We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Open Face Sandwich Eatery
Ranked #476 of 1,294 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Soups
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is one of my favorite places in Rochester. They have unique menu choices and offer something for everyone. I especially like that they have vegetarian and gluten free options. Their menu changes frequently so I am always going back for more.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A tad overrated”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I went there for lunch on a Saturday (his first visit, my second). While the menu itself sounds really inventive and delicious, the food loses something in the execution. He ordered the special (roast beef with au jus and baguette chips) and I ordered a tasting of 2 half sandwiches: mashed pea with bacon, havarti, and balsamic glaze on sourdough and the other was brie with pear and apricot preserves on a baguette. I'd had it previously, so I knew to ask that it be toasted (it isn't normally, so the brie isn't gooey). The flavors were either too sweet or too salty - really nothing to write home about. I also ordered the pickled beets, which I thought might be a tad sour and salty (in a good way), but were overpoweringly sweet. Overall it was "meh."

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Open face, in my face, please.”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Creative, regularly changing special options. Highly recommend the Open Face - a sandwich of your choosing with the soup of the day poured over the top, mmm. My only wish is for dinner service!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nicki0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

If you want a different sandwich this is the place. I love the open faced sandwiches. They make this great sandwich and then put a cup of soup on top of it. I know it sounds odd but it is great. The chicken tortilla soup is excellent. I have been there 6 times now and have been happy every time. My sister likes the corn mush sandwich, again odd combinations but very tasty!

Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Going back again- soon!”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Small and quaint and really friendly staff. The menu is healthy and unique. My friend and I had soup and shared a sandwich and we both were full. Oh- we shared a delicious cookie too:) Don't miss the baked goods.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Face Sandwich Eatery also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Open Face Sandwich Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing