We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu looks good but food taste and quality was a problem.”

South Wedge Diner Inc.
Ranked #487 of 1,294 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Asian, Diner
Restaurant details
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Menu looks good but food taste and quality was a problem.”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I went early (7:30) on a Saturday morning having heard good things about it. The menu looks good and is varied with interesting breakfast choices such as a wide variety of versions of eggs Benedict . We had steak and eggs with raisin toast and home fries.

I was really disappointed with the quality of the food. The steak was very tough even though it was undercooked. The home fries, despite being heavily seasoned with paprika, had no flavor at all. There were soft, not crispy and completely devoid of salt or pepper. While you might over-look these as a one-time slip, what I can't forgive is that the raisin toast was hopelessly stale. Note to other restaurants: We are not fooled by toasting - we know stale when we eat it.

It is somewhat rundown with parts having been refurbished. (60's black and white tiles with mauve walls and wood tables).

The staff was nice enough but I did notice that the lunch menu is primarily Chinese food. This suggests to me that they might have a nice lunch, being more their forte. I, however, will never return for breakfast. I will stick with the Highland Diner just down the street or any of the several other places nearby.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waterdances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My favorite place for breakfast”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Locally owned. A lot of pride in their place and attention to service and food. I often meet co-workers here for breakfast and also love to take the family on Saturday or Sunday.

Helpful?
1 Thank DMRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Dependably good diner food, and then some”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I eat lunch here fairly regularly, and am rarely disappointed. The menu covers the diner basics, with burgers, sandwiches, soups, etc., and the specials board is always worth checking out. The hardest part for me is usually choosing between the consistently excellent burgers and fries, and the Chinese and Southeast Asian dishes. You may run into an occasional clunker - the house special soup was rather bland on a recent visit - but for the most part it's well priced and well prepared.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yankeedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“C'mon, it's a diner, and a good one at that.”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great diner food. Best breakfast sandwich in town.

Ambiance is a little bit lacking. It's somewhere sandwiched between a Formica diner joint and a cafeteria. But don't go for the atmosphere. Go for the greasy good, which makes this place a solid 4 stars (on the diner scale, that is).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MCromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“perfect breakfast spot - cheap and delicious”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Been to South Wedge a couple of times. The first time I had the South Wedge skillet which consists of a huge bowl of homefries topped with egg, cheese, i think onions and peppers.. Very very good but be prepared to take some home with you. It's HUUUUGE.
I was there this past week for breakfast at around 11am on a Monday and the place was empty except for a few regulars. We ordered a Monte Cristo sandwich and a eggs/homefries plate with a side of sausage gravy. The cook goofed and we got a whole order of sausage gravy with biscuits, which was NO problem at all. ;) Best sausage gravy ever and the biscuits were buttery, flaky.. perfect.
The coffee is a bit weak but other than that this is a great place to grab a bite. They serve breakfast all day and have a very extensive menu with typical "diner" items as well as more adventurous dishes, lunch options, etc.
Bathrooms are a bit scary as you have to go downstairs - little bit of a dungeon feel.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Wedge Diner Inc. also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to South Wedge Diner Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing