We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smachne' (taste so good)”
Review of Polska Chata

Polska Chata
Ranked #205 of 1,274 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rochester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Smachne' (taste so good)”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Pierogi's, golombki's, kielbase, churstike, my mouth is watering. Authentic polish food, made on site, served by polish smiles, you can't go wrong with take out or the restaurant up stairs. Try the fish fry on fridays served with pierogi's, wow!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sightseer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly wonderful!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having Polish ancestry, I have been around a lot of Polish foods. Went to Polska Chata for the first time, and it is quaint, unique and a hidden gem. The food was great (although I prefer pan-fried pierogi instead of boiled) and the upstairs was charming. There were only two people working, and so it was a little slow, but that means more time to look at the interesting walls. Don't go if you are disabled, as it is not accessible. Can't wait to go back the next time we are driving to Rochester or Buffalo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank novastar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old World feel...”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I go during the day and the deli area is always humming so the staff has a lot to do. In spite that, we've had good service. And after all, It's not a fast food place! A Polish businessman I took there rated it very well, in all regards.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“food and service”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

the service was very slow. They treat outsiders with no respect. The food was really bad and the portions were very very small. They give one glass of water and they never come around again. The kitchen is downstairs and you sit upstairs. There was no music and nobody else was there. The atmosphere and service really sucked. I left hungry and spent $35.00 for the both of us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irondequoit, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, a little slow during off hours...”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Have been here on several occasions, always happy with the food. If you go during off hours, however, the service may be a bit slow. My wife and I went for a 3'ish meal and had to wait quite a while after being seated.

The food is very good with decent portion sizes, and is served in a neat setting. Extensive selection of unprepared foods to take home, also.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mclee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polska Chata also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Polska Chata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing