We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Rochester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Great stay in Rochester”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Excellent Facility, great workout room and a great breakfast with colleagues. Well situated and staff was very accommodating allowing me a slightly later check out time to accommodate business meeting in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are more than happy, always, to do whatever we can to accommodate the needs of our guests. So glad to hear you enjoyed your time here, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    168
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
247
214
28
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was recently relocated to Upstate NY from ND, and was in the city searching for prospective living locations. I was looking for a nice place to stay in a good nieghborhood while house hunting, and the hotel was very comfortable and relaxing, along with being in a great historic area of town with many options to explore and get to know the city.

I informed the staff of a special guest that I was expecting (I was trying to convince my girlfriend to move with me, 1500 miles away from her friends anf family). They went far above and beyond what is expected from a hotel guest to accomodate me and give us a great experience. I couldn't be more thankful. The Assistant General Manager Helen was extremely caring and generous. They not only sold me on the hotel, but the city of Rochester.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehlerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing The Strathallan and for not only writing such a great review, but for sharing your beautiful story with us. We are thrilled that we could help and that you had such a wonderful experience with our hotel and Helen; she's amazing. Best of luck to you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were there recently for a hockey tournament last week and the staff couldnt do enough for you! Great breakfast! Friendly staff especially Katie and Dan! Clean hotel, beds were comfortable. Thank you Doubletree at Rochester you were amazing! Parents were super pleased! thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write such a great review. We are so happy to hear you and your parents were pleased and found us to be the best hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Everything was terrific! Hotel updates are beautiful; felt very upscale. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious, well appointed, and very clean. Bar and restaurant were "cozy-chic!" Nice selection of wine, beer, and cocktails.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing when are guests find everything about us to be terrific, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a very nice property on East avenue in Rochester NY. The neighborhood is wonderful and the property is recently renovated. The warm cookie at check in is a nice touch, the room was spacious and immaculate. I booked a Single King and there was a microwave and mini-fridge, and a nice 2 cup coffee brewer, which was reasonable in taste. Usually those in room makers are questionable. Nice job there. The only thing I'd mention is that on Christmas day the housekeepers knocked at 8:30am. In their defense, I hadn't hung up a Do Not Disturb sign, but I wasn't due out tip noon. She knocked twice more, at 10 and 11. I should've gotten up to hang the sign after her first knock. This was a minor annoyance, and overall I enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Strathallan and for spending Christmas Eve with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This recently renovated building feels like a new structure. From the contemporary restaurant and bar, to the guest rooms, pool and exercise facility, the Strathallan Double Tree has the feel of newness. The staff are cordial and seem willing in any way. During a recent snow storm, staff were plowing and shoveling 24/7. The buffet breakfast is 2nd to none, including of fresh fruit. This hotel is located in a very safe residential neighborhood and ideal for walking, biking of jogging. I strongly recommend a stay at the Strathallan Double Tree.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review and recommending us. We truly appreciate it and are pleased to hear you enjoyed our recent renovations and felt safe here. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We live in Rochester and I was looking for a local hotel for an overnight getaway for our family of four.During the on-line reservation I mentioned that we were celebrating our daughters 13th birthday and I requested a room with a view within our room category. At check-in, the clerk wished our daughter a Happy Birthday which really surprised her and our suite was on the side of the hotel with a view of the city skyline. The room decor and furnishings were very nice and the room was comfortable and clean. The hotel itself is a nice facility and in a great part of the city. I would stay here again and highly recommend it to out of town guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan for your family celebration. and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear your daughter enjoyed her birthday here. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#25 of 31 in Rochester
1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing