We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly good value. Nothing special. Has some interesting happenings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radiance Inn And Suites
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed February 20, 2009

The room was fine. Nothing special but you do get free WiFi (why do PREMIUM hotels charge for this and this 68 bucks a night joint does not)?

The 'motel' sits next to a party house (think bowling banquets, wedding banquets, maybe other things like bachelor parties). A Saturday night we came back to the ‘Inn’ and both our keys would not work. There appeared to be some ‘interesting’ ladies about in the lobby (just a few). Now they could have been from a party next door and just made a few unfortunate fashion choices. My spouse however thought the appearance of these few people and our keys to the room wiped clean, was not a coincidence. Now in my days living in Rochester, Lyell Avenue had always been known for its adult entertainment, though this location is far from the old hub of this sort of activity. And it was just one night out of 5 nights we stayed there. So it could all be ‘innocent’ coincidence.

It is conveniently located right off the I390 from which it’s a short drive to the airport.

As to the staff and service, we like to sleep in when on vacation. We were visiting family and need not awaken very early. We had been on a very long flight/drive from the west coast and did not arrive until 1am. So by the time we awoke, showered, and were ready to meet family it was about noon. When we came back that evening we were surprised to find the room had not been made up. I went downstairs and asked for fresh towels and was informed “There is no housekeeping past noon”. Ah the joys of budget motels.

Bottom line is there is no reason not to stay here if it is convenient for you and you need a cheap overnight stay. But there should be better choices for the same or maybe a few bucks more.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gdjsky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 231 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed here overnight after a wedding reception in the banquet hall next to the hotel. The room was very clean. We stayed on the fourth floor with a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom door was awkward, as it opened in to the bathroom. The room seemed to be lacking a recliner or additional table, as there was a large open area between the bed and the exterior wall. Neither of these instances detracted from the experience of our stay.

The complimentary breakfast was a welcome surprise. They offered a selection of breads, bagels and muffins. Coffee, hot chocolate, orange juice, apple juice and milk and cereal were available. I also saw packets of oatmeal on the counter. The breakfast was served in the lobby with a flat screen television over a fireplace.

The linens and carpet were very clean and crisp. The bathroom was spotless no visible mold or mildew in the shower area. There was a small coffee maker in the room along with a television we didn't even turn on.

My only complaint would be there was a member of the housekeeping staff sweeping the lobby floor near us while we were eating our food.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jsco74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Lobby was nice, with fireplace and coffee. Our room was very clean and comfortable, no complaints there (and I'm very picky about cleanliness). The elevator needs updating (felt like a rundown service elevator) which was strange because the rest of the building was so nice. Overall, a pleasant and comfy stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank koko0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

Newly renovated hotel with clean rooms and average breakfast. The hotel clerk on the night shift when we checked in was new and inexperienced which caused our check in to be prolonged. He was however very friendly. I had a package shipped to the hotel that was misplaced by the hotel staff, but they found it in the end.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lwu22qq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

I usually don't do a second review, but the excellent service merits it. I sent some large boxes of business literature to the hotel which they willingly held for a week.

When I got there, they brought it to my room, without a request from me.

You expect that from a 4 star hotel not a La Quinta

They had fresh warm cookies every afternoon and evening

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed here for a wedding at the Diplomat, and it was definitely convenient only having to cross the parking lot to go to the reception. The hotel itself was somewhat grungy, not something we'd have chosen if it had been our decision (the wedding party/family had a block of rooms reserved). The carpets were really gross, we ended up in a stinky smoking room b/c there were 4 of us and we couldn't fit into a one-king bed room. The location is convenient for shopping as well, but the hotel itself is directly behind a gas/convenience store that's open 24 hours, and really was a little on the scary side. The price was cheap, in keeping with the accomodations.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sarahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I chose the La Quinta because of the value; $85 in July is hard to beat, especially considering the price of most downtown Rochester hotels seems to be around $200 a night. The La Quinta isn't right downtown, a bit west of the Loop, but takes just a short drive on the I-490 to get to all the attractions.

The building and lobby definitely have a motel feel, but the quality and size of the rooms is excellent, rivaling higher priced chains. I have stayed at La Quintas previously and have found them to be above average accomodations. This location has been recently remodeled and the rooms/furnishings are clean, the linings were great. This La Quinta is top-notch, resembling a Radisson, rather than a Super 8.

The complementary breakfast (breakfast burritos!) was great and the 72 television channels were fantastic (including YES, which for an out-of-town Yankees fan was a rare treat; they have SNY for the Mets fans, too).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ThriftGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
3.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rochester - Greece
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#22 of 29 in Rochester
75 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Rochester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radiance Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radiance Inn And Suites

Address: 1956 Lyell Ave, Rochester, NY 14606-2319 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Rochester North)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $68 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Radiance Inn And Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Radiance Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
La Quinta Rochester
Rochester La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing