We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We had an awesome time! We were at the hotel for the Fourth of July celebration on the rooftop. What an awesome sight. The hotel is close enough to walk to the Museum of Play. And just a minute down the street is the Planetarium. Our boys loved it. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our only negative is that the pool water was quite cool. Otherwise a perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSI-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during our Fourth of July rooftop celebration. Our guest feed back is so important to us. We appreciate your kind words and great review and the temperature in the pool has since been turned up. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    165
    42
    19
    16
See reviews for
240
211
28
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new Orleans, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was there for my nieces wedding which was at the church across the street. I have stayed here a number of times before. The hotel is beautiful and my only complaint was at the front desk. These people are overworked and need help. The rest was swell! P.S. I don't like Hilton Hotels...this one is an exception.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are very proud of our hotel and excellent staff and are always striving to exceed our guests' expectations. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have nothing bad to say about this hotel! It was the one of the best places we have ever stayed in, period! It had a great location to many museums and the Market. We loved the night-life right around the corner too. It was close enough to enjoy (2 blocks) yet far enough to remain quiet! Loved everything about this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Smileyhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review and for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you agan on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here at the recommendation of the bride's parents. It was convenient to all the wedding events. It is also a very upscale hotel, with large comfortable rooms. Each unit (I assume) has a sitting room and bedroom. Ours also had a kitchen area and an accessible bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for the kind recommendation. We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've stayed here before and I'll keep this simple. If you want "no problem" service, great accommodations, and amazing food (at not so crazy hotel prices), stay here. You'll be close to the Museum of Play, AHL hockey, other great local restaurants and venues. Their renovations were amazing and the staff is incredible. Family, business, solo, friends, road trip, couple, doesn't matter. Book it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank William Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review and for staying at The Strathallan. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Was here for a week on business. Room was super comfortable. Staff very helpful. And the restaurant very good. Room had a lovely large shower instead of a tub. Very pleasant stay. The Joel was recently made a Hilton Doubletree property, so Hilton points too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aretha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are please to hear you enjoyed The Strathallan, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is great since it has become a Hilton hotel. The look is metropolitan and welcoming. The two suite rooms are very comfortable and clean and the entire hotel has benefited from the major renovations.

The hotel is located within walking distance to bars and restaurants and just a few minutes away from major expressways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteBerttram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and we hope you visit often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.5 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#22 of 31 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing