms, and more! We are close to a lot of Rochester's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Rochester Brighton
Country Inn & Suites Rochester Brighton Hotel Rochester
Wellesley Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing