We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Saturday night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Saturday night stay”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went with girlfriend for a Saturday night stay and loved everything about the hotel from the lobby, lounge and restaurant to the super sweet executive suite we stayed in. The bar at Char has a great vibe and was swinging on the Saturday night we visited. The restaurant had the best lamb chops I've ever had. I accidentally left one in the room fridge at checkout and cried when I got home and realized I left it there. A good excuse to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and Char. We are so please to hear that you enjoyed the night you spent here. We hope you will visit often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    172
    46
    19
    18
See reviews for
255
222
29
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Reading, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Outstanding hotel recently renovated - tremendous value, very clean, great part of town, access to anything you need - compares very favorably to all the other usual suspect hotels in the Rochester area - by far this is the best one, and its not even close.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. It's great to hear from happy and satisfied guests. We hope so see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Strathallan is a very nice hotel, with quiet, comfortable rooms and elegant furnishings. It was nice having a balcony, especially since the weather was beautiful. It has a great location in a nice older neighborhood, convenient to the downtown. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas And Andr... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here recently as a road trip stopover . The place is easy to find in a leafy upmarket part of the Rochester downtown area. The rooms (actually suites) are huge and all have balcony's. They offer valet parking or you can conveniently park behind the hotel in private parking. The restaurant is quite first class along with surprisingly professional wait service.They handle single diners quite well from those who like to linger with a great glass of wine over dinner to those who just want to eat. They have an outdoor patio that remains open all year round ( yes I realize its Rochester NY) using an very large open pit fireplace and other propane heaters. They even have a TV out there ! A very vibrant bar here as well. This place is aimed at couples or the business traveller though the rates are quite reasonable . This large but boutique style hotel is worth the 10 minute drive downtown from the expressway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We truly love hearing about when our guests enjoy all The Strathallan has to offer. We look forward on seeing you on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

If I had to provide a small city hotelier with advice, it would be to concentrate on the basics and ignore the glitz. Your staff should know your hotel and its rooms, you should strive to understand your guests' needs, and you should work hard to make your rooms comfortable.

This is true of the Strathallan. I was there on a one day business trip. The stay started well, with excellent customer-oriented front desk clerks and concierges. It went downhill from there.

First the good. The bar is fun, with good drinks. The restaurant was excellent, and not intensely overpriced.

Now the bad. I had asked for a quiet room. I even specified not close to the ice machine or traffic, because I needed to sleep while managing group meetings.

The first room was on the second floor was over the front entrance and parking station: very noisy. The desk clerk--who was quite nice--moved me to a room in the rear of the hotel which, unfortunately, already was occupied by another guest. She then moved me to a suite. While the bed was comfortable, it was oriented so that the a/c (which was quite cold) blew over sleepers' faces. I had to move to the far side of the bed and barricade against the air blowing from the a/c.

At 5 AM, I discovered that the clerk had put me directly over the garbage pit when I was awakened by a half-hour of bins being clanked around. Why the clerk put a noise sensitive guest over such a place could only be due to her lack of knowledge of the room and its issues. I cannot guess why a hotel this good would permit garbage pickup that undoubtedly woke up all the guests in that area of the hotel so early in the morning.

I could not get back to sleep after that, so worked for a bit before ordering breakfast...which never came.

So, I had to go to my conference and run a meeting without coffee, without food and without sleep.

Needless to say, not a great experience. To be fair, the hotel offered to comp me for the evening. It would have been much better if their rooms had been better arranged and their clerks more knowledgeable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We appreciate your feedback so that we can exceed all guest expectaions. Your positive comments on the comfort of the beds and our excellent staff is much appreciated. Unfortunately, we cannot control what goes on outside in our city at all times, and we apologize that refuse pickup was at a time when you were sleeping. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel used to be an independent, and it definitely has that boutique hotel feel still, although it is now managed by Doubletree. The room was spotless and inviting, with a nice little entryway and double-cup coffee maker. The bathroom was equally nice and clean. The quiet location and very comfortable bed added up to a great night's sleep both nights. Even the food was good, with very friendly service. Front desk a bit more frosty, but efficient.
If you are visiting Eastman or have other business downtown, it's a nice easy walk during daylight hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and we appreciate you takingthe time to write such a kind review. We welcome feedback from our guests and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seal beach, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only thing I could complain about is the slowness of the lifts. We had to wait a long time for one to come to our floor and the stairs were not a convenient option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kinds words. We welcome and appreciate feedback from our guests, and hope to see you again on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#23 of 29 in Rochester
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#19 of 29 in Rochester
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing