We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Strathallan Hotel has always been well regarded in the Rochester, NY area, but especially now since it has been beautifully renovated as a Double Tree-by-Hilton. The food is a bit pricey but well worth it. We both had excellent Fish entrees even though "CHAR" Restaurant is well known for its Beef. Breakfast was good also... Eggs Benedict, etc. Be sure to visit The Eastman House Museum and Gardens, a short walk. Take a stroll along The Erie Canal in Pittsford or Fairport. Take a cruise through one of its Locks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. It's always great to hear such positive feedback from our Rochester neighbors. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
There are newer reviews for The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 947 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is very fine and well-run. It should meet the requirements of most travelers looking for a clean and rather elegant site. If your room is adjacent to an elevator you will here thunder-like noise all night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank stewartjoele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We spent the nite here with no reservation. The hotel is very well done. The lobby and furnishings are upscale and very nice decor. Outside patio/pergola with fire pit! The staff were very friendly. Free shuttle to diinner and around the hotel. The hotel is in a great location, near trend restaurants, bars, shops. The bed was comfortable, and the room was very upscale as well. The bathroom was gorgeous. Great big shower, really nice tile, very clean. The only complaint I have relates to noise volume in the back of hotel, where our room was. The hotel can't help street noise, sirens, etc, but at 5 am, a garbage truck came to empty their dumpster. VERY LOUD, banging, clanging, bottles crashing noise. Woke me up and I couldn't go back to sleep. Did tell the front desk about it and she said they had rec'd similar complaints about same happening at 4 am, they had asked for later pickup and apparently truck thought 5 am was better! Other than that, a great place. Not too expensive, they honored triple A. About $40 more than a generic hotel in same area would be, well worth it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel. Better view, less noise!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all guest feedback and are pleased to hear you enjoyed our wonderful hotel and the surrounding area. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a great experience at the hotel! They were very accommodating to us- we were running our first half marathon the next day. We had a breakfast and easy shuttle service to and from the race. We would definitely recommend the Strathallan to anyone looking to stay in Rochester.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. Congratulations on running your first half marathon, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night for a morning surgery at Strong. We decided to use this as a last night out since his recovery will be long. The hotel is beautiful, very nicely decorated. Check-in was a breeze. The room was so pretty and comfortable. I wish the weather was nicer so we could have enjoyed the nice outdoor space with the fire pit. It would have been fun to spend more time there to explore the area too. The Char Restaurant in the lobby was an added bonus! If I find a reason to go back to Rochester, I will definitely stay at The Strathallan.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your night with us. We wish your husband a speedy recovery, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

As always in the HiltonHotels, our stay was satisfactory. The only point is that on saturday night there were other hotel's guests who were speaking well into the midnight time and later, and laughing, very loud at the exterior premises of the hotel and making it difficult to sleep for other hotel's guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jose M F A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We appreciate your feedback and you taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel has an outstanding staff on all shifts. They go over and beyond with politeness, you never feel like your bothering them with directions and questions. They provided us with shuttle service to our event too! It is clean and very comfortable. They give you a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in that is delightful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Toni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are so proud of our outstanding staff and are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#24 of 29 in Rochester
1,096 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $206 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing