We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre for business/interview trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Continental breakfast was average but included at no extra cost--service was very friendly though. The room was clean and neat, but little things were annoying like I booked a king-sized bed and got 2 full size beds... and the receptionist told me I was out of luck because no more kings were available. Only shampoo was available (no conditioner). But most annoyingly was the bent ironing board. Not ideal for preparing before a job interview. Again, you get what you pay for.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Hippo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIROC11, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Hippo999,
Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry that some of the arrangements were not as expected. I wish I had the opportunity to research your room to fix any the items noted. I will be sure to share your review with my team of managers so they have an idea of the issues you mentioned and we can take decisive actions to prevent any reoccurrences.

Best regards,
Tim Elie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 449 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Good: The location is great. The staff is excellent. That includes the people that work in the bar/comedy club. I was pleased to find regular size pillows in the room. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows made it that much better, since most Holiday Inns have those tiny square ones. The comedy club was fun, if you don't mind raunchy humor. Some walked out. We stayed :-)

The Bad: The bloody mary I had at the bar was the worst I have ever had. It tasted like someone put a straw in cocktail sauce and poured horseradish in it. It was so bad that I got sick. The only other complaint is they should have a covered area to smoke outside other than the one at the main entrance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynJ6354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIROC11, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Marilynj6354,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the services offered as well as the full size pillows. I do appreciate your comment regarding the drink served and will look into this to see what may have happened. Glad you also liked the comedy club. Please visit again and check out the lineup of future comedians.

Best regards,
Tim Elie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We shall be writing corporate office once we settle back after our trip North. We came to our 50th class reunion early in the month. We brought our dogs which we were told needed to be on a wing far away from civilization due to any interruptions they may have on other visitors and we had to sign a waiver that they wouldn't disturb people or cause damage. We were also told there was an elevator and people who would be helping us move our dogs and luggage to this far away corridor. The front desk was rude, not just to us, but to others of our classmates checking in... some also told of an elevator so they could transport their luggage which as we found was non existent. The first night for us was quiet... we had the whole corridor due to "nasty dogs who could upset other customers". We accepted the near mile walk to our 50th reunion festivities, but, the next day we were deluged with obnoxious, undeciplined children with no parental supervision.... running down the halls, banging on walls and yelling, emptying the ice machine. But what we heard from the parents, who were happily ignoring their kids and drinking in their rooms was..... "someone needs to get rid of those f.........g dogs"! We called the desk and told them of all the disturbances and the ice all over the floor and reminded them of the waiver we signed and we had better not, under these circumstances hear from them and that no one had to sign a waiver for disruptive, obnoxious children; nothing was done about the noise or the ice all over the floor and it continued all through the following day. We had a hockey net set up in front of our door so we couldn't even enter our own room, nearly got hit with a hockey stick and got a couple of balls thrown in our faces; the "bridge" to our corridor was a constant challenge to get through with kids, balls, nets, blocking our way to our wonderful 50th reunion. Then, at the reunion, we sat trying to listen to the presentation by our high school president, and all we could hear through the thin walls to the bar was the filthy four letter expletives coming loudly from the "Comedy Hour'. The waitresses came and went, but no staff tried to quiet the next door room and much of our class presentation was missed due to the loud, disgusting next room. We are people in our late 60's/70, spending a lot of time making this trip and not causing anyone any disturbance, but what we received was a totally nerve wracking and extremely stressful experience at the Holiday Inn. On a positive note, our banquet dinner was exceptionally fine...... other than that, we shall never come back or refer anyone to this place and we shall be writing to the corporate office a formal complaint. We have traveled all over the country staying at a number of well-known and respected motels with our dogs. Nothing can come close to the disappointment of staying at the Holiday Inn/Airport in Rochester, NY.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean but this is a large motel and if you are older with physical problems like we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIROC11, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest ,
Thanks you for taking time to outline your recent stay concerns. Though I wasn't pleased myself with the items mentioned, I do appreciate the opportunity to use this feedback as an opportunity to work with my team to see how we can deal with some items mentioned for the future. I can assure you that every concern mentioned will be addressed with my executive team. I certainly do apologize if you felt the adult humor from our comedy club was offensive and we do make every effort to keep this entertainment maintained within the club. As to your concerns from other guests regarding the dogs, though I can't control another guests comments or actions, we did have security come to the area to see if they could intervene, so we were receptive to that concern and did reply quickly. Again, I do appreciate all the feedback shared.
Best regards,
Tim Elie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

In Rochester on business and booked the Holiday Inn Airport. I'd booked a smoking room but on arrival they informed me that all the smoking rooms were undergoing 'deep cleaing.' This was good to hear but left me without the room I'd requested. The ladies at the front desk were quick to sort it out and moved me to a suite. Very accommodating and all with a smile. The room was very spacioius with living and dining area, desk and kitchenette and the bed was very comfortable. This property might seem a bit aged in some regards, but don't let this discourage you. The rooms and property were very clean and service was great! Add to it a full cooked to order breakfast for around $10 and you can't beat it. I'll definitely repeat if I am back in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIROC11, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
I'm very happy to hear that my team was able to accommodate your request by offering you the suite due to our cleaning. I appreciate your kind feedback and hope during your next visit we can have the chance to meet and I can thank you in person.
Best regards,
Tim Elie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms were nice and the bed were really comfy. They had a restaurant and bar with a live bad and tv's. We stayed at the hotel for a wedding. It was such a nice hotel that we brought our family back a month later when we were traveling along the St Lawrence seaway. Very nice holiday

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if our are traveling with people who cannot navigate stairs make sure to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIROC11, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share such a nice review. I am very pleased not only did you enjoy your first visit, but made it a point to return for another weekend. I do hope you took note of the Erie Canal directly behind the hotel as you mentioned your travels along the seaway trails. Hope you'll come back soon.
Best regards,
Tim Elie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

As soon as I walked in the door I saw trash laying on the floor. It appeared to be plastic cup wrappers. There was hair on the floor in the bathroom and in the bath tub. I was staying on the second floor at the end of the first building (past the pool) and all the hallways smelled strongly of smoke, as if people were standing in the hallways smoking. THERE IS NO ELEVATOR!

They have some sort of Comedy Club there downstairs. The clientele for the club are loud, drunk and smoke everywhere. Overall, this hotel is well below average even for a Holiday Inn. The furnishings are very dated, and none of the outlets in my room worked! The few that did had lamps (but not all of them) and the tv plugged in. But even those were precarious. There were no plugs that would support my cellphone or tablet charging cord, and as I said, not even all the lights could be plugged in.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Contrail_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIROC11, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
I was sorry to have read your review. A little surprised to the area you stated was smokey as the hotel has designated smoking areas, so I am sorry you may have experienced this inconvenience. Yes the hotel has a Comedy Club on weekends and the shows run a limited time each night and then returns to a hotel bar afterwards. Many of our guests take advantage of the special pricing for the comedy shows. I appreciate the feedback and will share with my team.
Best regards,
Tim Elie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had to book this hotel at last minute, unfortunately during a busy week in a college town. Was given a room in the smoking wing which stunk of stale smoke. Have they never heard of clean filters and Febreze?
By Sunday night one helpful desk clerk was able to move me to non-smoking room, so there's that.
The hotel restaurant basically serves nothing but beige food (no color, no vegetables). Never ate there so I have no comment about the quality. Considering the number of geriatrics in the place, I could only surmise that they cater to people whose taste buds have taken a permanent hiatus.
Some people have complained about the noise; its next to an Interstate and across from an airport, so those complaints are invalid - what did they expect?
It was obvious the the cleaning staff has an aversion to corners (especially in the bathrooms) and behind doors, or they were collecting hair samples for cloning.
There was some unspeakable filth on the remote control, but being a regular traveler, I was prepared for that. I suggest that everyone travel with emergency cleaning and sanitizing wipes.
Finally, the exercise room: one elliptical machine - broken, plenty of treadmills that went unused and two TVs, one of which did not work.
I won't be going back no matter how convincing they try to make their commercials.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revrpb619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIROC11, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review. I am sorry if there were any issues that you felt were below standards. I was a little confused by your comments regarding the restaurant especially if you stated you had not eaten there. We take great pride in the quality of our meals served, it is too bad you didn't try one. The other information you supplied I am looking into with my Executive Housekeeper to see how that can be corrected. Thank you again for taking time to submit this review.
Best regards,
Tim Elie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Rochester Airport
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Rochester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
5.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rochester - Greece
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport

Address: 911 Brooks Ave, Rochester, NY 14624-3107 (Formerly Lexington Hotel Rochester Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: $99 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport Hotel, conveniently located just off of I-390, and less than 2 miles from Greater Rochester International Airport. We offer spacious accommodations with all the comforts and services you would expect, while providing easy access to University of Rochester, Blue Cross Arena, and Rochester Institute of Technology. Featured hotel amenities include our bar the Wheels Up Pub, an indoor heated pool, and fitness center. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with our complimentary Wi-Fi available throughout the property. Breakfast is served daily from 6:30 to 11:00AM in our Brooks Avenue Grill. The Roc Bar & Grill, serving lunch and dinner, provides the perfect setting for socializing. Our well-appointed guest rooms provide extremely comfortable beds that will have you waking up re-energized and refreshed. A coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, and ESPN are just some of the amenities in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester Airport Hotel Rochester
Rochester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing