We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUM !!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John's Tex-Mex Eatery

John's Tex-Mex Eatery
Ranked #61 of 1,262 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“YUM !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Best Tex-Mex around... great food, great service, small dining area... worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank likes2watch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicioso”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Mexican Mess and chili are standouts, but you can't go wrong with pretty much anything on the menu.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nicki0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I Dont get this place?????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband loves this place but I find that everything taste the same! Becasue the husband loves it, we've been here numerous times! But the food is bland and lacks much flavor---nice people, trying hard, but boring and bland!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious and Inexpensive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Best mexican food in town. Delicious fresh ingredients on the fresca taco. Portions are generous. Have not tried the "mush" but have heard its great. Lots of options for vegetarians, too. The spices will kick your butt, but they are soooo good. Pair everything with a soda from the Boylan cooler and you'll be all set!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wazzy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Allround excellent, if not purely TexMex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We enjoyed our meal at Taco John's very much. While not the most authentic TexMex ever (it is in Rochester New York, after all), food was flavorful, fresh, and plentiful. My daughter and I split a dinner and were comfortably full afterwards. My son-in-law's quesadilla was among the best I've had. Service was fast and pleasant. Will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Macbeck52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Tex-Mex Eatery also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to John's Tex-Mex Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing