We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My family stayed here to enjoy the weekend of my sons' recital at Eastman. The room was great and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were friendly greeting us as we made our way through the facility. The location was great, very close to Eastman.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us while you visited Eastman. We hope your auditions went well and you will be back to visit us again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    280
    208
    107
    85
See reviews for
247
148
35
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My daughter and I had a GREAT stay at the Hyatt Regency Rochester. We were in Rochester for her audition at the Eastman School of Music, and we found the hotel on Eastman's list of hotels that they had an arrangement with. We picked the Hyatt because the price seemed more than reasonable for what was offered, and all the general reviews we saw on-line were glowing. Everything during our stay there was perfect and there's nothing that I could even suggest for improvement. The food was delicious, the staff was all lovely and courteous, and everything ran perfectly smoothly. And the beds were super comfortable - I usually don't sleep all that well when I'm at hotels because at home I sleep on a Tempurpedic mattress, which I love. But despite being on a non-Tempurpedic bed, I was able to get a pretty good rest, not waking up very achy. Plus, it was great to have the work-out room and indoor pool there (just wish we stayed longer so we could make more use of it!). For sure we would stay there if we were ever passing through Rochester again, and if my daughter ends up going to Eastman School of Music, then the Hyatt would be our choice again for sure. It's about the most pleasant and convenient stay I've ever had at a hotel, with the easy shuttle and the great practice rooms downstairs making the stay effortless for us. I'm so glad we selected the hotel from the Eastman list! Thanks to everyone there for doing it all right!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Leslie, thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your kind words about our staff and our Downtown Rochester location and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel when your daughter is admitted to Eastman (crossed fingers). All the best and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocjester
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I came for a get away. Was pleasantly suprised when the staff arranged
For an upgrade. We had one of the best night, watching a movie, swimming in a beautiful pool and sleeping in! Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camillehoupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. We are certainly glad to see you enjoyed your special getaway and hope you will come back to see us in Downtown Rochester again. The pool is warm all year around. All the best and come back soon. Kurt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

For $125 (through Amtrak) actually five stars.
Downtown location. Nice entrance. Well kept. Choose this over radisson nearby. Some furniture scuffs. Not actually quite five stars. Pretty quiet even though there was a fraternity convention. Restaurant looks good and reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. Accommodating staff. Nice pool (4.5' throughout) and hot tub. Good gym fresh towels. Very clean room, kudos to housekeeping. Rooms on small side but good for center of town. Respectful staff. All around a great place to stay and would come again. Good job to the crew and management. Maybe I am too picky but I save five star ratings for truly wow experiences. They did everything right though.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jmv227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate the comments about our rooms, housekeeping staff and facility. I hope next time we will be able to WOW you so please let our front desk know on check in and we will do our best....Thank you and see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

What a great experience we had staying at the Hyatt Regency Rochester.
We came to Rochester because of auditions at Eastman School of Music and the hotel's location is within walking distance to the school. The hotel provided shuttles to the school which was super convenient, especially with the frigid temperatures. We were also very happy with the prompt, complimentary pick-up from the airport. The rooms are spacious and clean with super comfortable beds and crisp sheets. We stayed on the 20th floor and got to enjoy the views over downtown Rochester. The staff is extremely friendly and very accomodating. The breakfast buffet was impressive with a huge selection of all different kinds of breakfast foods. Since the purpose of our stay was our son's audition at Eastman, one of the best parts of this hotel is the availability of practice rooms, so much appreciated.

All in all, we had a wonderful experience staying at the Hyatt Rochester, would totally recommend it and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudypereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for such a great review on Tripadvisor and we are glad you enjoyed our Downtown Rochester location. I hope your auditions went well at Eastman which means you will be coming back to town so we can serve you again. Take care and good luck. Our shuttle is waiting to pick you up on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this Hyatt. We were told it was close to the Eastman School of Music and we were not disappointed. The hotel is within walking distance of several bars and restaurants, but most importantly for us, it was close to the school we were visiting. (They offer a shuttle to the school during audition weeks so ask for a ride and avoid hiking there in the snow.) While this is an older hotel, this grand lady has clearly been well maintained. The beds and pillows were quite comfortable and we rested well. My only strike on the room is the chain lock on the inside of the room door. This was a very dated feature. The area itself seems quite safe even when we were walking back to the hotel in the evening. I wouldn't stay out much past 9:00pm but mainly because the streets seemed very deserted at that time. The hotel observes a courtesy policy of quiet in the rooms from 9:00pm-9:00am. One final thing: they offer free practice rooms! While it might not be something everyone looks for it was a great feature for us. Having done auditions in NYC, you pay for every minute in the practice rooms there. Didn't have time to eat in the restaurant though due to a busy schedule. We were on the 22nd floor and the view of the city and river was wonderful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vinslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. We are always excited to hear from our Eastman guests as we work closely with the school to provide the best experience we can for visiting students and their families. We hope to see you again soon. Take care. Kurt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

What an amazing week at the Hyatt. We had our company sales meeting here last week and it was spectacular. The staff was beyond accommodating and the service was impeccable. Everyone commented on how much they loved the food and felt so comfortable and happy in the rooms. We are booking our next even here for sure! Thanks to all who contributed Fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your comments about our staff and we enjoyed having your meeting as much as you enjoyed being here. Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
1.0 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Rochester

Property: Hyatt Regency Rochester
Address: 125 E Main St, Rochester, NY 14604-1605
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rochester
#8 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Rochester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect blend of location, style and authentic hospitality at our downtown Rochester hotel. Unwind at our Scene on Main Restaurant and Lounge or relax by our heated indoor pool after your workout in our 24 hour fitness center. Whether you are in town for business, vacation, a wedding or special getaway, you will find that the Hyatt Regency Rochester is the ideal choice. Our urban and contemporary Rochester New York hotel offers over 20,000 square feet of function space which provides an ideal setting for weddings, corporate and social events and galas. We are connected to the Rochester Convention Center by a sky bridge and only a short walk to shopping, dining and nightlife of the East Avenue and Park Avenue hot spots. We are situated just minutes from the airport, and we offer a complimentary shuttle throughout the day. Whether you are planning a meeting, wedding, family reunion or a romantic getaway, Hyatt Regency Rochester is the premier accommodation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing