We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just felt so welcome”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Love this place. The occasion of our visit was my father's memorial service. We were there for three nights. With every staff interaction, those who knew why we there and those who didn't, we experienced kindness and just the right degree of congeniality.

The hotel is thoughtfully designed so that the very happening bar scene does not impinge on the comings and goings of the hotel guests, and you can walk through the lobby in sweats or a bathing suit on the way to the gym and pool without self-consciousness. The rooms are large and comfortable as Hilton hotels always are, and ours had a view of a residential streetscape that made me happy we'd decided to stay in town in such a lovely neighborhood. My only complaint is my perennial issue with Hilton: not enough hooks to hang stuff on in the bathroom! Just nitpicking in the greater scheme of things.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback, and again we were sorry to hear of your father's passing. We are very proud of our staff who strive to always make everyone feel welcome; they are the best! We hope to see you again soon under happier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    172
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
252
219
29
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice place in a good location, walk from downtown, good rooms for the most part. And as many say its true the food at the restaurant is great. For me and my wife, I was made to feel very uncomfortable by Katie on the front desk. Shes grouchy, snide and should not be in the hospitality industry. She is condesending in her body and facial language, argumentative and its easy to tell her co workers feel the same way. One of those people that make you think twice about returning.

The rest of the front desk and staff were VERY good, George in valet is a sweetheart and really cares about what he does! An asset at the front door!

Oh, the windows on the sliding doors in the rooms were very dirty...

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side have great sun in the AM, helps get me up and running!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I am very sorry to hear about your receint experience concerning one of our associates. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations. We will make sure that your feedback is put to good use. I am happy that you enjoyed the other associates that were here to assist you and look forward to touching base with you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything was brand new. Great lobby area, open, clean, and had a nice flow. The downstairs bar is a plus. The Bed's are amazing, it was more comfortable than my home bed. Amazing double balcony on my room. Decent view in a nice neighborhood. Close to the Rochester Armory which is where we went to see BASSNECTAR. Just amazing

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Frantony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Stathallan and our wonderful neighborhood. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Love the new remodel and the staff was excellent. Its nice to see Rochester get a decent hotel. Will recommend over any of the other hotels in Rochester by FAR Great rooms and location Thank you Sherwin for the great hospitality

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Adam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We agree our staff and Sherwin are the best. We are all very proud of the great team and facility we have here. We look forward to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent Hills, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a great experience. We were at the Strathallan 18 months ago before the new ownership and all the renovations. What a transformation. We were in Rochester for the Half Marathon and the Strathallan was the host hotel. Almost the entire hotel has been updated. The lobby, bar and restaurant look very attractive. The breakfast buffet offers fresh fruit along with the usual breakfast items and omelettes made to order in the kitchen. The rooms deserve a special mention. Brand new bathrooms and all the conveniences to be expected in a good hotel.

Two things deserve special mention. Late on our first night at the hotel we wanted to go out and get some drinks and snacks for our room. The lobby staff immediately offered to take us to a grocery store in the shuttle bus. Then on the day of the Marathon we needed a light breakfast at 5 a.m. before room service or the restaurant was open. Dave Christa, the owner of the hotel just happened to be in the lobby the night before and overhead our request. He immediately advised that a complimentary light breakfast would be waiting in the restaurant area for all participants at 5 a.m. And it was! That’s good service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuinnessBoy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. We really appreciate it! As you were able to see everyone from ownership, to management and staff are all very committed to making sure our guest have a great experience with us. We hope you did well at the marathon and that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very helpful front desk staff...all staff friendly. Comfortable rooms at a slightly high price. Clean. Restaurant average quality, slightly pricey.

Front desk: when we checked in, they could not find the reservation for the second room from Expedia. She was nice enough to get us into both rooms (kids were very tired from long drive) and let us square it away with Expedia without a lot of hassle. We appreciated it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are very proud of our staff, who always go above and beyond for our guests. We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a great hotel. Clean, a very happening bar and restaurant. We got a suite even though we reserved a normal room, and they didn't make us pay more. Great overall experience. Very close to bars, restaurants, coffee shops, and the Auditorium Centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are very proud of our hotel and glad you enjoyed it as well. Hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#24 of 29 in Rochester
1,040 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.5 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#19 of 29 in Rochester
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing