We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great prime rib”
Review of Summerville Grill

Summerville Grill
Ranked #335 of 1,294 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Italian, Bar
Restaurant details
Marion, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great prime rib”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went this past Saturday with some friends. They have been there many times before, it's right in their neighborhood. The décor leaves a bit to be desired for sure but everyone was very friendly. I ordered the Prime Rib medium rare and it was cooked perfectly. I was very impressed. The vegetables were under cooked but not too bad. the service was very good, our waiter was very attentive but not overly so. I would visit again if I was in the neighborhood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“quality suffers”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I don't know what happened. I've had very decent meals there in the past but recently the food has been of very poor quality. And the cost isn't low at all! I'm staying away for now.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
3,026 reviews
2,005 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 986 helpful votes
“Lots of good food in a local/loud setting”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We ate at this highly popular local restaurant tonight, and left pretty satisfied with our meal. It's not the perfect restaurant, and it's not fancy, but you won't leave hungry and you won't leave broke.

This establishment has been open for many years, serving the residents local to the area around Charlottle and the beachfront area north of Rochester. It's probably as popular for the bar in the front of the restaurant as for the restaurant in the back left side of the place. It seems as though everyone knows everyone else in there, and the waitresses treat you like you are their long-lost cousins.

The dining room is a wood-paneled room that is decorated in a nautical theme, with port charts, oars, and other marine-type paraphernalia hanging from above. It is attractive enough, but the continuous Keno gaming board hanging from the front of the room dispels any pretense of it being a high-class joint, along with the ever-loud voices from the bar and other tables. Nevertheless, it does "work," and the place assumes a rather friendly-campy atmosphere during the dinner hour.

The meal itself is always a challenge here...in a good way. The plates they bring out are always heaping with good stuff, no matter what you order. Both my wife and I had the broiled scallops tonight, and they were succulent and flavorful. The baked potato was also nicely done, but the vegetables (carrots, snap peas, beans, and more, mixed together) had the flavor and texture of something that was prepared many hours ago and left for too long in a large pot. No worries...it was the only side dish that was less than delicious. We also had a appetizer of clams casino that was very nice, with a great stuffing pressed into large, meaty clams. I thoroughly enjoyed them.

In summary, this was a nice meal served by a friendly staff, not gourmet but in large portions and cheaper than most restaurants. I'd give it a score on the lower side of '4' but still good enough to be a 4. I would gladly return to this place, BUT....IF YOU DO GO, make sure to look in the local newspaper before you do. They ALWAYS have coupons that will knock the price of an entrée off your bill. And cheaper is always a good thing, right?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“cafeteria?”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went for the first and last time.....the good part is lots of food for the money. But...long wait for service and couldn't hear the next person as noise level was off the chart. The food itself was of cafeteria quality but abundant if that's what matters to you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Summerville Grill is a terrific spot for a good meal after a day spent sailing on Lake Ontario. Their Seafood Bisque is a local favorite and is terrific. The menu is varied and comfortably priced. Despite what their web site states, this is not what I would call fine dining, but you will enjoy a good meal and good service. You will share the experience with plenty of locals, which indicates that people return with frequency.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theoden R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerville Grill also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Summerville Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing