We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun, tasty experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dogtown Incorporated

Dogtown Incorporated
Ranked #26 of 1,262 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fun, tasty experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Friendly reception, casual atmosphere - some seating inside and out, Juicy, flavourful weiners are served up on a french stick type of half bun (too much bread but it is tasty bread). Quite a few free toppings were offered, but then a nominal fee for the extras like sauerkraut, fried onions, etc. Variety of combinations was huge. Coleslaw was good. Would definitely return when in area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can't beat Dogtown if you crave a hotdog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

A conversation at work had me craving hotdogs. I decided it was finally time to give Dogtown a try.

For my first visit, I kept it simple. I got the Chicago Bulldog and fries. I also opted for a veggie dog. The Chicago Bulldog comes with diced onions, tomatoes, peppers, pepperoncini, relish, mustard and celery salt. This hotdog was a symphony of flavor. The toppings take center stage. That being said, I have to mention the bun....toasted French bread! Certainly several steps above the incredibly cheap hotdog buns found at the typical backyard BBQ.

The fries were far better than is usually found at this type of restaurant.

I will be going back again and again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TRJ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I like the hotdogs, my wife likes the vegetarian selections. So many places only offer a veggie-burger. Could be a bit larger inside, but that adds to the charm (i suppose). Nice outdoor seating on a nice day. Parking can be tricky as its a shared lot. Probably my biggest complaint, they are NOT open on Sundays???????????

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rsc1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

One of my daughter's favorite places to eat, she was chomping at the bit to get us in for a meal. We're quite spoiled by a hotdog place near us in Maine, but Dogtown is a great substitute when in Rochester. Try it sometime!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Scrumptious and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a unique, casual place for some scrumptious comfort food. There's no surprises, but if you like this kind of food, be sure to check this spot out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WanonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogtown Incorporated also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dogtown Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing