We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May not be worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just completed a four night stay at this property and I must say that while it wasn't the worst hotels at which I have stayed, it wasn't far from it. We were in room 231.

We won this property on Priceline. Our total rate with tax came to $70 per night. I had to keep reminding myself of that throughout the stay. It was more than 50% off than had I stayed at another hotel in the area.

This is by no means a true "airport" hotel, but that is another issue.

Here are the pros:
It is very conveniently located if you are doing anything with RIT. No doubt about it. It is less than five minutes from restaurants, stores, shops, etc.

The staff was quite friendly and that is always nice. They were kind enough to pre-block our room and put a crib in their for my son. The towels were nice, the sheets were good (though the fitted sheets don't actually fit), the room was well lit and the bed was comfortable (once you figured out your number). The shower was okay and the shampoo and soap were quite good.

Plenty of parking and very easy to find the hotel.

The cons (All of these as an individual problem would not be a big deal but in the aggregate made it a less than satisfying stay):
The lighting in the bathroom was quite dingy and there was no ventilation.

The room was a bit small and there was a large, soft lounge chair with an ottoman in the room. It was far too big for the space in the room. And it was dirty with stains on it.

The wireless internet signal was weak.

The carpet had debris on it that was never vacuumed during our stay. Not as if it was in an obscure place, it was in the hall in front of the closet. Your socks got dirty from walking on the carpet. It makes me wonder if they ever vacuum or if the vacuums weren't sufficient. My hunch is that it was the latter as I saw several of them and they looked old an decrepit. I saw these as they always seemed to leave the service closets open on the floor.

There is quite a limited number of TV stations available and none of them in HD despite being an HD television. This wasn't convenient as you will see below.

On the second night, we called and asked for a wake-up call at 7:00 AM. It never came. It wasn't a big deal as I was, unfortunately, awake at that time--more on that shortly. But it could have been devastating for someone else that had relied on it.

On our third morning, I left a note asking the housekeeper to replace the sheet for the crib and left a tip as well (usually do when traveling with my son). We left the room at 9:30 in the morning and returned 12 hours later. There was no sheet for the crib. And no towels had been replaced so we only had one bath towel and a hand towel for three of us. The housekeeper was kind enough to take the tip then not do what I requested AND not do what she was supposed to do. Fortunately, someone at the front desk was nice enough to get us what we needed.

Finally, the AC unit in the room was the loudest and most disturbing unit of any hotel I have ever been in. Whenever it kicked on, you might as well have had a diesel car in the room, as far as the sound. It did a pretty good job of keeping everything cool but it was loud, loud, loud. It was so loud that it wasn't until the third night that I finally bought earplugs and was able to sleep. It was so loud that once it kicked on, you couldn't watch TV without cranking the volume. Which is why the limited channel selection didn't matter. While it would have been nice to watch something while being kept awake by the AC, you couldn't hear anything anyway.

Again, other than the ridiculously loud AC, everything else in a singular instance wouldn't be bad but combine everything and you have a less than satisfactory stay.

Would I suggest one avoid this property if it were one night and a cheap rate? No. But be well aware of the situation. There are better choices if you are willing to pay more. And we will pay more and go elsewhere from this point forward.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of your room, especially the dirtiness of your room and the very loud AC unit. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards. Also, we are sorry for the disappointing service you received from our staff in regards to housekeeping services and not receiving your morning wake up call. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best “Yes I Can!” service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 655 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Clean, nice staff, well maintained. Walking distance to RIT. Shuttle. Watch for last minute deals. Short ride from the airport. Walking distance to places to eat or take the FREE shuttle from the hotel. No car is needed for a visit when staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. Please come back and see us again when visiting RIT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

First impression as driving up- Very nice,beautiful grounds.

Rooms-Comfortable beds, clean. The reno work was not done by professional tradesmen though. The quality was quite bad, paint runs, bad grouting etc....

Pool- quite nice. Wasn't sure if it was salt or chlorine. Kind of tasted like both. Large pool.

The breakfast buffet is really bad. Food quality poor,presentation bad. Service horrendous.

Very clean amenities.

Front desk personnel were great

Overall quite happy except for buffet breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TorontoMan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. Please come back and see us when you are in Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here one night on the 3rd floor (Room 319). I took a chance and won a bid on Hotwire. I thought the place was nice, clean and the staff called about an hour after I checked in to make sure I liked the room. They had a free shuttle to the airport and I really needed that instead of paying $30 for a cab ride.

Room Tip: Order delivery from a local business. Lots of them deliver.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maysameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. Please come back and see us when you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I'd recommend this hotel if you get a good Priceline (or other discount-booking) deal.

The room was clean and up to date. The bed was comfortable and had lots of pillows. The bathroom was clean and the soaps and lotions were above average in quality. This hotel has a nice lobby and pool area.

Where this hotel falls short is in the little details.

Late night check-in took over 10 minutes of waiting (there should have been more than one person working the front counter). Finally Lukas showed up, but he was pre-occupied with checking in flight crews from the airport, rather than dealing with the customers waiting in line. By the time we were served, there were quite a few tired guests wanting service. If I hadn't pre-booked my room, I would have walked away and gone elsewhere.

While the room ceiling, walls, TV, cabinets, and bed were in good condition, the furniture and carpet in the room had stains. The coffeemaker items (creams and sweetners) had splatter marks on them from a previous guest's brewing. One of the water glasses had an eyelash in it (ick!).

There was no list of television channels available anywhere in the room. Most decent hotels will have a list near the TV or in the guestbook. Also missing from the room was a comment card to advise housekeeing on items needing attention.

Only one slow elevator was serving four floors of hotel rooms. The second elevator was closed during renovations.



Here are some helpful hints if you are still interested in staying at the Radisson Rochester Airport location:

Some of the TV channels (as of June 15, 2013):
15 ABC
16 CBS
18 NBC
19 PBS
22 HBO

If you are bidding on Priceline, try an offer price below $55 for this area.

The rooms have refrigerators and microwave ovens. There is an excellent grocery store less than a five minute drive away (Wegman's... check the Tripadvisor Restaurant list for the Rochester area... it is highly ranked!). You can save money by getting prepared meals there and bringing them back to your room.

Again... I'd recommend this place ONLY if you can get a very good discount rate.

Room Tip: Very quiet room at the far end away from the elevator, but there is a LOT of walking involved.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. The TV channels are listed when you pull them up on the TV with the remote. We will be receiving new chairs, lamps and lights in the next month as part of the renovation. Stop back and see us the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for an overnight pitstop. Arriving rather late (around 9pm) at Rochester after a lengthy and tiring drive we found it quite surprising that almost all the restaurants around where already closed but to our delight the hotel's restaurant was open and served us with very nice and delicious meals.

The rooms are a bit small and a nothing special but very clean and that's exactly what we wanted for an overnight stay. The next morning's buffet was very good as well. Overall it provided all we were looking for: a nice, quite and clean place to stay and energize.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. I will be sure to share them with the team. Please come back and see us when you are back in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The last two times I stayed here was through a 3rd party site. The hotel's staff tries hard. The hotel is well sited if you need to be in the area of RIT. Guest room walls are paper thin, beds are comfortable, the rooms seeemed reasonably clean, hotel has a small indoor pool; nothing else. Their site says spa blah, blah, blah but you have to go off-site for "spa facilities". they should simply say they have a small indoor pool and leave it at that. The restaurant closes early and the hotel is not in neighborhood, other than being next to RIT.
I wouldn't stay here unless I needed to be at RIT, or if it wasn't for the reduced rate 3rd party booking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

I am not sure you posted your review for the correct property. Our pool is one of the largest in the city, being 40 foot long and 9 feet deep. The area also has a fitness center and a game area as well as a guest laundry in the same area. Our site does not list that we offer a spa for the Radisson Rochester Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
5.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
2.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport

Address: 175 Jefferson Rd, Rochester, NY 14623-2138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $97 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Radisson
Radisson Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing