We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We are split!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The staff have shown exceptional customer service, and the amenities are lovely, however it appears the behind the scenes practices show a different face.

We arrived to a room that was not what we were expecting (no sofa) and the smoke odor was impossible to bring a baby into. The front desk staff made everything right putting in a room that was par to what we were expecting.
The next morning I greeted the room attendant with my trash and recycling separated as the bins in the room suggest. I was told that they all are dumped in the same bag and disposed of :(
The façade exposed of being eco conscious really disappointed me.

The gym facilities are beautiful. I would liked more info on the area such as a massage referral or a place to practice yoga. We did not order room service because all of the options were meat centered. (Again not eco conscious)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We strive to consistently use eco friendly materials and practices at our hotel. The staff and managers complete ongoing "Litestay" training to keep our environment as clean as possible. We appreciate being made aware that we need to make sure all of our staff realize how important this incentive is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    169
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
248
214
28
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsville, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I visited this hotel because I work for another hotel and wanted to check it out. It was awesome! The bartender , I think his name was Chris, was very friendly and the atmosphere in the bar was fun and light. The decor is awesome! Go and enjoy it like we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for visting us. We agree, Chris is awesome, and we hope so see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Upon arriving, we didn't know what to expect since the hotel was located in a rather residential neighborhood. We were pleasantly surprised! The room was large and very comfortable, equipped with everything we needed for the weekend.

Every single member of the staff we encountered was so kind. You were always greeted with a smile and friendly demeanor.

The hotel bar was a great place to grab a drink. It was surprisingly very lively with a great selection of cocktails. The patio and the fire pit added to the fun atmosphere! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Some of the room have balconies, request one if desired!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraLynnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are please to hear you enjoyed our hotel and staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for my friends Bachelor/Bachelorette weekend. The rooms were great, the staff was helpful and the location is perfect if you are hanging out on East Ave in the city. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay here and I’ll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Seth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review and recommendation. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

As a Hilton Gold, we've stayed in many full-service Hiltons, from the Big Island to the Beverly Hilton and beyond. We have also stayed at the Four Seasons and other high end hotels. Out of all of those stays, incredibly, this Doubletree hotel stands out. We didn't have high expectations for a hotel that looked rather old on the outside, located in Rochester, NY, but the staff and facilities here really made our recent 8 night stay memorable. If anyone from Hilton is reading this, here is why this hotel stands out in your chain, and should be a model for other Hiltons. First of all, the staff treats one another with respect, and the management and front desk staff do not hesitate to pitch in to help one another with anything, from driving the shuttle, to carrying your bags, or whatever needs to be done. You get the feeling that the staff enjoys working here, and feel valued in their roles; it is more than just a "job" - the smiles are genuine. This atmosphere must be modeled by the local hotel manager, and it makes a huge difference to the customer.

We didn't need a car, because Alan and George, the primary shuttle drivers, were always willing to drive us anywhere within a 15 mile radius, even with a double bass in tow. Not only that, but they made the journey something to look forward to, with their ready smiles and eagerness to help in any way possible. Alisa, who works at the breakfast buffet, is also always smiling and provides service on par with the Four Seasons buffet, without any attitude whatsoever. I think this is the first time we have every tipped the full amount on a buffet, but she was so worth it! The buffet, by the way, is very good, with fresh strawberries and other fruits, homemade granola, yummy freshly baked croissants, and several hot food items. Everything is fresh, and they will also cook eggs to order. We enjoyed our breakfasts! The hotel's restaurant, Char, was excellent for lunch and dinner, although on the expensive side. I wish they had a more casual/inexpensive option. There are several restaurants that also deliver to the hotel, and others within walking distance. We easily walked to Veneto for some delicious pizza, and to the Eastman School of Music, where our son was attending a conference for the week. The location is very convenient. The remodel is beautiful, and the hotel is very classy and comfortable.

The only negative to our entire weeklong stay was the housekeeping. One night we ordered pizza, and our son dribbled some sauce on his bedsheets. Although the stains were obvious, the bedding was not changed the next day with fresh sheets. The housekeeper also left cleaning supplies in our room (!), the bathrooms were not cleaned properly (empty containers not thrown away, etc.), and items on the floor or counters were not tidied up, just cleaned around. This is the only area of the hotel that needs additional attention.

Overall, we were very impressed with the quality of this hotel, and would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in Rochester!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We are very proud of the wonderful staff we have, and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I'm in hotels 50+ nights a year. This one is a gem. Extremely comfortable with a great friendly staff. Don't let the sophisticated decore and aesthetics lead you to believe there may be a "snobby" attitude. All were very friendly and helpful. The Restaurant is superb and the bar was lively during our weekend stay. It is situated just off East Ave a few blocks from the Eastman house and Science Museum. Pricey? Yes, but reasonable compared to other 5 star hotels. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick200WCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Strathallan, and we very much appreciate the great review. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicopee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I am a Hilton front desk employee and was very impressed with the quality of the hotel but more importantly their staff. They were very friendly, accomodating, and held the same standards that I do with the guests at my hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and for recognizing our amazing staff. We are incredibly proud to have each and every one of them on our team. Hope you are able to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#25 of 31 in Rochester
1,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing