We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Armonk, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great free breakfast!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past 2 years and it is always an enjoyable and comfortable stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable. One reason we keep coming back is the great (free) breakfast served everyday with a chef at the omelet/waffle station! All you can drink coffee and 'real' orange juice, too. The breakfast staff, including Lisa Sheila, who couldn't do enough for us, and Luis and Juan were pleasant and great breakfast chefs! Lisa and Sheila were very personable and made us feel welcome... Lisa made sure that we didn't do anything at all to help clean up after ourselves. It's the only place we will stay now when we go to Rochester. =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Deborah R,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to see you again on your next trip to Rochester.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    82
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
118
39
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Have stayed several times over the years, so there were no big surprises. Room a bit musty and the walls are thin. Amenities are what you would expect at a budget motel. Breakfast which is complimentary is worth what you pay for. Location for us is perfect, but leaving the property during busy times is a little tricky. Not the easiest in And out. Staff friendly and knowledgable. For a few days at a lower price this place works.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardoG408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
LeonardoG408,

Thank you for your continued trips to our location and your telling us about your experiences for others to read. As for the traffic, that has always been an issue and in fact starting in the spring the State DOT will be modifying the highway in front of us. We hope this will make it easier to get in and out during rush hour traffic. I look forward to seeing you again!

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a comfortable and very clean place to stay, and typical of the "suburban, off the highway exit" type of hotel. My only complaints would be the tasteless breakfast fare, which tended to be high on carbs, high fructose corn syrup, and grease. Also, the "gym" was a tiny room lacking in ventilation, offering only 3 machines. Why bother? On the positive side, the hotel had easy access to highways, restaurants, shopping plazas, and a very nice staff. Everyone was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
toddinparis,

Thank you for your comments about our facility, unfortunately we are a small hotel and are located right in the middle of other businesses so we can’t make anything bigger than what we have. We try to make the best of our location and what we can offer to our guests and pride ourselves in the cleanliness and the staff services we offer. I am glad that the location worked out well for you. I hope to see you again on your return trip to our area.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I usually stay here when visiting Rochester. That will certainly not be happening again. We were awakened continually from midnight-4:00 am because of loud people in the room above us. As we have small children (who were also awakened), we tried to resolve the issue with the front desk staff who informed us that we have a "loud room." Apparently, some rooms in the hotel are made more poorly than others. The noise was not resolved easily, and we had to go to the front desk a few times in the middle of the night. The night staff did not even try to hide their annoyance that we were asking them to deal with the issue.

The next day we asked to change rooms, because we could not handle another night of sleeplessness...especially with the kids. The same staff was on duty...they were rude, unhelpful, and became downright nasty. The only option offered was to move next door, which would not resolve the issue. As we were trying to figure this out, the staff called our room ON PURPOSE to wake up our sleeping baby so they could get the room cleaned.

We stay in a number of hotels, and we tend to have very flexible standards. However, we picked up and left the hotel immediately. We will NEVER STAY at this hotel again, and I recommend to others to do the same until their staff issue is resolved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AG852013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
AG852013,

I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. There is never an excuse to give a less than perfect experience for a guest such as yourself. I will use your notes as a learning experience for my staff and ensure that this is taken care of. Unless we are informed of areas that we can improve on we can’t work on fixing them. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your experience.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just got back from attending the PGA Championship. Great location only 10 minutes from the Club. Comfortable clean room with a small bathroom. We checked in around 7pm and looked like there was only one person working at the Hotel. The young women was very helpful and pleasant, she also came to the room with the extras towels I asked for, does anyone else work here? Not recommended for a single women, I didn't feel the Hotel to be very secure. Also, breakfast the next morning didn't look very appealing, so we decided to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
HaroldH,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your stay with us. I am glad you were able to join us during PGA week here in Rochester. We do have several people on in the evening, but because of it being so busy that week I am sure they were assisting with other guests. I hope on your next trip to rochester you will choose to stay with us.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in order to go to a family funeral. The rates were jacked up here (and all over town) for the PGA Tour. So, my complaints might be shaded by the fact I was forced to overpay. That being said, I would pay to stay elsewhere if offered a free room at this establishment.

For starters, the floors on the second floor suffer from some miracle of bad acoustics. Those unfortunate enough to be underneath will find no peace if someone is above them. The floors squeak and must be paper thin.

There were two light bulbs out in our room. The mini frig was very noisey. I unplugged it in the middle of the night. The fitness center tv was not working.

Other than all this, the place was OK.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YearntoRoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
YearntoRoam,

Thank you for letting me know about your experience with us. First, I am sorry about your loss. I am also terribly sorry to read about your time with us and your issues with your room. I will pass those along to my staff and find out where we went wrong. There is no excuse for giving you anything less than the perfect experience and we didn't live up to that. I hope you will try us out again so that we can prove to you what we are capable of.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were in Rochester to attend a wedding, so we only needed the room to crash at night. And we did sleep comfortably in the bed. The room was a standard double bed room but it was quite spacious. The bathroom was also neat and clean and with decent toiletries (Bath and BodyWorks). The reason we have given this hotel such a high rating is because it does exactly what you expect from it. It is on a main road with easy access to locations nearby, it has free parking and free breakfast. And the breakfast was also a notch above our expectations - delicious warm cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs along with the more usual fare. The staff was friendly. In fact, when we reached there was no one at the front desk but someone showed up very soon and they apologized profusely for it. Of course, don't go in expecting luxury, it did have a flat screen TV but it was small (not the usual 32 inch) and was of some unknown brand. But it didn't bother because we didn't use it anyway. In brief, if this hotel is near the place you want to visit and you are looking for economical place to stay (without compromising on quality), you should definitely go for it.

Room Tip: Ask for the second building. It is further away from the road and hence not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Abdul K,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. I am glad that our location and facility worked well for you. I apologize if you though our TV's were not 32", all of our TV's are 32" Flat screens and we also offer all HD programming along with free On Demand programming for our guests needs. I do hope next time you are in Rochester you will stay with us again.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
4.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
3.8 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
3.6 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
Address: 2835 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14618 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Rochester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester - Pittsford/Brighton, where guests are treated to comfortable rooms, thoughtful services, and a friendly atmosphere. Situated in the Brighton/Pittsford area is near major interstates 590, 490, and 390 plus the NYS Thruway I-90. The hotel's location in Rochester, New York is also convenient to the Greater Rochester International Airport (ROC) and lies within walking distance of fantastic shopping and dining at Pittsford Plaza and the flagship Wegmans Supermarket. During your stay, enjoy free high-speed wifi internet access, fitness center, a 24-hour business center and the complimentary, hot breakfast buffet. You can also easily visit the University of Rochester, the Rochester Institute of Technology, Nazareth College, and Seabreeze Amusement Park, all of which are a short drive from the Country Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rochester Hotel Rochester
Holiday Inn Rochester
Rochester Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing