We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend Your Money Elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My whole family came here for my wedding and the rooms were blocked months in advance. Needless to say - NO ONE was even close to each other, they were floors apart. By 5 PM, rooms were still not ready and caused quite a headache for everyone involved. Front desk staff didn't even apologize. They had some kind of convention going on and had no control over all the little girls running around and woke up my family numerous times. Security had to be called and after taking about one hour to show up, they barely did anything. There are some very nice hotels in the area and I would recommend staying away from this one. Especially for the price that they charge, you definitely do not get your money's worth. I am an airline pilot and stay in hotels at least three nights a week and have not seen an operation as atrocious as this was in quite some time. It has really gone down hill.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

This is to extend our sincere appreciation for your recent stay and your thorough review. I am sorry the layout of the facility and your room accommodations detracted so much from your satisfaction. Please know that we try to honor all our requests and unfortunately sometimes cannot honor all room requests. It is disheartening this trip did not convey our vision for how your wedding should have gone. I hope that your travel plans bring you back so that we can provide the high quality accommodations and service we are capable of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Rochester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is in the business district and unfortunately there is not much there to amuse one in the evening. The hotel was an oasis in the deserted center of town, rooms clean and well appointed, parking convenient, front desk helpful and efficient, room service delivered more than expected. I would recommend this hotel to anyone requiring a city center hotel but not for the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trustingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate the front desk staff comments and we are glad you had time to enjoy room service while you were with us. I wish the city would have suited you better. All the best and please think of us on your next trip back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The rooms were clean and service was great. Was not expecting the neighborhood. The meeting rooms were large, but we heard much from the adjacent rooms. Service was great in each event and we were impressed with the level of quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and the nice comments about the hotel and our meeting space. We appreciate your comments about the city. We continue to work with the city and attact new and exciting attractions to the downtown and surrounding areas. We hope to see you back next time. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

In contrast to the beautifully updated bathroom, crisp linens, big tv and comfortable office chair, the furniture in the hotel looked like it had been recently purchased from a thrift store. That said, it was a very clean and comfortable room.

The beds were comfortable with the latest white linen look, and I never heard noises from adjacent rooms. I ordered room service one evening, I highly recommend their "English Club Sandwich". I had several occasions to try their coffee, and can say it may be the worst I have ever had. They must be using some sort of concentrate or maybe just cheap stuff, but it had a bitter, old, over cooked taste every time I tried it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave-LafayetteLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your recent stay. Our goal is to provide you with an outstanding welcome experience and we are very sorry for the difficulties you experienced. Thank you for the nice comments on our cleanliness of the hotel, and the club sandwich but I am sorry to hear the poor comments on the coffee and furniture look. We appreciate the feedback and hope you will visit again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend convention. There were a lot of people checking in and making a lot of demands, but the staff was magnificent!

Checkin took less than five minutes. They had our reservation ready and waiting. The bellman brought our luggage up quickly and did all of the work for us. We had two reservations with a request for adjoining rooms. They were able to honor that request and we had corner rooms with an excellent view.

The room was spotless. Every detail was seen to. The room was up to date and didn't have that "hotel" feel. The housekeeping staff, even though overburdened with 100% occupancy did an excellent job, paying attention to details. Room service was also on time and friendly.

This is a much better hotel than the one we stayed at in downtown Buffalo a few months ago. Not only were the physical facilities better, but the service was far better. In Buffalo, they were friendly, here they went totally out of their way to care for your needs. We would stay here again in an instant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weluvtheocean1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

WOW, thank you so much for the fantastic review on Tripadvisor and for staying with us at the Hyatt Regency Rochester. I cannot tell you how much we appreciate the staff comments and how much you enjoyed your visit. We welcome you back to our hotel anytime and hope to see you soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night as I attended a wedding and the reception was at the hotel. This hotel has a FREE shuttle from the airport which is awesome! My room was nice and spacious and everyone in the hotel was very hospitable. The hotel was very busy and that concerned me, however it was fine. The reception was nice and the food was very good. I asked for late check out at 1pm and I caught the FREE shuttle back to the airport. I would certainly stay at this hotel again. The staff was very professional.

Room Tip: Free airport shuttle is awesome!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSTGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Rochester and for being a member of our online community. We are pleased to read that our hotel location and our staff really performed well when our hotel was busy. We are glad you enjoyed our shuttle. We have some great staff drivers and are really excited we can provide this service to our guests. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel upon your return downtown Rochester. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A little late writing this review (we stayed in november 2011), but I've been busy. Hubby and I wanted to do something nice for our 1 year anniversary (plus i was having brain surgery 4 days later) so we got the hotel on priceline for a STEAL. i was so excited, because it seemed like such a nice hotel, and had a pool which i was THRILLED about. first off, we were told we COULDN'T "stand" with the car and check in downstairs (at the area that says check in. i was going to stay in the car. as the other 2 families in front of us were doing) but an attendant told us we HAD to park in the garage first. so we parked, took the 10 minute journey to get to the front desk from the garage and checked in. Nice lobby. Front desk person was very chatty and asked us why we were staying there etc (this is not bad, i like when they ask questions instead of just being an empty soul checking us in) and the front desk was the only nice part... we went up to our room. i inspect my hotel rooms thoroughly. ok it was nice and clean. great. should be fine!! went down to the pool. pool was ICE cold. i mean, there's cold pools all the time. this was BEYOND cold. i stayed in for several minutes hoping it would just warm up, nope. i was shivering and covered in goosebumps and finally had to get out. so we went upstairs to our room. i figured, hey i'll take a bath to warm up and relax. i ran the water for 10 minutes, on as hot as the faucet would go. it never went beyond lukewarm. i couldn't even shower. my husband checked the temp too to make sure i wasn't just crazy. ok. what now? lets relax and watch some TV. there were maybe 2-3 channels if i recall. which weren't even local channels. i brought my laptop... nope... not going to spend $10+ dollars A DAY for internet... my home internet only costs $35 a month. ok so we had a few drinks and decided to go to sleep. Now, we walked around the hotel a bit, and the garage was fairly empty, and it was very clear the hotel was pretty empty. i mean, this is a big hotel... so why on earth were we placed in the middle of what seemed to be a wedding party? multiple rooms around us, the guest were dressed in tuxes and nice dresses. their doors were SLAMMING all night. i thought that typically wedding parties were in their own areas especially when the hotel is pretty empty, for the specific reasons that they tend to be loud... we finally left at around 5 am after NO sleep, because their doors were slamming at least every 30 minutes. front desk didn't even ask us how our stay was or anything. NEVER AGAIN will i stay at this hotel. did not eat at the hotel so cannot say whether or not the food was good.

Room Tip: stay across the street.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsSantangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#19 of 29 in Rochester
152 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Rochester

Address: 125 E Main St, Rochester, NY 14604-1605
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rochester
#7 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $143 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Rochester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect blend of location, style and authentic hospitality at our downtown Rochester hotel. Unwind at our Scene on Main Restaurant and Lounge or relax by our heated indoor pool after your workout in our 24 hour fitness center. Whether you are in town for business, vacation, a wedding or special getaway, you will find that the Hyatt Regency Rochester is the ideal choice. Our urban and contemporary Rochester New York hotel offers over 20,000 square feet of function space which provides an ideal setting for weddings, corporate and social events and galas. We are connected to the Rochester Convention Center by a sky bridge and only a short walk to shopping, dining and nightlife of the East Avenue and Park Avenue hot spots. We are situated just minutes from the airport, and we offer a complimentary shuttle throughout the day. Whether you are planning a meeting, wedding, family reunion or a romantic getaway, Hyatt Regency Rochester is the premier accommodation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing