We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, service needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkside Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Parkside Diner
Ranked #454 of 1,269 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rochester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good food, service needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Have eaten here twice. Both times the food was tasty and plentiful. Hot food was hot. Both times we felt service needed an upgrade. The waitress had her back to the tables, doing something across the room with menus so we could not get her attention. My dinner mate eventually got up and refilled his own coffee. On the second visit there were no napkins on the table...had to request them. After finally getting the waitress's attention once into the meal, she brought the missing rolls and then my missing drink. Not sure if we want to give this place another chance.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiaraRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
155 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A DINER”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Parkside will never will any culinary or decor awards. It serves basic diner food that is acceptable. Expect nothing more and you will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank tpmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cute classic diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Great place for breakfast or a quick meal. Don't forget to play a round of minature golf on the historic course.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Excellent breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Parkside has excellent breakfast food in a classic local neighborhood diner atmosphere. While the place is nothing special in terms of looks, it is clean and the staff is attentive. The bacon and home fries are excellent...best home fries I've ever had...chopped into small pieces and nicely browned with great flavor...not overly spiced. The eggs and pancakes are very good. Scrambled eggs are actually scrambled, not just folded. The pancakes are light and fluffy.
The staff is generally friendly with a family atmosphere, but that varies some from server to server. All were competent and attentive, though.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BreakfastTourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Disappointing, but a better choice for cheap eats than Bill Gray's restaurants.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

It's hard to believe that after all of the good things I've heard about the Parkside Diner over the years, I'm the first one here to write a review. OK, so here goes. Heard lots of good reports from friends who ate at the Parkside. And I understand there are lots of folks who think the food is really good, so we decided to give it a try on a nice Sunday afternoon recently. The Parkside Diner has been a Rochester landmark for decades and is located next to the miniature golf course in the Seabreeze area by the lake. As you approach the diner, the neon sign on the front of the building really grabs your attention. We were seated by the hostess as soon as we walked in the restaurant and our server greeted us shortly after that. Breakfast is served anytime, as is anything else on their extensive menu. There were three of us in our group, and after we made our selections and our server took our orders, I had a chance to check-out the diner's interior. The diner section is small but there is a larger attached dining room with booths and tables. Even with that, it's not an overly large restaurant. Including us, there were approximately six booths occupied during our visit. The interior is pleasant but fairly non-descript. Our meals came fairly quickly and the food was piping hot. The portions were generous for the price and everyone thought the food was good, but not what you'd consider really outstanding. A Western omelet order with hash browns filled the entire plate and was rated as good. My 1/3 pound "hand-pressed" burger was cooked fairly close to "medium" as I had asked for it, but still a bit dry and left me wishing that I had ordered something better from the menu. The steak fries that I ordered with the burger were OK. An order of scrambled eggs and wheat toast was good, but a full stack order of French Toast was disappointingly bland and light on both batter and flavor. Overall the service was good throughout our meal. The only thing that saved the entire experience from being a big disappointment was when our server brought the check and the total bill was just a bit over $22.00. Even though the food was a bit disappointing, we did get a lot of food for $22 and it was a better choice than Bill Gray's restaurants. And because of that, I'd conditionally recommend the Parkside Diner. Would we go back to the Parkside Diner again? Maybe, if we were in that area. But we wouldn't drive across town just to eat there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYroadside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkside Diner also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Parkside Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing