We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Quality stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

They accommodated my special request for no feathers due to an allergy that would have kept me stuffed up for my entire stay. The staff are friendly and provided information requested regarding a local Catholic church and restaurants. When I asked for the local church they also gave me the times for services over the days of my stay. The check-in and check-out processes were quick and easy. The food provided for each of the events at our conference was excellent, far exceeded my expectations. The rooms were clean with plenty of space for your luggage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sang H, Executive Housekeeper at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. We are really glad you enjoyed our Downtown Rochester Location. We really appreciate your comments about our restaurant and the featherless room. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    285
    213
    131
    104
See reviews for
278
152
37
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The staff really make this hotel.

Very friendly.....they want to make your stay perfect,

My only complaint is the decor in the rooms......What were they thinking ??
Very outdated and should be contemporary.

Had both breakfast and lunch at the hotel restaurant, Great service, just OK food.

I will return though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVO747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sang H, Executive Housekeeper at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. We are really glad you enjoyed our Downtown Rochester Location. We really appreciate your comments about our staff and our customer service. We are glad you felt we want to ensure a perfect stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for one night when we went to an event at the Auditorium Theater. When we checked in, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They offered to make dinner reservations for us and answered any questions we had. The room was very clean but the furniture was a little dated. The lighting was also very dim. The location of the hotel was great for us. We felt like we were in the middle of all the places we wanted to go. The breakfast buffet was great - the bacon was delicious. All of the staff were very attentive. The parking ramp was a little confusing. There was construction going on and we weren't sure about which street to exit on. All in all this was a great stay and I was impressed with the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannabeconch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your 4 star review. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and really look forward to feedback from all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed our Downtown Rochester location and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for a conference and got snowed in due to a blizzard. Many attendees had to change their plans at the last minute and the hotel was very accommodating. They were also great to direct us to good restaurants and sites. Rooms were nice and appreciated that they carried New York wines on their wine list.

They can have some impressive snow fall in this city. Very interesting to see how efficiently they move it out of the way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sang H, Executive Housekeeper at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are really glad you enjoyed our property and that the staff was accommodating. The nearby restaurants are great and are a great attaction and the local wines are great to have on the menus. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Any and every time I am in Rochester, I do not hesitate to stay at this hotel!
Regarding lunch or dinner: Lobster Mac & Cheese, Garden Salad, White wine! (No need to look at the menu--Just get it!)
The hospitality and general environment here are always most enjoyable. Its like visiting an old favorite in Upstate New York! Not to mention, it is super close to really amazing vineyards!

See you next time, guys!
-AGWIV.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sang H, Executive Housekeeper at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. We are really glad you enjoyed our Downtown Rochester Location. We really appreciate your comments about our restaurant and the food you enjoyed. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lellie11
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a solid hotel for the business traveler. Valet, indoor parking is important in winter there and they have it. Good restaurant and nice bar. Spacious and comfortable rooms with good pillows. Here's a tip - they have a secret word each week on their Facebook page. Go to Facebook before checking in and tell them the word at the desk. You always get some kind of little upgrade or perk. Only real drawback is the seedy neighborhood it is in. There are certainly better areas of town, but if it's just business, the location is convenient to all of the downtown commerce district.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soverholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the comments about our valet and restaurant. Although our Main Street may look uninviting right now, change is in the air. We are excited about many new developments in the downtown area such as those at the former Midtown site including the nearly completed Windstream Corporation Building; the Midtown Tower revitalization into mixed use retail, offices and housing; the new roads and park (scheduled for late summer completion) going in at the Midtown site; the plans the Winn Corporation has for the former Sibley Building on Main Street (this company revitalized Faneuil Hall in Boston). Also, we have a new Transit Center going up just around the corner from Main Street; and many housing units being built in historic buildings in the downtown neighbor hood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here for three weeks on a business trip,first impressions are good nice entrance and foyer ,front desk staff very pleasant. My room was on the fourteenth floor with a nice view to the west over the city. The room itself was I suppose a little dated but clean and tidy,for example there was no safe or mini bar/fridge ,handy for keeping water cool. Also not being able to control all the room lights from the bedside was odd. There was a large screen tv but again oddly no HD signal.There was free wifi which worked very well and a handy coffee/tea maker.
The hotel has a small pool and gym area on the fourth floor which I did not use ,and a narrow sun terrace .
On check in I was told I would receive a newspaper and water every day and could have one shirt laundered.I never received the water except on the three occasions I pointed this out at reception.It was never resolved over the three weeks and it was the same for my colleague in the room next door. One evening I needed water so went to vending machine on my floor which was empty,five floors later I found one that worked.
The staff in the hotel were great,we were down for breakfast at 6.30 every morning and were always greeted with a smile,big hello to Garland an absolute gentleman.
There isn't a lot in the vicinity of the hotel apart from the Dinosaur Barbeque which is a block away and very busy ,a good sign,and the Pane Vino on Water street also good.
All in I enjoyed my stay at the Hyatt and the Rochester area.

Room Tip: West facing nice view gets evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarFon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sang H, Executive Housekeeper at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We continuously try to improve our customer service and guest experience. I apologize for the inconveniences that you incurred during your stay. It is good to hear that you had a over average meals at our restaurant and that you felt our staff was great.
We hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#19 of 29 in Rochester
149 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Rochester

Property: Hyatt Regency Rochester
Address: 125 E Main St, Rochester, NY 14604-1605
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rochester
#7 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Rochester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect blend of location, style and authentic hospitality at our downtown Rochester hotel. Unwind at our Scene on Main Restaurant and Lounge or relax by our heated indoor pool after your workout in our 24 hour fitness center. Whether you are in town for business, vacation, a wedding or special getaway, you will find that the Hyatt Regency Rochester is the ideal choice. Our urban and contemporary Rochester New York hotel offers over 20,000 square feet of function space which provides an ideal setting for weddings, corporate and social events and galas. We are connected to the Rochester Convention Center by a sky bridge and only a short walk to shopping, dining and nightlife of the East Avenue and Park Avenue hot spots. We are situated just minutes from the airport, and we offer a complimentary shuttle throughout the day. Whether you are planning a meeting, wedding, family reunion or a romantic getaway, Hyatt Regency Rochester is the premier accommodation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing