We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Staff!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Everything about the room and facilities was excellent, as one would expect. The staff is what makes this Radisson exceptional. Everyone from the chambermaids to the desk staff were polite, responsive, and helpful.

The location is great for the convention center but in a pretty boring downtown locale for vacationers.

Room Tip: Upper floors on the river side have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaracarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the feedback that you provided regarding your recent stay at our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff and outstanding customer service. I am very proud of the efforts of the entire Radisson Team! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    377
    256
    151
    119
See reviews for
340
186
75
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were visiting U of R for college visit --- and we were walk ins and the people at the front desk (Jennifer M and Jay) were a delight! Also, the hotel had a comfortable bed, nice showerhead and good soap and shampoo/conditioner!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seticrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside with the Trip Advisor community. We are so pleased that your expectations were exceeded! I will be sure to share your comments with Jen and J! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

From the very start...Awesome. The hotel shuttle picked me up at the Rochester Airport. Ken, the driver, was great! Friendly and very helpful. During my stay...Excellent! The front desk staff was always smiling, friendly, and extremely helpful! Welleska, Nadia, Jennifer, and Jay went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable and stress free! The hotel shuttle driver, Harman, was always there to take me to where I needed to go within the downtown area. He was courteous and smiling the whole time. Dan, the manager, was always there when I needed any assistance, no matter how small. The hotel is at a good location and the persons mentioned above made my stay comfortable and stress free. I will definitely stay here again when I am in Rochester!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor comments! We are so pleased that you found our front desk and transportation staff friendly and accommodating! I will be sure to pass along your kind words! We look forward to your next visit to Rochester and appreciate your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

All of our guests attending my daughters wedding stayed here over the Columbus weekend.
We had many issues. The breakfast planned for the morning after the wedding was a disaster!
The coupons that stated Monday Morning were accepted Sunday morning also because so many coupons were stuffed in the wedding bags by the staff.
I was double charged on a room and some of the cleaning staff were rude.
Nik Reynolds, the wedding coordinator, handled all of these issues and all was resolved.
If you book rooms for a wedding here, go right to Nik, he is efficient and capable.
On a good note, beds were great and lots of towels.

Room Tip: Ask to face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We appreciate your recent comments that were posted on Trip Advisor! We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your recent stay. I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments. That being said, I am glad the Nik was able to overcome these challenges and ensure that your expectations were exceeded! I will be sure to pass along your kind words to him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just wanted to write to let everyone know what an amazing staff the Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside has!!! We hold an annual meeting every October and they never let us down. EVERY single staff member is wonder and willing to go above and beyond to make our event a success!!!! From Jennifer our contact to Paula the banquet captain to Amad in set up - they are all great!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kati T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Kati
Thank you for your feedback regarding your annual meeting! We appreciate your loyalty and always look forward to working with you! I will be sure to pass along your comments to Paula and Jennifer! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

For the price this hotel is an excellent deal!

The staff is friendly and professional. The rooms are up to date, comfortable, reasonably quiet and there are sleep number beds available. The hotel is dated but well kept. The Linens and towel s are new or near to new. The water pressure is great and the staff fixed a couple minor issues immediately.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S-Amsbary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the feedback that you recently provided through Trip Advisor! We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and that you found our property clean and well maintained. I am very proud of the efforts of our entire team and their ability to provide friendly service! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Did I miss anything? No, I don't think so. The actual building is old. This would not be a problem if it was maintained. This however, it has been a bit let go.

Front desk staff most pleasant and helpful. What a treat. Professional.

Then it all went too hell more quickly than I was comfortable with. The garage is attached. Convenient. Having said that, the spots are ridiculously small. Like if you own a large SUV you may have trouble. I have driven and parked extensively in Europe. These spots are about that size. Laughed with people getting out of their car before the driver parked. Hmm.

The elevator is a bit rickety. There are four of them. This describes all of them. Doesn't matter which one you pick.

The room we received was a good size. No issue with that. The carpet has seen better days. There were stains on the furniture that were unidentifiable in origin. Soda? Blood? Coffee? Who knows. The wallpaper was patched. Patched well, but patched. I then opened the drapes. The windows were dirty. Not just a little dirty. Filthy. Write your name on it on it dirty. Of course the dirt is on the outside, so you couldn't write your name on it.

The bathroom was clean and full of fluffy clean towels. Thank you. However the tub drained more slowly than I could believe. A short shower left water up to my ankles. Gross.

It was late, so lets eat at 'Legends', the restaurant I thought. I thought wrong. The service was not slow. It was glacial. We lost interest in eating and would have cancelled our order and left, but there was no one to tell. Eventually plates appeared one at a time. No explanation.

At three different points I walked outside of the hotel, along the river (interesting), and in the city. Each time I was accosted by panhandlers looking for change. At one point they lined up to ask me for change. Very polite of them, but still unnerving. Yeesh. They seemed much more concentrated around the hotel than in other areas of the city. Very little open on the weekend in the area of shops. Not an active area by any stretch.

No issue with checkout. No unusual or unexpected charges. Again, thank you.

This is just an old property in need of some very expensive and needed TLC.

Room Tip: Ask if there are remodeled rooms? Stay away from loud elevators!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantalum129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor comments! I and am disappointed that your experience was not a favorable one. We will continue to work on improving our product and service as well as work with the downtown community to improve the atmosphere outside of our property. That being said, I am glad that our Front Desk team was able to assist in making your stay better. Since it is our goal to ensure that all of our guests are 100% satisfied, I would like to personally invite you back to our property at a future date to show what our team can do. Please contact me directly and I would be happy to make your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#25 of 31 in Rochester
1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
1.1 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside

Property: Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
Address: 120 E Main St, Rochester, NY 14604-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient downtown location central to all of Rochester's attractions and businesses. Newly renovated and rebranded, The Radisson Riverside Hotel Rochester offers Legends Bar and Grill onsite, fitness center, business center and free wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Rochester Riverside
Clarion Rochester
Rochester Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing