We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location for Visiting RIT, if You are OK with A 3-Star-Type Property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Location for Visiting RIT, if You are OK with A 3-Star-Type Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Radisson hotels vary in their amenities. I would rate this one as about a 3-star property, which was just the right level for me in this location. Our family stayed in this hotel twice, both when we were visiting RIT. The location is directly next to the RIT campus and perfect for a campus visit. The rooms were clean, adequately sized, and fine for a standard chain hotel. This is not one of the luxurious Radissons that I might prefer if I were vacationing or on a romantic getaway. But if you are expecting just a normal hotel close to campus you will be very pleased. Our room had the standard (not sleep number) beds and they were very comfortable. Once when we visited we had a car and the other time we did not. One of the nicest features of the hotel is its free shuttle bus that will happly take you anywhere on campus that you need to go (it is a very large campus), and also will take you to the airport, eateries, and other nearby places during normal hours. It was really important to us when we did not have the car. Just understand that it is not a 24 service - our plane was delayed and arrived at around 11:30 pm after the shuttle stopped running, and it was about a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport. We ate breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. One time it was included in our rate and once it was not included. When it was not included, we considered it rather overpriced. When it was included we considered it delightful. The fresh waffles were delicious and the waitstaff pleasant. The front desk staff was also friendly and very helpful. I had a meeting on campus for which I needed an extra copy of a 25-page document. They made the copy for me without charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeekyDCLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. I will be sure to share them with the team. Please cone back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    158
    105
    81
    37
See reviews for
236
52
45
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have a child who attends the Rochester Institute of Technology which is so close the Hotel has a side road with access to the campus. While the prices are a little higher than we normally look for, but the secret is to join the Carlson Club, affiliated with the Radisson chain of hotels. When you accumulate points through the Club for staying at these hotels, you can combine points you have earned with cash to get cheaper rates. Since our student is going to be at RIT for four years, it made sense to participate. The attached restaurant was not impressive as is the case in many attached eateries, but the main road the hotel is on, Jefferson Road, is just minutes from several very well stocked malls and shops of all kinds including many, many places to eat almost any kind of food you want. The downtown of Rochester is only 20 minutes away and has some wonderful historic neighborhoods and wonderful elegant dinning options. p.s. avoid the rooms with the "Sleep Number" beds unless you are familiar with them. With only one adjusting pressure, when your partner gets out of bed, it feels like the old hippie water bed sloshing from one side to the other!

Room Tip: See above: Avoid "Sleep Number" beds and if you like quiet, get as far from the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have both Sleep Number and traditional beds available in the hotel. There are many places to shop and dine close by. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasher Falls, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

we stayed here and it was a very nice place staff was great and food was decent at the bar. Bar staff made my daughter and PBJ sandwich because that is what she wanted. They went out of there way for us..

Room Tip: stay away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahw111107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Glad we were able to provide what your daughter requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stood at this location Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport because my son was moving into the dorm room at R.I.T. I booked the room with a number bed and never got it. Called front desk and told them that the room they gave us was not what we booked. They said they will look into it and never got back to us. There was also no blow dryer in the bathroom; the iron in the room broke. The lack of service was very unprofessional and unhelpful at the Front Desk. Never brought up the blow dryer. The front desk service is lacking experience and attitude. Not a friendly staff. If it wasn't the fact that this hotel was close to the campus I would of not stood there. I have heard horrible experience from customers from TRIPADVISOR and wanted to see for myself and believe me customers at TRIPADVISOR are so TRUE. I felt paying for so much over $150 a night is not worth the experience we got. I have never experience bad service while staying in other hotels in all my life. This is the WORST location experience any customer should experience especially the fact that is a RADISSON hotel which I heard so good experience from different location.

Room Tip: My room was at the far end of the hotel. It was a long walk from the elevator but is probably bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rochester hotels

Germantown, New York
Level Contributor
342 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel may be older; however, it is very comfortable, clean, and in a great location. We were there for an overnight stay while taking in a Rochester Red WIngs game and visiting our son. It is in a very convenient location on Route 252 near many restaurants and stores. It is right next to RIT's campus as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cac1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I hadn't used a bulk room rate site before, but figured we just needed a room this time, not a palace. It was about $70, and when we walked in, i was feeling a 4 star review for the price. My friends, you see how we felt by the end of the stay. It's a mile from lots of food and services. The pool is enormous, with no hot tub. They have a full restaurant and bar next to the lobby. These are good things. But, the room was small and the beds were awful. Overall, it was pretty shabby.

If you wake up and your back hurts because of the bed, you will never be happy in that hotel, right? So no matter what generic comment is written below by the manager, know that you will not sleep well here. Get some new beds, man.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank some_honest_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards. We are also sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed. We know a good night’s rest is very important. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
204 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is just an old Radisson, badly in need of an update. The rooms are clean (the cleaning staff are competent, friendly and very helpful, so no complaints there) but the rooms are old and dated. Everything works and the beds are comfortable but the bedding and furnishings are dated and the hall rugs and walls are dowdy and sad looking. All in all, if you need to be close to RIT, this is the place to be, other than that there are better places just down the road, off the main road of course.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nice, better yet, stay at their sister hotel, Country Inns & Suites just down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank revrpb619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services, in this regard updating and maintaining our facility to appealing standards. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
5.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester / Henrietta
2.6 mi away
Lexington Hotel Rochester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport

Property: Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport
Address: 175 Jefferson Rd, Rochester, NY 14623-2138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Radisson
Radisson Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing